Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2008, 11:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
The Official Audiovox CCS-100 Aftermarket Cruise Control Install Thread

Here's my little contribution to this site. I've found a lot of useful information here even before I purchased my MB so I thought I'd make an effort to give something back. I'm posting this to show how I installed the Audiovox CCS-100 vacuum cruise control system
on my '83 300SD.

Anyone interested in cruise control that holds speed as well as OE for about $130, read on. If you just have to keep it all original, there's quite a few places that will sell you ANOTHER rebuilt amp or servo for much more money.

AUTHOR'S NOTE: I assume no responsibility for anyone injuring themselves or others while following these instructions. Use jackstands or sturdy ramps while under your car, wear your safety goggles, be careful with sharp tools, don't touch the wrong end of the soldering iron, don't eat the silica gel packet, etc. Your results may vary. Maybe this system only works on Lapis Blue '83 SD's, and I was just lucky. All I can tell you is that mine has been working great for about 6000 miles now.

I got my system from this guy's EBAY store...

http://stores.ebay.com/audiovideo4me_W0QQcolZ4QQdirZ1QQfsubZQ2d33QQftidZ2QQtZkm

I understand that this kit is available from most chain auto parts stores (Autozone, Advance, O'reilly's, etc... whatever you have in your part of the country.) Make sure you get the vacuum canister. You may have trouble ordering this from the local store, as it seems to be on backorder everywhere... but the Ebay guy has some in stock.

Start out by selecting a mounting place for the servo. I put mine on the left inner fender. Just make sure the cable going to the throttle linkage isn't curved too tight or against anything that will melt it or rub through the housing. You may have to drill a few holes to mount it.

Now you need to hook the cable up to your throttle linkage. I already removed the useless leaky EGR controlling valves from the top of the valve cover, and this simplifies things. You can also remove the linkage that goes from the stock CC servo to the throttle arm. This would have been in the way for my mounting bracket.


I used one of the steel brackets from the kit, and modified it a little. I had to cut a little off, bend it, and I think I drilled a few of the holes out a little so it would fit on the stock bolts on the valve cover. Next, install the bracket on the valve cover, then install the cable on the bracket according to the direction book. I attached the chain and connector to the throttle arm that the stock CC pulled on. I was planning on drilling out the stock ball stud and using a nut and bolt, but I was too lazy. I just put the ring around the ball stud, and snapped on one of the stock ball joint socket thingies to keep it from coming off. It looks awful, but it works just fine. Now adjust the cable so that there is no slack.


While you are under the hood, you might as well mount the vacuum canister. I put mine right next to the servo on the inner fender. You can tap into your vacuum line above the IP where the stock useless leaky EGR crap was originally hooked up. If yours is already disconnected, there is probably a vacuum 'Y' with a golf tee stuck in it. Run a line from the 'Y' to the vacuum canister, then run a short line from the vacuum canister to the servo.

Plug the wiring harness into the servo and set the dip switches at this time. The instruction manual details this but I'll tell you how I set mine to get you started. 1-off 2-off 3-on 4-off 5-on 6-off 7-off. Now separate the twisted gray/black wires and set them aside. Separate the other black wire and attach this to a good ground. I put a ring terminal on it and put it on one of my servo mounting screws. Bundle up the blue wire and tuck it away, or cut it off, or remove it from the plug altogether. It's for the tach signal, and despite what the manual says, the system works just fine without it. Now, you should have red, brown,purple green, and yellow wires left. you need to route these through the firewall(s) (2 on a 126) into the cabin under the dash area. I bundled these into the included plastic wire loom and routed them like this...




I cut slits in the existing grommets to run the new wires through. Make sure you use lots of wire ties to keep your wiring and vacuum hose out of harm's way!

Now its time to get under the car! I read a post on here where a guy was able to get the stock vehicle speed sensor to work with another aftermarket cruise system, but I could not get this to work. I used the magnet kit that came with the CCS-100. On the 126 there is an existing hole in the floorpan at the edge of the driveshaft hump, just a few inches behind the transmission crossmember. You want to attach the magnet to the driveshaft according to the directions where it will line up with this hole. Then mount the sensor to the included bracket and screw it to the floorpan with a big sheetmetal screw that will bite into the existing hole. Then just bent the bracket so it will be within 1/4" of the magnet when the driveshaft turns. Now run the grey/black twisted wires down to this area and plug 'em in to the sensor. Don't forget the wire ties!

OK almost done! Now, remove the panel from under the dash on the drivers side. Unplug the long black plug from your stock cruise amp. All your remaining wires will connect to this plug. You can do this a few different ways. I took a junk cruise amp, took it apart, and unsoldered the plastic end piece that fits into the plug.

Then I soldered the new wires to this

, and simply plugged it in. This is how you need top hook it up...

red wire - pin 1 on cruise amp plug - this is 12 volt power

brown wire - pin 3 - this one turns the system off when you move the control stalk to the (duh...) off position.

purple wire - pin 8 - this one is 12 volts when you apply the brakes... lots easier to hook up here than tapping into the brake light switch on the pedal!

green wire - pin 2 - this is for set/coast. Hooking it to pin 2 will make set/coast the down position on the control stalk. This made the most sense to me.

yellow wire - pin 4 - this one is for resume/accelerate. This is activated by pushing the stalk up.

NEW OPTION... Install a jumper wire between pin 6 and 8. Now the 'resume' position on the control stalk will disengage the cruise control WITHOUT turning it off, just the same as tapping the brake pedal. Now you can disengage to coast, and just flick the stalk up to resume all without touching the pedals. (Moving the stalk to 'off' to disengage will require you to manually accelerate, and set your speed again.)

Thats it! Go out and test drive in a safe low traffic area. Get up above 30 mph or so, and push the stalk down to set. Enjoy your newly working cruise control!

__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.

Last edited by MaydayMike; 05-24-2008 at 10:16 PM. Reason: Additional information
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2008, 12:06 AM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,336
Thats awesome!! Thanks for the write up! I have had one of these kits on the shelf for over a year but am just now getting around to installing it (will be on freeway a lot this summer)....I might try to get it installed next weekend if I have time. I can't wait to have cruise again!
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 92k - mine - (OC-97,400)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 18k - wifes (OC-25k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 161k - mine (OC-165,000)
'01 E320 - 181k - dad's (OC-182,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 136k - dad's (OC-139,500)
'01 SL500 - 58k - dad's (OC-59,000)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 83k - Brothers (OC-88,000)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2008, 12:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 622
Wow, great instructions! I'll be trying this soon.

Pinouts the same for a W123 as W126 for the amp?
__________________
1983 Mercedes-Benz 240D
Automatic, A/C, Power Sunroof, Power Right Side Mirror
231K Miles FOR SALE MAKE OFFER
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2008, 12:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
Pinouts should be the same for a 123 that has the 14 pin amp and newer style electric servo cruise from the factory (newer than '81? someone will know!). I think the older vacuum system had 8 or 10 pins?
__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,248
I have put the CCS-100 in almost every vehicle I had that did not come with cruise control. It's a great unit and works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2008, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
bump... new info added
__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2008, 12:48 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Ghost of Diesels Past
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,217
do you think you could go through and put the IMG tags around the source so the photos show up in the post?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2008, 09:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
I can't seem to get the img code to work. All I should have to do is go into edit and replace '[url]' and the /url with img right? I've tried that and it doesn't work.
__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaydayMike View Post
Now its time to get under the car! I read a post on here where a guy was able to get the stock vehicle speed sensor to work with another aftermarket cruise system, but I could not get this to work. I used the magnet kit that came with the CCS-100.
I assume that was me (post 1, post 2). Were you getting no signal at all from your sensor wire?


Since I never included pics in the original post, here's a pic of my CC and the hookup to the throttle linkage (very similar to yours).
Attached Thumbnails
The Official Audiovox CCS-100 Install Thread-cc1.jpg   The Official Audiovox CCS-100 Install Thread-cc2.jpg  
__________________
'81 300TD Wagon 355k (Miss Diesel)
'83 300SD 180k
'84 500SEL 190k (Parting it out)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaydayMike View Post
I can't seem to get the img code to work. All I should have to do is go into edit and replace '[url]' and the /url with img right? I've tried that and it doesn't work.
You can't use the same link that you use to link to the page. You need to link directly to the image.

If you go to the page, you can right-click on the image and there should be an option to "copy image link" or "copy image url" or something to that effect. Copy that and paste it between the tags.

For example, your linkage picture is at: http://images22.fotki.com/v753/photos/1/1326842/6143410/cruiseinstall003-vi.jpg

And putting that between img tags gives us:

__________________
'81 300TD Wagon 355k (Miss Diesel)
'83 300SD 180k
'84 500SEL 190k (Parting it out)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
Never mind... I figured it out!
__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jasper,AL
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Wagon View Post
I assume that was me (post 1, post 2). Were you getting no signal at all from your sensor wire?
I must be getting some kind of signal from the original sensor wire, as my speedometer works fine... (126's are electronic) and my original cruise worked sometimes, but was not reliable. But the Audiovox unit did not work when I hooked the original sensor wire to the Vehicle Speed Sensor input.
__________________
Mike
1983 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 270K
1960 Ford F250 62K
1990 Mazda Miata 156k

The thing is Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaydayMike View Post
I must be getting some kind of signal from the original sensor wire, as my speedometer works fine... (126's are electronic) and my original cruise worked sometimes, but was not reliable. But the Audiovox unit did not work when I hooked the original sensor wire to the Vehicle Speed Sensor input.
Perhaps you didn't have the right setting for pulses per mile? I don't know if 126's are also 8,000 PPM; if it were far enough off the cruise might not activate (thinking you're going too slow or insanely fast or something). But the magnet thing worked for you so I guess it's not something to worry about .

Funny thing about the electronic speedo... my 123 wagon also has one. I have yet to hear from anyone else who has an electric speedo in a 123, but apparently Mercedes did make a few.
__________________
'81 300TD Wagon 355k (Miss Diesel)
'83 300SD 180k
'84 500SEL 190k (Parting it out)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:39 PM
vstech's Avatar
DD MOD, HVAC,MCP,Mac,GMAC
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 26,389
... electronic speedo in a 123? I didn't think even the 124's had electronic speedo's...
__________________
John HAUL AWAY, OR CRUSHED CARS!!! HELP ME keep the cars out of the crusher! A/C Thread
"as I ride with my a/c on... I have fond memories of sweaty oily saturdays and spewing R12 into the air. THANKS for all you do!

My drivers:
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5-5SPEED!!!

1987 300TD
1987 300TD
1994GMC 2500 6.5Turbo truck... I had to put the ladder somewhere!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:58 PM
H-townbenzoboy's Avatar
Now Y2K Compliant
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstech View Post
... electronic speedo in a 123? I didn't think even the 124's had electronic speedo's...
That was only for the 1981 300TD turbodiesel.

__________________
Board Member of MBCA|Houston

81 MB 300SD, 82 MB 300D Turbo (sold), 04 Lincoln Town Car Ultimate

Sooner or later every car falls apart, ours does it later!
-German Narrator in a MB Promotion Film about the then brand new W123.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page