Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2003, 03:53 AM
Posts: n/a
Question battery replacement

Recently the battery on my 1996 280c died and it was replaced by the Ewing Mercedes in Plano, Tx.

Battery replacement cost : $109
Labor to replace : $100 or so
TOTAL: $225 + tax

I was told the reason for the labor being high was that the computer settings had to be reset and it was going take 1 hr to complete.

I was just wondering if Mercedes are different than any other car with battery replacements? Or was I just fed BS!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 10:30 AM
Zeus's Avatar
Moderating, Eh?
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,774
Well, when I replaced my battery on my 300E, my mechanic didn't charge me a cent for labor. It took him about 1.2 minutes to install. Not sure how different your car is in terms of onboard computers, but I think the dealer may have gouged you. I don't think the computer needs to be reset manually or anything. I would assume that when you hook up the new battery, the car computer will reboot itself automatically.
2007 E550 4Matic - 61,000 Km - Iridium Silver, black leather, Sport package, Premium 2 package
2007 GL450 4Matic - 62,000 Km - Obsidian Black Metallic, black leather, all options
1998 E430 - sold
1989 300E - 333,000 Km - sold
1977 280E - sold
1971 250 - retired

"And a frign hat. They gave me a hat at the annual benefits meeting. I said. how does this benefit me. I dont have anything from the company.. So they gave me a hat." - TheDon
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 10:58 AM
DuckMuck's Avatar
Feathered Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Posts: 804

I thought the only thing you really needed to do was to re-enter the anti-theft code for the headunit...
1995 black pearl/black Mercedes-Benz E420 :
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 11:25 AM
vwbuge's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,101
I think you got taken, my friend. The computer will always reset to default automatically. Zeus had the right experience.
'85 300SD (formerly california emissions)
'02 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
'04 VW Passat W8 (6spd manual) SOLD!!
'68/'69 Empi Imp body on '65 Beetle pan
'93 Ducati 900 SS
'79 Kawasaki KZ 650
'86 Kawasaki KX 250
'72 Triumph T100R
'70 Yamaha R5 Rat Bike
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 517
No CPU "reset" is required for your car.

Your vehicle's battery is located in the trunk. Renewal requires removing the trunk floor mat, disconnecting the negative and positive battery cables, removing the one bolt securing the battery tie down clamp, disconnecting the vent hose and removing the battery. Installation is the reverse, plus entering the radio code.

This task can be completed, at a leisurely pace, in less than five minutes.

Perhaps the dealer has a minimum labor charge... but "resetting" the computer is bogus.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 05:13 PM
G-Benz's Avatar
Razorback Soccer Dad
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth
Posts: 5,711
I concur...

Replaced the batteries on my W124 and R129 w/o the need to reset anything but the radio codes.

Oh yeah, the SL top operation had to be resynchronized, but again, that was an additional 10 minutes over the five minute battery swap...
2009 ML350 (84K) - Family vehicle
2001 CLK430 Cabriolet (71K) - Wife's car
2005 BMW 645CI (124K) - My daily driver
2012 Mustang V6 (60K) - Daughter's car
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 10:16 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: S. Texas
Posts: 1,237
Is there any reason why you can not put another 12v battery in your trunk along side the old one? Connect a pair of jumper wires (not cables) to the car's battery cables. Remove the cables from the old battery. Place a new battery in the battery box. Reconnect the cables. Disconnect the jumper wires and, as they say in Australia, Bob's your uncle. No loss of power and no resetting the computer.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page