Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2004, 12:25 PM
dannym's Avatar
I'm not here
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 2,360
Broken odometer on a 1984 300SD

Hi,
I bought 2 repair manuals and neither one even mentions the odometer or how to get under the dashboard.
Does anyone have an idea how to troubleshoot this problem?
The speedometer still works aren't they on the same cable?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Danny

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:38 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Well, first there is no cable. The 126 body cars have electronic speedos. From MBs standpoint your speedometer is broke. They only sell the unit. There are plenty of speedo shops that can fix your unit though.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2004, 08:59 PM
dannym's Avatar
I'm not here
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 2,360
speedo or odometer??

Hey, thanks for the reply but I did mention that the speedometer does work. It's the odometer, mileage counter, that is broken.

There is no cable for this?
Is this electronic too?

Thanks Danny
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:46 PM
lino's Avatar
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 981
1.Do you hear a clicking sound from the odometer?
2.Are the numbers slanted to the right, meaning are the left 3 numbers higher than the right 3 numbers?
3.Are the numbers crooked - one high then 2 low for example?
4.Have you ever removed the instrument cluster before?
5.Does the Trip odometer still work?
__________________
1989 300CE Astralsilber/Schwarz
1992 300CE Schwarz/Schwarz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:51 PM
lino's Avatar
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 981
You could also buy a used instrument cluster for cheap like this one for example:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7930034761&category=33675
__________________
1989 300CE Astralsilber/Schwarz
1992 300CE Schwarz/Schwarz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:11 PM
dannym's Avatar
I'm not here
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 2,360
odometers

Hey,
NO, No, NO, I don't know I've only owned the car for about 3 months, No.

Everything looks normal except the main and trip odometers don't work and the backlight doesn't adjust.
Maybe I need a new instrument cluster?? Actually I should check the back of the one that's in there now. How do you get it out??

Thanks

Danny
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boonville Indiana
Posts: 2,342
Instrument Cluster

Remove the 2 bolts holding up the steering shaft so that the steering wheel will drop down and then remove the cluster either with 2 coat hanger tools or with your hands...after you remove the cluster you can remove the speedometer and maybe the gear that turns the odometer is just spinning and if it is it is fixable...email me when you get that far h16671836@yahoo.com Jim
__________________
James A. Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:55 AM
lino's Avatar
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 981
This should help you:

http://instrument.articles.mbz.org/renew/

How to remove instrument cluster.

Lets' Pull the Instrument Cluster!
__________________
1989 300CE Astralsilber/Schwarz
1992 300CE Schwarz/Schwarz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:29 AM
dannym's Avatar
I'm not here
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 2,360
Thanks

You guys are great.

I'll give the coat hanger trick a try later.

Danny
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2004, 06:32 PM
dannym's Avatar
I'm not here
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 2,360
found problem

Hey,
I took the cluster out and found the problem with my odometer and trip meter.
The smaller of the gears that's on the motor shaft is worn/broken.
I guess it would be too easy to replace the gear right?
Do I need a whole new instrument cluster??

Danny
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-26-2004, 07:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boonville Indiana
Posts: 2,342
Repaired IS

I have repaired a number of them and if you want just call me and I will tell you my proceedures. I just typed about 500 letters and lost all of it...my number is 812-897-0667....Jim

__________________
James A. Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page