Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2003, 11:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 23
Trouble Code P0170

The check engine light on my '97 C230 w/75k mi has come on, the engine seems to be running lean. My scanner pulled trouble code P0170, "Fuel Trim Malfunction." I have read in other posts that this is usually a result of the MAS. Data from the MAS was in real-time mode so I believe it is OK but wouldn't know otherwise. However, the data from my O2 sensors looks like #2 may be bad. #1 O2 ran at about 0.1 volts. Once the #2 warmed up it ran at about 0.8 volts. What is the nominal operating voltage of the O2 sensors? None of these sensors have ever been replaced. Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2003, 01:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
I can only give you a couple of ideas.
O2 sensors are capable of generating between 0.1 ( lean ) to 1.0 ( rich ) volts.
The pre-cat O2 just switches faster ( responds to mixture changes quicker ), than the post-cat sensor.
The post-cat sensors purpose is two-fold. It watches the pre-cat sensor & also " measures " the efficiency of your converter.
If you are running out of fueltrim, your # 1 sensor probably needs replacing.
Gee, I sound like an O2 sensor salesman, which I am not !
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2003, 06:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
P0 170 means the computer isn't controlling the fuel mixture from sensor imput.
Rarely does an oxygen cause that code unless there are OTHER O2 sensor codes. 99/100 the air mass sensor will cause this code.
OF course fuel pressure & engine vacuum leaks can cause that code as well!
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2003, 10:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
M.B.DOC

I am still not very familiar with M-B, so I tend to speak in generic terms when I try to explain the function of pre & post cat O2 sensors.
I'm sure I will eventually catch on to M-B's logic, being german and all.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2003, 11:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
Pull the vac line off the fuel pressure regulator and see if any gas drips out ... this means a bad regulator and will cause trim code..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2003, 10:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 23
Thanks for the info. There was no fuel in the vacuum lines so I ordered an air mass sensor.

For general info, shouldn't both of the O2 sensors have approximately the same reading? Otherwise, it seems they would send contradictory info to the computer. Thanks again for your help...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2003, 01:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
No, the front O2 sensor monitors the amount of oxygen before the catalyst & then the computer adjusts the fuel mixture.
The rear sensor monitors the oxygen after the catalyst & that info goes to the DME for long-term catalyst info.
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2003, 10:47 AM
aTOMic's Avatar
(Oo=*=oO)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA, Earth
Posts: 451
Did the new MAS fix your code P0170? I have had it and I thiught I fixed it by fixing a vacuum leak, but now a month later (about forty drives in that time) the same code shows up. I replaced the MAS only a year ago!

Thanks,
-Tom
__________________
RIP "Betsy" (Oo=*=oO)
'96 E 3 2 0 (W 2 1 0) M 1 0 4
(Totalled)

Spaces in sig so as not to screw up the SEARCH; every time someone searches for that MB they don't want my sig!

2004 Audi A8L
'98 VW Passat 1.8T 5M
'87 Alfa Romeo Milano 2.5L 5M
'67 Impala convertible, 327cid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2003, 01:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 14
I had the same code on my w210 97 e320. I checked the vacuum lines for leak (no leak) and ended up changing the MAS. I was told on another board (or maybe it was this one) that after MAS replacement, I need to get the fuel trim reset by a MB computer. I haven't resetted the fuel trim yet and the check engine light came back with the same p0170 code after only a couple of drive cycles. The car drives fine except the annoying CEL.

delta
97 e320 with 57000 mi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-14-2003, 12:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 23
It has been only a few days since I installed the new MAS. The check engine light has not reapeared, knock on wood, but it usually takes a while for it to come back on. If it does I will post here again. The car is running much smoother in the low RPM's and is more responsive so I think that did it.

I am not aware of having to reset the fuel trim other than turning the Check Engine Light off by disconnecting the battery or OBDII port.

What is a good way to check for a vacuum leak? Those lines run to multiple places and seem to be controlled/vent thru the electrical gizmo/manifold on the front of the engine (near the water temp sensor) on the C230.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-14-2003, 12:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 23
delta,
I read stevebfl's post about resetting the adaptation values. Too late for me to do that now. At least it looks like it will eventually adapt to a good setting.

aTOMic,
If it's not a vacuum leak, you may have dirty air getting to the MAS. Other than the obvious air filter, there is a big o-ring at the end of the MAS. You may want to verifiy that it was reinstalled when the MAS was replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-07-2003, 11:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 14
PPatterson,

My fuel trim did not re-adapt after at least 100 drive cycles. I ended up taking it to an independent tech. for the fuel trim reset. Hopefully this ends my check engine light saga.

Delta
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page