Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2003, 07:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF
Posts: 202
Question 86 190E 2.3 Lambda..Volts vs Duty Cycle

Took the car in for biannual emmissions. Slightly higher CO, HC than 2 years ago, seemed to be running rich.Passed OK, but Hooked up the Voltmeter and go a 5.5v average-spec says 2.4 to 4.8v or so. Book also says that lean=higher voltage, rich =lower number. I should have been lean, why did I get a "rich" (higher HC & CO) symptoms but showed lean? Does this number get effected by altitude? I live @ 6000ft, I am told the altitude sensor leans out the mixture, but how? Any ideas on how to figure out? Are there corresponding Duty Cycle numbers instead of voltages? Thanks Scott BTW Does Lambda fluctuate much off idle? Under load? If so, whats normal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2003, 08:58 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Lots to learn and most has been discussed endlessly.

Lambda control in closed loop exists for O2 voltages between .2 and .8v for MBs. Some cars use 5v O2 sensors but not MB.

Duty cycle refers to the level of correction when viewed dynamically. Middle of range would be 50%. Duty cycle as a constant is used as a fault code.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2003, 09:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: tn
Posts: 41
not an expert on this by any means but i believe higher voltage means rich, higher duty cycle means lean. two different ways to look at the same signal.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2003, 11:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF
Posts: 202
Arrow Steve

I understand the duty cycle theory, been through it on my 300E. But the 1986 2.3 engine only posts the voltages in the factory manual. Is that the only way to determine what is going on or is there a corresponding duty cycle number as well? One thing that has not been discussed at all is how altitude correction devices are employed by M-B. (ie how it effects EHA numbers) The theory part of the factory manual hasn't said HOW it makes its corrections. And precious little on how to test for it. I have read your articles in depth and appreciate your input on the board....Scott
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2003, 09:00 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
"But the 1986 2.3 engine only posts the voltages in the factory manual. "

I do not understand this sentence. Actual values can vary model to model and I don't have them all memorized. I do lots of my testing by feel and recognize the particulars as I test.

Early 190's don't have the ability to go negative with EHA current. An 84 or 85 would fit this catagory, I'm not sure on a 86. The all should give integrater values in duty cycle. Whetehr they can express a fault code by duty cycle also varies. If you get a fixed duty-cycle other than 50% you probably have a fault code indicated.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2003, 09:15 AM
inspector1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 86 190E 2.3 Lambda..Volts vs Duty Cycle

Quote:
Originally posted by ChinaClipper
Took the car in for biannual emmissions. Slightly higher CO, HC than 2 years ago, seemed to be running rich.Passed OK
So what was it 2 years ago? Slightly higher to me is about 20%, whats your definition? Its either rich or it's not.

I speculate that your cat is just not as efficient as it was 2 years ago and the higher readings have nothing to do with the A/F control. How many miles have you driven in thes past 2 years? How old is the cat?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2003, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern Calif. (Fairfield Area)
Posts: 2,225
To answer the question on altitude, there is a little capsule that is usually lcated in the passenger foot well area that compensates the CIS system. It feeds info to the CPU.

Peter
__________________
Auto Zentral Ltd.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page