Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2007, 06:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Angry A.C. question 85300sd

Can any one out there tell me if the blower and A.C. has a hidden fuse somewhere. My fuses in the box are ok. The mono valve is working. My blower will not come on. I can make it run when I apply 12 volts direct. The air condition has been working fine until now. Help Please.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2007, 06:47 PM
ForcedInduction
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Make sure the resistor block is plugged in. It's the toaster looking device by the coolant bottle.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2007, 08:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Could not find

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack avant View Post
Can any one out there tell me if the blower and A.C. has a hidden fuse somewhere. My fuses in the box are ok. The mono valve is working. My blower will not come on. I can make it run when I apply 12 volts direct. The air condition has been working fine until now. Help Please.
I looked for the resistor, but could not locate it. Does any one know exact location??? Desperate. Help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:52 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
The lack of a functioning blower on an SD can be one of many things:

1) CCU
2) Blower
3) Temperature controller
4) Resistors
5) Coolant temperature switch
6) Fuse


If you've replaced the fuse and have applied 12V to the blower, you've eliminated items 2 and 6.

If you ground the wire that sits near the thermostat housing, you can see if this will start the blower........or not.

Then, set the CCU on defrost. See if you get anything out of the blower at that setting.

I had a similar issue. Took awhile to finally track it back to the CCU itself. It could also be the resistors, but, usually the blower will work on the high speed setting as the resistor are not used.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:03 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
I'll add one thing that kills blower operation, defective ignition switches. Usually a little wiggling of the key will confirm it.

The most common causes though are fuses and the blower itself.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Thanks Steve..........I forgot about that ignition switch.........those electrical contacts get old after 24 years in service.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2007, 11:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Exclamation Still need help

How do I check the CCU, and I still cannot find the resistors mentioned. I hate to be a bother but I need some more help. Comments and suggestions welcome!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:10 AM
vstech's Avatar
DD MOD, HVAC,MCP,Mac,GMAC
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 26,180
the resister on 84 and 85 MB's are on the passanger's fenderwell, a metal box with wire coils in it. open on one side, and has holes in the top and side I think... open your hood, and look there.
John.
__________________
John HAUL AWAY, OR CRUSHED CARS!!! HELP ME keep the cars out of the crusher! A/C Thread
"as I ride with my a/c on... I have fond memories of sweaty oily saturdays and spewing R12 into the air. THANKS for all you do!

My drivers:
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5-5SPEED!!!

1987 300TD
1987 300TD
1994GMC 2500 6.5Turbo truck... I had to put the ladder somewhere!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:13 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Do you have your wiring diagram in hand? if not what would you do with any info someone might give you. The ETM has pictures of the locations of all the parts in the circuit.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Angry Service manual

I have a service manual, but it is hard for me to understand. I am still in the learning stage.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:30 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
You're getting into very detailed checks with a voltmeter and the wiring diagram for the vehicle. And you'd need to understand electrical schematics to get to the end of this road.

But, did you check to see if the blower functions on full defrost?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Angry Defrost Cycle

The blower will not work on the defrost cycle. The only way I can get the blower to run is to run 12 volts straight to the motor. Thanks for your help and suggestions. Any more suggestions are more than welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:40 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack avant View Post
The blower will not work on the defrost cycle. The only way I can get the blower to run is to run 12 volts straight to the motor. Thanks for your help and suggestions. Any more suggestions are more than welcome.
Did you ground the wire at the thermostat housing to see if the blower will work in this condition?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2007, 02:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Angry Blower problems

Yes, there are two switches at or near the thermostat, and I tried both of them. Still no luck yet. Thanks Jack
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2007, 03:06 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack avant View Post
Yes, there are two switches at or near the thermostat, and I tried both of them. Still no luck yet. Thanks Jack
The problem is likely the CCU or the temperature control unit. When the SD suffered the same issues, I replaced the CCU and the blower properly ran again.

There may be some detailed procedures to test the temperature control unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page