Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-27-2009, 12:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
you think this DIY would work for a becker 1492, going into a w123 car that originally had a becker 612 head unit?
Probably, would have to open one up and take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:29 PM
Hit Man X's Avatar
I LOVE BRUNETTES
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FUNKYTOWN
Posts: 9,057
Thumbs up

Very interesting. My '90 and '91 are too much of a PITA to fully rewire to me and this is right up my alley.
__________________
I'm not a doctor, but I'll have a look.

'85 300SD 244k
'87 300SDL 251k
'90 300SEL 325k
'91 560SEL 189k

Eight others from IH, BMW, GM, Ford, and Volvo.

Liberty will not descend to a people; a people must raise themselves to liberty.
[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-10-2010, 10:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 70
The 612 Unit

I've been wondering how to do this as well.

I have a 612 model of the Becker grand prix, and I opener 'er up and this is what I got: (Sorry for the blur, but it still gets the point across)

Question is, How did you figure out which wire went to/did what?
After hours of searching, I tracked down the chip TDA 3410, and according to the only datasheet I could find, I can find out where the outputs are... but one of the outputs goes to a brown wire, the other to a yellow wire.

There are two yellow wires, one green, one brown, one red. Seems odd that the outputs would be different colors, and especially odd that one of them would be brown. I was wondering what procedure you used.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 345
You need to start with a decent datasheet, I can't find much on the TDA3410 myself. I would contact the manufacturer of the chip for a datasheet. Then you need to trace the wire/wires from the outputs of the chip. Also that tape head and chip are on their own seperate board, correct? So it has to be one of the wires connecting that board to everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 70
Yes, it is a separate board, the tape head itself is on the left. Sorry that the pic was so blurry. I guess I'll try to contact SGS themselves... and done. I sent them an email, but who knows how far that'll get. How bad would it be to just desolder the wires and hook them up at random? (obviously not hooking up the red wire to ground)
I have found plenty of datasheets for the TDA 3420, and that is what I was basing my previous statements on (Those tricky websites pull you in making you think they have what you want, and then do the ol bait 'n switch), how different/similar can they be?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethezipper View Post
Yes, it is a separate board, the tape head itself is on the left. Sorry that the pic was so blurry. I guess I'll try to contact SGS themselves... and done. I sent them an email, but who knows how far that'll get. How bad would it be to just desolder the wires and hook them up at random? (obviously not hooking up the red wire to ground)
I have found plenty of datasheets for the TDA 3420, and that is what I was basing my previous statements on (Those tricky websites pull you in making you think they have what you want, and then do the ol bait 'n switch), how different/similar can they be?
I dunno, they could be very different. Likely the brown is ground (verify by checking continuity to the ground on the back of the radio), both for power and signal. Then the signals (L & R) are two of the remaining wires, which I would think yellow and green... while the red would be power.

Power up the radio, while you have access to the insides, and measure the wires (I'd reference the ground/negative of the DMM to the brown wire). Then cut them and tap in, you can always go back and solder them back together.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-12-2010, 02:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 70
How did you figure out that the copper prongs would signal that a tape was in the deck? I can't find anything of the sort in mine, except for one small one in the back, but when I push in the head (as if a tape was inserted) I still don't get any power from the red line (it only regestered .16v)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 70
I figured it out for the most part.

NOTE: all of the below could quite possibly be a lie.
I tested it before finishing up all the soldering and installing it all right, and it seemed to be working perfectly. Then I touched the faceplate.
Now my radio won't stay on. It comes on for a split second then turns off again. I'll look at it again later this week, but now I am going to sleep. The problem could be an exposed wire, the things I soldered together, my messing with the faceplate, or all of the above. Until I find out what the problem is, don't try this (not that you would)



Alrighty, so I figured it out.. kind of.

This is what I did, sequenced

Adding AUX to a Becker Grand Prix model 612 Radio

First, a warning: DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE TRY TO DISASSEMBLE THE FACE PLATE. I DID, AND I SORELY REGRETTED THE WHOLE DAY I SPEND REASSEMBLING IT.

1)Take the radio out

2)Remove the BOTTOM plate, no screws here, the plate can just be pried off

3)Now unscrew the head unit. This is the yellowish thing right in the middle. It is held in by two... nuts? that have slits cut in the top for a flat headed screwdriver

4)De-solder all six (or was it five?) wires to this. There should be a main cluster which has a yellow, a green, a brown, and a red. There is also another yellow wire on there.

5)On that main cluster, the green wire is the ground, the brown wire is the right speaker signal, and the yellow is the left speaker signal. Solder these to whatever thing you want. Make sure to insulate everything, as the red wire is live, and there is no way of knowing when the other wires may become live as well.

I do not know this for sure as I never received the datasheet from SGS, but trial and error worked for me, and I checked the lines, no voltage on them, so I would assume they are safe.


What I still don't know:
How to trick the stereo into thinking there is a cassette in there, when there isn't really one. the copper contact that I mentioned earlier is for rewinding, so that isn't it. I spent a good amount of time looking for a switch or a contact of some kind and found none. I guess I'll just use a tape with a hole drilled through it. If you use a normal tape, without actually removing the tape, there will be a 2 second pause every 60 minutes as the tape switches sides.

Last edited by mikethezipper; 01-13-2010 at 01:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-13-2010, 01:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 70
Sometimes, it just happens

All righty, so I couldn't get the thing to turn on after I reassembled the faceplate. I fuddled with it for a while, nothing. I tried to check the fuse in the back, and the darn thing exploded into a cloud of white smoke and glass shards. At this point I will do what any respectable man would, and give up.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:06 PM
Firewater's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mass, USA
Posts: 28
My radio is locked out and displays '----'. I have taken it to the dealer but with the tool he used he wasn't able to get it to unlock. What do I have to do to defeat the alarm lock out?

Thanks in advance... I hope I can get this fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-03-2010, 01:17 PM
ykobayashi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 559
Great thread. Converted my 612. I found that you can figure out the wires using an ohm meter between the chassis and the wire. On my radio between chassis ground and the wires it was 5k on yellow, 5k on brown, 10k on red and 1 ohm on green. That suggested L&R were yellow and brown (could be mixed I don't care at this point) and green was ground. Another comment is the DIN connector on the back of the radio. This was for playing the becker CB or phone through the radio, could we go in and toggle tape/ipod this way?

I'm jazzed for now. Good cheap solution.
__________________
ykobayashi
82 240D stick shift 335k miles (SOLD)
82 300SD 200k miles
85 300D Turbodiesel 160k miles
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-03-2010, 01:33 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykobayashi View Post
. Another comment is the DIN connector on the back of the radio. This was for playing the becker CB or phone through the radio, could we go in and toggle tape/ipod this way?
My 1452 has one of those sockets on the amplifier. I've never been able to find any documentation on it. If it could be used as a line in that would be fantastic...

-Jason
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:32 PM
ykobayashi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 559
More on aux din on back of 612

Ok just checked bay. There is a guy selling a plug kit for this port. I have the cb set from the po and it had a schematic. From what I can read on the circuit it takes one audio out and probably makes mono on both left and right on the radio. eBay seller says he only does mono. Makes sense, I have never heard of stereo cb.

There are other inputs on the plug that look like control lines to toggle the function of the radio.

With a lot of tracing I could probably figure out how to get upstream of the mono to stereo circuit and then I could potentially have a control where I put in iPod signal and automatically toggle over. Probably the most efficient way to do it is buy the kit on bay, figure out how it works then figure out how to solder in extra channel. Maybe it would be smarter to just get a modern deck.
__________________
ykobayashi
82 240D stick shift 335k miles (SOLD)
82 300SD 200k miles
85 300D Turbodiesel 160k miles
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
MP3 input.

Great job and you are to be commended for it. To me however it just seems like something I could really screw up (and I'd hate to mess up a classic Becker GP), so I bought an adapter that looks like a cassette tape and has a plug that allows me to plug it into my tape player and then into my MP3. For those of us less technically savvy.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
you could send any of the above mentioned radios to becker www.beckerautosound.com and they could add the aux line.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page