Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:48 PM
CMuc's Avatar
mucman
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Port Coquitlam BC, Can
Posts: 92
FSS Won't Reset-get German message

Hey all, got an 03' E320 in the shop. There is a "DISPLAY MALFUNCTION" on the dash and when I go to reset the FSS I get a "DALOG FEHLER, VERLASSEN MIT DISPLAY UP" message. Any techs have any ideas, does the cluster need to be re-flashed?

Thanks, Chris

Just found ot the battery was dead and then car has no signals....it all started after they charged the battery.

__________________
Chris Muc

'87 300E 430,000 km

"You can fight without ever winning
But never ever win without a fight"

Neil Peart

Last edited by CMuc; 02-01-2006 at 01:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2006, 01:25 PM
carson356
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
that phrase roughly translated means ERROR, LEAVING WITH DISPLAY UP
you may try removing the cluster to rest it, i have seen this work a few times. dont disconnect the battery if possible. but if you are unable to remove the cluster that may be your only choice. not sure why that error happens, but usually removing it for a time works.

here is a good translator is you ever need it http://babelfish.altavista.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:05 PM
CMuc's Avatar
mucman
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Port Coquitlam BC, Can
Posts: 92
This might help.....the fobs only work the infra red, the gas guage not reading, no signals, no hazzard, fob won't open the trunk....customer said it happened after he took the battery out to have it charged......
__________________
Chris Muc

'87 300E 430,000 km

"You can fight without ever winning
But never ever win without a fight"

Neil Peart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:14 PM
ILUVMILS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,973
Hi Chris, the good news is that your problem is easy to fix. The bad news is that you'll need an SDS to fix it permanently. Try Carson356s' suggestion of re-setting the instrument cluster. If that doesn't work you'll have to visit your local dealer!!! . It's nothing more than a simple version coding issue, but like I said, you'll need an SDS to do it. Let us know what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
An '03 should still be under warranty - make them fix it -- and then let us know what they fixed for those who are out of warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:33 PM
ILUVMILS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,973
Here are the version coding instructions. I've done this many times so I'm sure it works.

COMPLAINT: W211/ DISPLAY @ ICM READS “DIALOG FEHLER VERLASSEN MIT DISPLAY UP” WHEN TRYING TO VIEW FSS DATA.
THE INCORRECT CGW IS CODED IN ICM.
USING SDS GO INTO ICM > CONTROL UNIT ADAPTATIONS > VERSION CODING > CODING SPECIFIC FOR ICM > WORKSHOP MENU.
CHANGE THE SETTING TO “ CGW BEFORE MOD. YEAR 03”. FUSE #64 MUST BE REMOVED AND RE-INSTALLED TO RE-SET THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER

As for the other problems with the car, it sounds like the rear SAM may be the problem.

Last edited by ILUVMILS; 02-02-2006 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2006, 04:58 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
Of course that require a SDS laptop with upto date software!

In German LANGUAGE is SPRACHE
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
hello

i have a W211 2003 270cdi and i can not enter in service menu, i displays the next message " DIALOG FEHLER VERLASSEN MIT DISPLAY UP"
i have tried to apply the correction instructions :USING SDS GO INTO ICM > CONTROL UNIT ADAPTATIONS > VERSION CODING > CODING SPECIFIC FOR ICM > WORKSHOP MENU.
CHANGE THE SETTING TO “ CGW BEFORE MOD. YEAR 03”. FUSE #64 MUST BE REMOVED AND RE-INSTALLED TO RE-SET THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER

but it doesnt't work

Can anyone help me ?

thanks...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page