Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2003, 12:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
M104 Idle problems

My 320E has been working perfectly up to yesterday when it would start but would not idle - just die after a few seconds. Sounds like throttle actuator. But also the cruise control does not work now. Are these two faults connected? It drives fine provided I keep the throttle pedal tickled at intersections.

What should I look at first? Anybody got any thoughts?
__________________
1993 320E 140,000km
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2003, 12:52 AM
I told you so!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Motor City, MI
Posts: 2,791
Might be a bad overvoltage protection (OVP) relay.
__________________
95 E320 Cabriolet, 140K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2003, 04:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Thanks guys. Just fired it up and now it only runs on 4 cylinders, everything seems to be failing. I agree that the wiring is looking to be the problem. Is this an easy thing to replace? Is it all in one loom or are there various parts to it.

OVP should be OK, sorted that problem out a few months ago.
__________________
1993 320E 140,000km
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2003, 12:38 PM
I told you so!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Motor City, MI
Posts: 2,791
It's a relatively easy DIY job. The replacement wiring harness costs about $525? and you can get it from the Fastlane link on top of this page. It's one piece. For me the toughest part of the job was the connection to the transmission. Having a small thin arm helps for that connection.
__________________
95 E320 Cabriolet, 140K
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2003, 04:11 PM
jlomon's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 310
Wiring Harness on Ebay

There is a wiring harness on Ebay right now, here is a link for you:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2442356171&category=46098

They have a Mercedes part number listed, so you could cross reference it and potentially save a bundle.

Good luck

Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2003, 11:41 PM
I told you so!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Motor City, MI
Posts: 2,791
It's probably best to look for the part number of your existing wiring harness. You can find it about a foot down from the bulkhead connector on the computer behind the battery. It shoud be on a printed tag.

The number for early 1995 E320 is 124 440 56 32 and it costs $575. I wouldn't be surprised if your car uses the same number. I think the replacement harness has a letter in front of the part number indicating that it is an improved part.
__________________
95 E320 Cabriolet, 140K
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2003, 01:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: California
Posts: 324
Check the DIY section at the top of the page. I did a write up on the wiring harness replacement. You might also check my recent thread "1994 E320 code 6 idle problem", or something close to that. I had all the same issues.
__________________
D.H.

04 ML500
02 E430

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2003, 03:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Many thanks 300EE320, your harness replacement DIY report was first class- made life very easy.

I have installed the new harness which took a while to ship. Had tech to reset codes etc and all is fine. Throttle actuator and cruise control all working. I believe like 300EE320 that the wiring on the throttle actuator may be deteriorating as well but my instrument tech believes that is repairable. Time will tell.

Thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread
__________________
1993 320E 140,000km
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2003, 11:54 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: California
Posts: 324
Hi Mike,

You're welcome! I'm glad you found the write-up useful.

The codes should have cleared by themselves when you had the battery disconnected. If not, you'll want to build the very simple code reader tool that Arthur Dalton posted. You will then be able to read and clear any code yourself. Don't build the elaborate version of the tool, you just need the LED with built in resistor, and two pieces of wire. If you want to make it nicer, put bananna plugs on the ends. That tool will save you some money, like it has for many here.
__________________
D.H.

04 ML500
02 E430

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page