Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13
Passing wire through firewall to switched fuses ???

W203, 2004.

I've seen a post where someone mentioned that he was able to run a wire (for a radar detector) through the firewall in the area of the fuse panel next to the drivers door......and into the engine fuse box that contains some switched fuses. I replied and that person has never answered as to how he did this. Does anyone know if there is a rubber grommet, etc., in that area to pass wires through, etc.

Thanks.

__________________
GuruGuy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:08 PM
bjcsc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 672
Guru, I'm going to bump you up and also suggest that you should easily be able to find where the wiring harness goes through the firewall from the engine compartment. Just follow stuff along and see where it goes through. Now, getting your wire through there is another story. What are you trying to feed power to? How many amps does it draw?
__________________
1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
1982 Mercedes-Benz 240D - stick
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13
Thanks. Radar detector wiring for a switched fuse. I realize I can run it to the back of the car but that is not an option....really don't want to run it all the way back there, etc.
__________________
GuruGuy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2004, 11:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13
It's not overkill to NOT want to disassemble the console to get to a radio power wire or the cigarette lighter just to run a power wire. That leads to rattles, squeaks, etc. Much easier to run the wire to a fuse that is switched. The wire is already run over to the fuse box....not that much harder to run it through the firewall and into the engine fuse box to a switched fuse..........
__________________
GuruGuy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:08 PM
bjcsc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 672
If it were me, I would use an inline fuse on the power wire, size dependant on the gauge of wire you're using, and tap into/onto the fuse box you're already at. I also would not tear into the console for the very reasons you stated. An inline fuse lets you join another circuit consisting of higher amperage without risking fire. Remember the fuse is designed to protect the wire and protecting the component is only a secondary and resulting function.


Edit: If your concern is having a truly switched fuse, you can get them inline as well, but typically switched fuses (or self-resetting fuses) are high amperage (20-30), and are really only necessary for things like electric brakes.
__________________
1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
1982 Mercedes-Benz 240D - stick
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13
Yes, I agree totally, and have actually done that already with the inline fuse, etc. The only thing is, I would rather plug into a "switched" fuse and there are NONE inside the fuse box up front.....they are all "live" constantly. Thus the reason for wanting to run about 6-10 inches more, through the firewall and into the engine fuse box to plug into a "switched" fuse. Guess I'll have to poke around in there and take a look.
__________________
GuruGuy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:57 PM
bjcsc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 672
OK, I get it. By switched fuse you are referring to the ignition. I would go through the firewall in that case, too. Sometimes a piece of wire, like the solid copper you can strip out of a piece of Romex, makes a good wire fish getting through those grommets. Sometimes it's easier to fish it backwards, too (engine to interior) Good luck.
__________________
1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
1982 Mercedes-Benz 240D - stick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:17 PM
bjcsc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 672
Well??? Success?
__________________
1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
1982 Mercedes-Benz 240D - stick
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13
Haven't had time to look at it today, supposed to rain tomorrow, holiday, etc. Probably get a look at it this week.

__________________
GuruGuy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page