Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2003, 04:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Question replaced battery, do I need to reset computer?

I just replaced my battery, do I need to somehow reset the onboard computer?

if so, how do I go about resetting it?

it's a 94' S420

Last edited by Raphster; 12-16-2003 at 12:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2003, 04:50 PM
haasman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,097
Raphster

I bet you would get a lot more responses if you stated what year and model your car is.

Haasman
__________________
'03 E320 Wagon-Sold
'95 E320 Wagon-Went to Ex
'93 190E 2.6-Wrecked
'91 300E-Went to Ex
'65 911 Coupe (#302580)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2003, 06:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 271
Cool

it's a 94' S430
__________________________________________________
He did state the year and model..........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 236
batt replacement

before you remove the old battery, you need to keep the power on. so turn on the ignition so that you can leave the radio on. Before this go to an auto parts store and buy an adapter that will plug into the cigaret lighter (12 volt power outlet where you probably have your radar detector plugged in) attach a 9 volt regular battery to this gizzmo then take the old battery out and quickly say 5 minutes or so put the new batt in and hook it up. Most important is to reconnect the vent hose to the new battery, if there is one like on my C280. Remove the adapter and you are ready to take off. The computer will remain as it was and maybe re-program a few things, but this should not be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally posted by Rockman59
it's a 94' S430
__________________________________________________
He did state the year and model..........
Ya - but there's no such thing as a 94 S430.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Hassman was right,
originally I did not post the yr/model,
after his note, I edited my post.

I will need to edit it again since I incorrectly
typed 430, I s/b 420

If I could only type!
and proofread.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2003, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Battery replacement

You can use the proceedure with the 9v battery, If you know your radio code it helps if that fails, and you might need to resync the windows. It is using the auto up feature, to see if they close, if they dont use the switch and then hold it for a few seconds when closed. MB did mine and one of the regulators broke, and had to br replaced.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page