View Single Post
Old 09-25-2017, 05:02 PM
Total Novice

crystals growing in the basement of a potential house purchase

I saw a house over the weekend that was built in the 1920s. It's at an intersection with both roads running away from the house slightly downhill. And it has mineral efflorescence in the basement. I didn't see any mould anywhere in the basement or wet spots but I was there in autumn on a warm day with no rain.

All the floors throughout the house were even and the interior hasn't been renovated in at least 50 years. In some rooms, it hasn't been touched for a lot longer. But there are no cracks or bulges anywhere in the plaster or paint. Door frames areas are fine, staircase was fine, so on. Most floors had carpeting or vinyl roll-out lino which is a common thing in these older untouched houses around these parts.

There was a black mould on the north exterior wall of a small room on the second floor across the hallway from the bathroom. That bathroom just has a window for a vent, so I wasn't sure if it was steam moving across the hall or if it was where moisture from the basement was ending up (or both, I suppose). If the house is bought, the mouldy room might be converted to a second bathroom with a shower and a vent, which would hopefully solve part of the vapor problem.