Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2006, 09:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
124 Vacuum Transducer

Tested my wife's 92 300d 2.5 Turbo using my impulse counter made from an old bottle of ADD pills , and found it had codes 5, and 15.

5 is the Vacuum Transducer, I don't remember what 15 was - I'll get to that later.

I tested the vacuum transducer - it is screwed, according to the FSM and it makes a noise so I am pretty sure it is a goner.

The question is - where am I supposed to get another from? Don't say Stealership, I am alergic. I couldn't find the part at Fastlane. Does it have some funky name or something, or is it generic and I can get another from somewhere else?

Help! The turbo's aren't working without it, the car is a dog!

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2006, 11:23 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
Try the Fastlane link at the top of the page or www.pgauto.com

Sixto
... stay tuned
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2006, 10:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
Different name?

I searched both locations for a vacuum transducer and it was not listed.

Does anyone know if it would be listed under another name?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
also called

Vacuum transducer is apparently also called a pressure converter, according to the dealership. Cost = $138. Ouch.

Anybody have a spare burning a hole in their......um...... firewall?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
Anybody got one to sell?

Anybody got a Vacuum Transducer / Pressure Converter for a 124 to sell?

Or do you know somewhere to get one from? The dealer wants $138 for it, I bet a junkyard would charge more like $30.

Anybody know where to try get one? No, fastlan doesn't haven them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:25 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixto View Post
If Potomac German doesn't have any then there are none to be had.

Sixto
... stay tuned
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:25 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
Did you post in the parts forum?

Sixto
... stay tuned
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2006, 07:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
Didn't know there was a parts forum - thanks, I'll definately try that.

pgauto didn't have it.

I found it eventually on a site part # 0005450327

But the picture doesn't look quite right so I'm going to take it off the car and really llook for a part #

Thanks Sixto.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2006, 09:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 626
acrtually the part # is 001 540 7997.

But I'm not sure it's the problem anymore - the only code I have now is 7 - engine speed sensor - but it passes the tests and the code won't clear.

I posted a new post about this issue, if you have any ideas -
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/diesel-discussion/161105-124-fault-code-7-engine-sensor-but-its-fine.html#post1241916

Last edited by whunter; 02-11-2011 at 05:16 PM. Reason: repair link
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2006, 12:08 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
I haven't heard of engine wiring harness problems in that model 124 but that's a typical cause of code problems. Are there signs of electrical work done in the engine bay? Are there signs of rodents taking up residence under the hood now or in the past? Was the car parked for an extended period? Is the EDS controller in the battery area? Maybe the harness was exposed to a leaky battery.

Sixto
... stay tuned

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page