Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2000, 11:29 PM
akry's Avatar
W140 Maniac
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 960
I had my cluster replaced today due to a faulty stock cluster. However, the odometer starts counting from 0(Mine suppose to have about 76300 KM right now, but it shows only 35KM), is it possible to set the odometer to the correct mileage???

P.S. Have the newer cluster installed in there, with digital trip and odometer..

Andy Kuo

------------------

  • 1992 Mercedes-Benz 400SE
  • Moonstone Grey/Black Leather


ICQ#26950002
Mercedes Owners ICQ ActiveList ID#61730549

Mercedes S-Class Page
http://drive.to/akry
http://akry.homestead.com

[This message has been edited by akry (edited 03-17-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2000, 11:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
An interesting question. We have been repairing mechanical and electronic speedometers for 15 years and have tried to follow this question.

I think the dealer should be able to program the digital clusters from 96 on see:
http://www.cdh.co.uk/dashboard_list.htm

or see:

http://www.megachip.de/en/index.html

As to 124 body digital, I really don't think MB has a plan for it. See: http://www.dashmaster.com/frames.htm for a more simplistic prom burning approach.

------------------
Steve Brotherton
Owner 24 bay BSC
Bosch Master, ASE master L1
26 years MB technician

[This message has been edited by stevebfl (edited 03-18-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2000, 11:57 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
For someone who might do these prom calibrations see:
http://www.paspeedo.com/mercedes.htm

------------------
Steve Brotherton
Owner 24 bay BSC
Bosch Master, ASE master L1
26 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2000, 12:26 AM
akry's Avatar
W140 Maniac
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 960
But I remember that, facelifted W140s(1995-1999) all have digital readouts for odometer and trip meter, but why only 96+ models can be re-programmed?? Strange...

BTW, the speedometer on newer clusters start at 0-260, where my old cluster starts at 20-260....also, the needles(pointers!??)seem to be more accurate than older one....


Thnx for the links...
Andy Kuo

------------------

  • 1992 Mercedes-Benz 400SE
  • Moonstone Grey/Black Leather


ICQ#26950002
Mercedes Owners ICQ ActiveList ID#61730549

Mercedes S-Class Page
http://drive.to/akry
http://akry.homestead.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2000, 04:59 AM
Adamou
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Andy : be happy You'll be able to sell the car easier and get more money for it :p

------------------
-------------------------------------
http://connect.to/windowsce
A.S.C. 2000
- Mercedes Benz 560SEC 1986 28.000km BRABUS
-------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2000, 11:51 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
The reason for the 1996 and on date has to do with the accessability of the prom.

There are three ways to do this programming. The first is the hook an adapter right to the prom while its in the circuit. This requires disassembly and wouldn't be doable with MB scanner.

The second way is to hook right to the electrical connector at the back of the cluster. This also isn't likely to be a shop operation.

The last way is to program through the data line (CAN). The level of this activity varies in the different models but almost all were hooked up by 1996. This ability should be available with the HHT or Star.

We are able to do this to new Volvo and VW/Audi speedos with our Factory scanners for each. Volvo speedos can only be done for the first 100-150 miles (?? I think). VW/Audi I think can always be set forward (not back). All this of course has to do with the tool software. These tools that I linked (which we are contemplating) aren't so restricted.

BTW the rumor has it that MB has two counters within their chip; one accessable with data stream the other not. The second is said to be for security. Also I am not sure on MB but on BMW the odo value is kept by more than one controller and if you have them out of sync the systems go "limp home mode"

[This message has been edited by stevebfl (edited 03-18-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2000, 04:49 PM
akry's Avatar
W140 Maniac
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 960
Well, 37KM on the odometer sure looks good... But I will want to set it to correct mileage when I want to sell it. So, it's the best to know if it can be changed.

Also, the fuel economic guage in the old cluster will go to full right(20L/100KM mark)when the car is stopped, but the new guage will go back to 0 when the car is stopped....

Well, the new cluster sure looks good.....

Thnx for the info
Andy Kuo

------------------

  • 1992 Mercedes-Benz 400SE
  • Moonstone Grey/Black Leather


ICQ#26950002
Mercedes Owners ICQ ActiveList ID#61730549

Mercedes S-Class Page
http://drive.to/akry
http://akry.homestead.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2000, 09:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
The dealer can set this for a fee. I have them done for 35 dollars. I have done 3 or so new 140 chasis speedo's.

------------------
Benzmac:
1981 280GE SWB
1987 16V
ASE CERTIFIED MASTER AUTO TECHNICIAN
SERVICE MANAGER FOR 14 BAY FACILITY
MERCEDES SPECIALIST 8 YRS
PARTNER IN MERCEDESSHOP.COM


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2000, 12:32 AM
akry's Avatar
W140 Maniac
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 960
Thnx Benzmac, however, after leaving my car there for 2 days without giving me alternate transportation, and paid for the new cluster...and other hazzle to finally get it fix right, I feel that dealer should set it for FREE......besides, they should have set it right when they have it in....

Andy Kuo

------------------

  • 1992 Mercedes-Benz 400SE
  • Moonstone Grey/Black Leather


ICQ#26950002
Mercedes Owners ICQ ActiveList ID#61730549

Mercedes S-Class Page
http://drive.to/akry
http://akry.homestead.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2000, 11:33 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Aside from the quality control issue here, the Federal Odometer laws state that provisions be made where odometers are changed. I do not know the exact rules but I have seen door jam stickers, mantanance manual notes, indications posted within the cluster. I may be wrong, but if they haven't done something of this nature they should do something. That appropriate something would be to program your speedo if posible.

Unfortunately, In the case of many BMWs the cluster has to be sent to the parts center to be coded (only after a customer can't be satisfied otherwise).

------------------
Steve Brotherton
Owner 24 bay BSC
Bosch Master, ASE master L1
26 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-19-2000, 08:19 PM
al humphreys
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Before you complain about the dealer, and knock the quality control, you should know that Canadian laws prohibit the "tampering" of odometers - be it either "rolling the mileage back" or adjusting it forward to match the recorded distance of the replaced unit. The software available to Canadian dealers's hand held tester unit does not enable the technician to access the control unit for that purpose. The service dept. should have stamped your service book to verify the speedo change, and to verify the odometer reading at that time. Check it out, and ask the dealer to do that for you if they neglected that important step.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Cluster Removal on 1993 300D... Gordinho80 Diesel Discussion 1 10-06-2004 10:37 PM
400E Owners, Whatís Your Gas Mileage timreid Tech Help 7 05-05-2003 10:36 PM
Broke gauge cluster glass! AAAAUUUGHHH! G-Benz SL Forum 5 08-10-2002 09:42 PM
A small tip: Removing instrument cluster. carman850 Tech Help 5 11-06-2001 07:45 PM
Poor Fuel mileage in 190 2.3 190guy Tech Help 12 08-16-2001 01:45 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page