Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2004, 11:32 AM
Davis Lo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Problem with the trunk lid of W140

Of late, my W140's trunk lid has delayed or even failed to pop out occasionally. It seems to me that the mechanism cannot sense the trunk being opened. Would anyone please tell me is there anything like a micro chip responsible for that function? If there is, where is it exactly and can I replace it myself?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2004, 04:51 PM
3 MB's and counting!
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,825
ahh its the classic vacumm pump located somewhere in the trunk that is responsible for the trunk and the doors.
__________________
99 C43
98 S420
99 C230K
01 C240
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2004, 05:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 319
The trunk handle that pops out is controlled by the central locking pump located under the back seat on the right side. There is a micro switch on the trunk latch that sends a signal to the pump to operate. You could have a faulty micro switch, or a faulty element for the handle, or a faulty locking pump, or a wiring problem.
__________________
Mercedes Benz Master Tech - Retired
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2004, 06:21 PM
rhgtara@localne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had a problem with mine which worked intermitently, so using a Mityvac I checked the vacuum lines from the pump located under the rear seat [right side] and found a leak which I traced to the vacuum pod for the retractable trunk handle. I replaced the pod and that solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2004, 11:36 PM
Davis Lo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for all the helpful replies! I would like to start the troubleshooting with the basic one. Would anyone please tell me where exactly the location of the micro switch is?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page