Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:10 PM
MS Fowler's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Littlestown PA ( 6 miles south of Gettysburg)
Posts: 2,265
Brian,
I wish for SOMETHING to be the source of all my problems; anything.
Seriously, I have no deisre to get into the CCC if I don't have to. I saw the vacuum pods when i had the carpets out; I was impressed with how very organized everything appearded. I will tackle that area.
Thanks for the input.

__________________
1982 300SD " Wotan" ..On the road as of Jan 8, 2007 with Historic Tags
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS Fowler View Post
Brian,
I wish for SOMETHING to be the source of all my problems; anything.
Seriously, I have no deisre to get into the CCC if I don't have to. I saw the vacuum pods when i had the carpets out; I was impressed with how very organized everything appearded. I will tackle that area.
Thanks for the input.
The three most likely culprits (the duals) are accessed via glove box removal. The two dual for the main air door are right in font of you once the box is removed. The third dual, for the defrost flaps, is sitting at the very left side of the space, on a downward angle toward the windshield.

These pods develop cracks in the rubber diaphragms and the only good solution is to replace them if they don't hold vac. I recently did all three of the duals on the '87.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:27 AM
'84 300D Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 211
long question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon314159 View Post
What exactly fries on the CCU?

Is it a little transistor looking thing or is it something else?

I just replaced a mosfet on my ham radio packet modem becuase of some shorting issues in the units past. Pretty easy fix, did it with spare parts, and worked nicely.

The CCU, although complex and small, is still just electronics. It can be fixed by able minds
Does anyone know the answer to this question? I have a very specific and strange problem occuring with my climate control. I'll try to explain it as best I can...

My climate control system works perfectly, almost. I have the shop manuals and have verified that I get hot air where required, when required based on the various settings that can be selected with the controls. The only aspect of the system not working properly is the footwell ducts do not open when the economy putton is depressed on a heat seating. The strange thing is that when I measure the voltage at the changeover valve (the two-prong plug) that controls the footwell ducts with a multimeter, I get the requisite ~12V. The voltage at the changeover valve is correct in all settings. That is, 0V when the footwell ducts should be closed and 12V when they should be open.

Does anyone have any idea how the voltage is correct, but the changeover solenoid does not engage in the economy/heat setting?

To add to the mystery, the footwell flaps do open (the solenoid does engage) when the multi-level button is depressed (next to the defrost). Just to add a little info, I recently discovered that my aux. water pump was not working. I removed and tested the current draw... none. A continuity check from the postive prong to the negative reveals an incomplete circuit. Is it possible for an aux pump in such a state to fry the CCU as previously stated?

Thanks for any ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:31 AM
whunter's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 17,362
Answer:

If the AUX pump fused open, it is possible.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:46 AM
'84 300D Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by whunter View Post
If the AUX pump fused open, it is possible.
When can the aux pump fry the CCU? Does it fry the CCU in the process of failing? What I mean is, can a failed aux pump like mine continue to fry CCU after CCU if it is not removed from the system?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:58 AM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If an aux water pump draws more than 1.2 Amps, replace it. On the 124 CCU's if it is drawing more current than this it will indeed fry the CCU. I expect a similar result on late 123 CCU's.

Have a great day,
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:27 AM
1985 190d
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: canadian border vermont
Posts: 512
190d auxillary heating pump

Mine has been unplugged from day one. I have it on the bench now and its totally corroded. Not fixable. I have always had plenty of heat, and amazingly enough, I seem to be in control of it--so

I also think you can bypass this unit entirely. My guess is its mostly for when idling. True?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:14 AM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
That is what it is for, low-RPM. If you're fine without it, don't worry about it.

They are very available in junkyards though. The gasser 190s is a good source, Volkswagen VR6 had them, Audi 5-cyl. turbos had them, not sure of the pipe size and M-B has their own electrical plug, but look around and you'll find a cheap replacement if you're creative.

... or go without, sounds like it's no big sacrifice unless you idle for extended periods picking the kids up at school or something.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:10 PM
'84 300D Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryBible View Post
If an aux water pump draws more than 1.2 Amps, replace it. On the 124 CCU's if it is drawing more current than this it will indeed fry the CCU. I expect a similar result on late 123 CCU's.

Have a great day,
what if it draws 0 amps? can it still fry the CCU?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:26 PM
Jeremy5848's Avatar
Registered Biodiesel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sonoma Wine Country
Posts: 8,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbjukraine View Post
what if it draws 0 amps? can it still fry the CCU?
If the pump's motor truly draws zero amps (is an open circuit or "burned out") then it cannot damage the CCU. To confirm this, you should unplug the cable at the pump and put an ohmmeter across the motor terminals. A burned-out motor will read infinite ohms. To be safe, leave the cable unplugged so that the motor can't "change it's mind" and suddenly start drawing current.

If you are getting sufficient heat and don't want to bear the expense of a replacement, leave it alone. To get a little more heat, remove the dead pump and bridge the gap with a piece of pipe. If that still doesn't provide enough heat, especially around town at low engine speeds (sitting in traffic, etc.) then you must replace the pump with a good one.
__________________

"Buster" in the '95

Our all-biodiesel family
1995 E300D (W124) . .239,000 miles My car
1996 E300D (W210) . .313,000 miles Wife's car
Santa Rosa population 170,685 (2012)
Total. . . . . . . . . . . . 722,685
"Oh lord won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz."
-- Janis Joplin, October 1, 1970
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:26 PM
rrgrassi's Avatar
mmmmmm Diesel...
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Royse City Tx
Posts: 4,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbjukraine View Post
what if it draws 0 amps? can it still fry the CCU?
Have you checked continuity? Zero amps can be open circuit or direct short.
__________________
RRGrassi


70's SPM #5608 Fairmont A-4 MOW car

06 VW Jetta TDI 290K miles

91 W124 300D Turbo replaced, Pressure W/G actuator installed. 188K

90 Dodge D250 5.9 Cummins/5 speed. 400K
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:30 PM
Jeremy5848's Avatar
Registered Biodiesel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sonoma Wine Country
Posts: 8,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryBible View Post
If an aux water pump draws more than 1.2 Amps, replace it. On the 124 CCU's if it is drawing more current than this it will indeed fry the CCU.
So the 124's aux water pump is also not fused? Looks like I have another chore! By the way, I ended up putting a 2 Amp fuse in my 123. A 1 Amp fuse failed after awhile. Even though my measurements showed a steady-state current draw of about 0.9 Amp, there probably is a start-up surge of greater than 1 Amp.
__________________

"Buster" in the '95

Our all-biodiesel family
1995 E300D (W124) . .239,000 miles My car
1996 E300D (W210) . .313,000 miles Wife's car
Santa Rosa population 170,685 (2012)
Total. . . . . . . . . . . . 722,685
"Oh lord won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz."
-- Janis Joplin, October 1, 1970
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:35 PM
rrgrassi's Avatar
mmmmmm Diesel...
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Royse City Tx
Posts: 4,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy5848 View Post
So the 124's aux water pump is also not fused? Looks like I have another chore! By the way, I ended up putting a 2 Amp fuse in my 123. A 1 Amp fuse failed after awhile. Even though my measurements showed a steady-state current draw of about 0.9 Amp, there probably is a start-up surge of greater than 1 Amp.
I did the 1 amp fuse back in Sept. All is fine, currently, no blown fuse. IIRC the CCU could blow before the 2 amp fuse does. HAve you checked to see how easily your aux pump spins? Easier spin means less initial amp draw at start up.
__________________
RRGrassi


70's SPM #5608 Fairmont A-4 MOW car

06 VW Jetta TDI 290K miles

91 W124 300D Turbo replaced, Pressure W/G actuator installed. 188K

90 Dodge D250 5.9 Cummins/5 speed. 400K
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:15 PM
whunter's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 17,362
Answer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy5848 View Post
If the pump's motor truly draws zero amps (is an open circuit or "burned out") then it cannot damage the CCU.
OPEN CIRCUIT AUX PUMP:
* corroded/age broken wire = may not have damaged the CCU.
* Fused open within the AUX pump = massive amperage spike through CCU = 99.99% odds CCU is damaged.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:40 PM
'84 300D Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by whunter View Post
OPEN CIRCUIT AUX PUMP:
* corroded/age broken wire = may not have damaged the CCU.
* Fused open within the AUX pump = massive amperage spike through CCU = 99.99% odds CCU is damaged.
what else can damage the CCU? with the aux pump completely removed from the car, do I need to worry about the CCU being damaged because the aux pump isn't there to draw current as it normally would?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page