Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2003, 08:27 PM
Eiknujrac's Avatar
Car Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 99
Alarm help please

Ok so this is the deal:

I own and drive a 1991 300e, and have for the past couple of months been trying to diagnose why the alarm in my car is not working at all. I have confirmed the presence of an alarm, from the white alarm horn on the drivers side behind the headlight, the hood switch, and the module under the passenger side footwell. But for the life of me I can't figure out why It won't work. Would the installation of an aftermarket head unit have anything to do with the non-working state of my alarm? From what I read the stock alarms were fairly well tied in with the stock radios.

Any ideas would be appreciated, i've checked most fuses and connections, but anything helps.

Thanks

-E
__________________
I love my cars to death but my wallet sure doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2003, 10:46 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19,738
The alarm brain box is between a removable panel and the firewall in the passenger footwell. I expect you'll find that the box is disconnected. I expect it is so because the door lock switches for the alarm became flaky and caused the alarm to go off when not intended.

Sixto
95 S420
91 300SE
87 300SDL
83 300SD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2003, 12:55 AM
Eiknujrac's Avatar
Car Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 99
Yea I checked the passenger footwell connections, and the black connections are all plugged in along with the red, none of them are disconnected.
__________________
I love my cars to death but my wallet sure doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2003, 01:13 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 19,738
Does it arm if you set it from the trunk? The trunk switch is the least likely to go bad.

Sixto
95 S420
91 300SE
87 300SDL
83 300SD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2003, 12:34 AM
Eiknujrac's Avatar
Car Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 99
Just went out and tried that, but it didn't work.

Is there any way or a certain wire to check if the system is even getting power?
__________________
I love my cars to death but my wallet sure doesn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page