Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2003, 12:17 AM
s500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Speakers not working sometimes on right side of car?

I have an s500 w140 1995.. basically when I am listening to radio the right side speaker isn't working at time and when I go over a bump etc., it starts working for a few seconds and stops.. I think its a loose connection.. Where would I look to find this 'loose connection'? Or is it something else?

I am guessing the trunk..but where in the trunk..

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2003, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,006
Two possibilities that I can think of: Wiring between the body and the door can get brittle and crack. Or it could be a poor connection on the speakers.
__________________
Brian Toscano
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2003, 06:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Camp Hill, PA
Posts: 112
In the trunk

My '93 W140 does the same thing. I found that the cable to the CD changer was not making a good connection. I reached under the CD changer in the trunk and jiggled the cable and it worked OK for a while. Every one in a while I have to do this. At some point I'll have to do a proper diagnosis and repair but this is what is working for me at this time. YMMV.
__________________
2002 500SL(Black/Black)
1992 300SE(Black/Black)
1992 190E 2.3(White/Navy)
1999 VW Jetta TDI(Pearl Green)
1986 SAAB 900 Base 3 door(White)
1983 Porsche 911SC(Chiffon)
1977 VW Scirocco(DiamondSilver)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2003, 07:04 PM
s500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: In the trunk

Quote:
Originally posted by EC93SE
My '93 W140 does the same thing. I found that the cable to the CD changer was not making a good connection. I reached under the CD changer in the trunk and jiggled the cable and it worked OK for a while. Every one in a while I have to do this. At some point I'll have to do a proper diagnosis and repair but this is what is working for me at this time. YMMV.
\

Thanks.ill give it a try..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2003, 10:38 PM
wjm's Avatar
wjm wjm is offline
Statman
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Suburban Detroit, MI
Posts: 692
Do you have factory amps in your car? If yours are like mine, there are 2 amps in the trunk on the right side. One amp/connector is for left side, the other for the right. Check that connection.

Last edited by wjm; 06-21-2003 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2003, 11:35 PM
s500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yes they are factory..ill check that out too..thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page