Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2003, 10:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 79
Unhappy 107 380sl fuel sending unit

I replaced the light in the instrument cluster. Now the fuel guage doesn't work. It reads empty and barely move. I suspect is the fuel sending unit, where can I find the fuel sending unit?
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2003, 09:32 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
It lives in the soft top storage area under a white plastic cover.
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2003, 02:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 79
Thanks for the info.. I should've check the maint cd first.. It looks like the sending unit is all gumed up.. The car was sitting in a hanger for the past 3 years.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2003, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 563
I've seen several people state similar problems after removing the instrument cluster. Breaking a ground connection seems to be a common problem. You might want to check for that.
__________________
Mike Heath
1988 560SL Black/Palomino
1988 300SEL Black Pearl/Burgandy
1984 500SEC Anthracite Grey/Palomino
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2003, 04:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 79
The gauge went back upto 3/4 full (it should be full tank). I check the ohmage between the terminal G & T (83 ohm) and I put 20 miles on it and now it read 31 ohm.. I will take the sending unit out and clean it once in for all.. Thanks for the advice...
__________________
Tony S....
98 MB E320
85 MB 380SL
01 Subraru Impreza (sold)
04 Toyota Highlander
82 25' W/A Cruisers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2003, 01:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 79
Well, it turned out it was not the sending unit afterall. Check the ohmage and I did see it change. I attached a pot to the plug and adjusted the pot and saw the gauge from full to 3/4 smoothly then it just poped to empty and jump back and forth to 3/4..
That lead me to suspect it is the gauge.. Now I will try to attach another ground wire to the cluster and see if that help..
__________________
Tony S....
98 MB E320
85 MB 380SL
01 Subraru Impreza (sold)
04 Toyota Highlander
82 25' W/A Cruisers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page