Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 216
DIY Keyless Entry Door Lock - W126 and W124

(This is a re-post of an earlier article. This one fixes a wiring error on the schematic, and offers some tips on the W124 model install as well.)

Here is how to install a keyless lock/unlock system for around $25 and in about one hour. I hunted through forum to find detailed instructions on how to do this on my model car, and only found bits and pieces, so here goes. This will only work on those cars that will lock and unlock all doors from the trunk (W124's later SD's, from what I understand). These cars have a vacuum pump either in the trunk (W126) or under the rear seat (W124) dedicated to the door lock system, as opposed to the W123's and older that use residual vacuum from the engine bay to lock and unlock doors. This makes this so easy because everything you need to do is at the air pump (no messing with the doors or actuators). Also, no messing with relays - some of the threads I read while doing research used relays and I found them to be unecessary with the unit I installed.

1) Purchase cheap unit from eBay. Mine came from China and was about $25. It is imperative that the unit have a signal delay for pneumatic operation. Search listing for work pneumatic, and if not there, don't buy. Do a search with "remote keyless pneumatic" as the words, and check off "include title and description" when doing your search. You will find some for as low as $15! Do NOT include the word Mercedes because these are generic units and will not list any compatibilities with any particular models. These are all Chinese units and the wiring appears to be the same on almost all of them.

2) Locate air pump in trunk for the W126. It sets next to spare tire and is easily accessible by removing a cover that is held in place with a couple of screws. On the W124, you will find the unit under the rear bench seat.

3) Remove the jumper on the wireless module for the pneumatic delay option to allow the 3.5 second hold that the pump will be looking for.

4) Unplug power from pump just to eliminate any chance of shorting something (it is the smaller plug with red and brown wires). You will need to splice the keyless unit into one of the wires (I did the green one which goes to the passenger door). You will also need to pick up power and ground signals which can come from the red (12V) and brown (ground) wires that feed power to the pump. Follow the schematic I show in the pic. This took me the longest as I could not locate a schematic anywhere that was a perfect match for what I needed.

Special note on the W124: You may find there are two wires of each color, so there will be two green wires. You will use one of the green wires, but only one works properly. You have a 50/50 chance of picking the correct one, so if things don't work, you will need to splice into the other one.

5) On the W126, I placed the keyless unit right on top of the rubberized pump holder, and underneath the trunk spare tire cover. It fits nicely in there, and you can secure it using some duct tape (or something more elegant). You can trim back all the wires in the unit that aren't needed and it makes for a pretty neat install. On the W124, there is room to place the module right next to the air pump.

6) Mine came with a blue flashing LED that flashes when the car is locked. I ran that wire up into my taillight, on the clear lens, and it looks really cool at night, and it lets you know things are locked up. Takes about 2 minutes. (I only did this on the W126 because I was already in the trunk.)

That's it. Of course, there are several wire connections you need to make using your favorite methods, but it is a pretty clean install.

Some tips:
-I tried to use some scotch connectors from Harbor Freight for the splicing. The concept is cool, but in practice I was not getting very good connections, and had to crimp down pretty hard on these to finally get them to make good contact and conduct properly. Soldering and heat shrink would probably be better.

-If you find things don't work, it might be a bad connection, and you just have to use a multimeter and start looking for continuity and proper ground and power voltage at the proper location on connectors. Took a little while to resolve my bad connections. Do it right the first time and it will save you time.

-Both units I rec'd had faulty wiring on the power wire and I had to cut and re-solder a wire at the fuse. This was a very strange coincidence to me. It was easily resolved, but points to the nuisance quality issues with a $15-$25 'made in china' unit. This is the only problem I had and once installed, things work great.

-The top three wires in the schematic are used for unlocking. The bottom three are for locking. The system requires a ground signal to lock, and 12V to unlock. The three wires merely route either a 12V signal or a ground signal to cause the pump to have pressure or suction.

-In theory, you could probably splice into the yellow wire (goes to trunk lock switch), or blue wire (goes to driver's door), but I used the green one.

-When you are done, you should still be able to use the key to lock/unlock all the doors, as long as that worked before installing the unit.

-On the W124, it is much tighter in that compartment under the seat, and is more difficult because of this.

Hope this helps someone out there, it would have saved me a couple of hours if I knew before what is in these instructions. Thanks to member locry for the idea to do this from this thread (Door Locks, Vacuum, and Ignorance, 300SD) and thanks to member ah-kay for assistance as well.
Attached Thumbnails
DIY Keyless Entry Door Lock - W126 and W124-key1.jpg   DIY Keyless Entry Door Lock - W126 and W124-key2.jpg   DIY Keyless Entry Door Lock - W126 and W124-125526.jpg  
__________________
Treiberg's Collection: 1981 240D, 1985 300SD, 1992 300E, 1997 E300D, 2005 C230K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2010, 04:14 AM
mplafleur's Avatar
User Friendly
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lathrup Village, Michigan
Posts: 2,939
Sounds great.

I designed a relay board for mine that uses a Ford remote keyless entry module from an Explorer. That output has to pull down (or up if unlocking) that line for a couple of seconds for the locks to operate properly.
__________________
Michael LaFleur

'05 E320 CDI - 86,000 miles
'86 300SDL - 360,000 miles
'85 300SD - 150,000 miles (sold)
'89 190D - 120,000 miles (sold)
'85 300SD - 317,000 miles (sold)
'98 ML320 - 270,000 miles (sold)
'75 300D - 170,000 miles (sold)
'83 Harley Davidson FLTC (Broken again) :-(
'61 Plymouth Valiant - 60k mikes
2004 Papillon (Oliver)
2005 Tzitzu (Griffon)
2009 Welsh Corgi (Buba)

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:18 AM
vwbuge's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,101
Installed mine last night. With the directions it took less than an hour. Thanks!
__________________
'85 300SD (formerly california emissions)
'02 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
'04 VW Passat W8 (6spd manual) SOLD!!
'68/'69 Empi Imp body on '65 Beetle pan
'93 Ducati 900 SS
'79 Kawasaki KZ 650
'86 Kawasaki KX 250
'72 Triumph T100R
'70 Yamaha R5 Rat Bike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2010, 12:35 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,759
Does this work with or around the factory security system?

Sixto
87 300D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2010, 01:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 184
I weent to Ebay and searched on "remote keyless pneumatic" and could not find what is needed. Is there a particular vendor that has these divices? I would love to do this my 84 300SD.
__________________
Gary
OBK #37
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2010, 02:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,916
Make sure the answer is YES to either of the following questions. I meant lock/unlock everything. Otherwise you will need an actuator inside the driver's door, that would be more work.

1) Can you central lock/unlock from the trunk with key?
2) Can you central lock/unlock from the passenger door with key?

3) Buy a keyless remote from eBay which supports pneumatic operation. Most do. Ask the seller. Most seller put the 'pneumatic' keyword in the description, not in the heading. Try this.

e.g.

http://cgi.ebay.com/2-FOB-Universal-Car-Keyless-Entry-Remote-System-Kit-/250597424095?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a58c53bdf

This install is keyless entry. The existing MBZ alarm function is NOT affected.
__________________
Not MBZ nor A/C trained professional but a die-hard DIY and green engineer. Use the info at your own peril. Picked up 2 Infractions because of disagreements. NOW reversed.

W124 Keyless remote, PM for details. http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/mercedes-used-parts-sale-wanted/334620-fs-w124-chasis-keyless-remote-%2450-shipped.html

2 x 87 300SDL
1 x 87 300D
1 x 87 300TDT wagon
1 x 83 300D
1 x 84 190D ( 5 sp ) - All R134 converted + keyless entry.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2010, 03:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 184
Hello Ah-Kay,
On my 1984 300SD the drivers door handle has a wire going to the key mechanism, but the trunk lock and the passengers door lock do not. By this I mean if I put the key into the drivers door and unlock it Everything unlocks, all the doors, trunk, and fuel filler. If I unlock the passengers door or the trunk with the key nothing else unlocks.

Will this keyless system work with my vehicle? The vacume/pressure pump is in the spare tire well.
__________________
Gary
OBK #37
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2010, 03:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird View Post
Hello Ah-Kay,
On my 1984 300SD the drivers door handle has a wire going to the key mechanism, but the trunk lock and the passengers door lock do not. By this I mean if I put the key into the drivers door and unlock it Everything unlocks, all the doors, trunk, and fuel filler. If I unlock the passengers door or the trunk with the key nothing else unlocks.

Will this keyless system work with my vehicle? The vacume/pressure pump is in the spare tire well.
If you cannot lock/unlock from trunk or passenger side door then you are out of luck. You do not have vacuum line goes to the driver door. You need an EXTRA actuator. It will be much more difficult to install. It is PITA to install unless you are very handy. You need to install an actuator to actuate the door plunger to make it do up/down, which in turn makes the wiring contact.

The unit from eBay will work but you do not wire it up in pneumatic configuration. It will work only after you install the actuator, unfortunately.

Good luck.
__________________
Not MBZ nor A/C trained professional but a die-hard DIY and green engineer. Use the info at your own peril. Picked up 2 Infractions because of disagreements. NOW reversed.

W124 Keyless remote, PM for details. http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/mercedes-used-parts-sale-wanted/334620-fs-w124-chasis-keyless-remote-%2450-shipped.html

2 x 87 300SDL
1 x 87 300D
1 x 87 300TDT wagon
1 x 83 300D
1 x 84 190D ( 5 sp ) - All R134 converted + keyless entry.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:39 PM
scottmcphee's Avatar
1987 w124 300D
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 1,539
You can do this faster and cheaper on a w124. I bought a 2-channel momentary output remote pair and installed the receiver in my trunk. Tapped into the three wires going to the trunk latch, to get + and - for the receiver power, and one line controls lock and unlock. Grounding the wire (via output relay) locks, and providing a +12 to the wire (via the other output relay) unlocks. (I may have confused which is which.. but you get the idea).

Key still works everywhere as it should.

Don't care about the alarm since I've disconnected that, but I imagine this mod would work just fine. It emulates un/locking the whole vehicle from the trunk using a key. So if this key action would normally un/arm the factory alarm, then this model probably does the same using remote.

I haven't used a key in the door tumbler since...

The remote even has a lock / unlock symbols and is keychain style, and get this.. has metal and a slider cover... it's meant for vehicle application you can tell.

ebay... $10 GO CHINA!

working strong 2 years later
__________________
Cheers!
Scott McPhee

1987 300D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2010, 11:03 PM
Sev's Avatar
Sev Sev is offline
Infractions: 99/99 (999)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,441
i wouldn't go the cheap method. use an mb keyless entry system meant for our cars:

http://www.mbkeylessentry.com/1.html

i've been running with it for two years now and it works perfectly (of course the guy who owns the website installed it himself on my car)
__________________
i know Jim Smith. i don't actually know him, but I know of him
http://imageshack.com/a/img923/6201/RQ1H6A.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-14-2010, 11:07 PM
scottmcphee's Avatar
1987 w124 300D
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
i wouldn't go the cheap method. use an mb keyless entry system meant for our cars:

http://www.mbkeylessentry.com/1.html

i've been running with it for two years now and it works perfectly (of course the guy who owns the website installed it himself on my car)

You're welcome to spend eleven times the money for essentially the same function! Just pointing out the economical option for those so inclined.

Toodles!
__________________
Cheers!
Scott McPhee

1987 300D
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-15-2010, 12:00 AM
Bens lover's Avatar
Benz Whisperer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Surfers Paradise,Australia.WHERE THE SHARKS COME OUT TO PLAY! And Vancouver Canada where it rains everyday!
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
i wouldn't go the cheap method. use an mb keyless entry system meant for our cars:

http://www.mbkeylessentry.com/1.html

i've been running with it for two years now and it works perfectly (of course the guy who owns the website installed it himself on my car)
Very interesting indeed.
Might order one for the 300 SDL 1986.
Thanks SEV
__________________
Cheers
Big Dan MEng

Visit my Blog..
http://allformercedesbenz.blogspot.com/

www.benzguy.piczo.com



If at first you don't succeed,
Skydiving is not for you.

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IS NO
MATCH FOR NATURAL STUPIDITY.

If anything can go wrong,fix it!
The hell with Murphy!!

I never think of the future.It comes soon enough.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-15-2010, 09:55 AM
92 300D 2.5L OBK #59
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,108
On the system I installed I needed to tie into the wire that goes to the truck. Works great.
__________________
92 300D 2.5L OM602 OBK #59
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-15-2010, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwbuge View Post
Installed mine last night. With the directions it took less than an hour. Thanks!
You're welcome! Glad to hear of it.
__________________
Treiberg's Collection: 1981 240D, 1985 300SD, 1992 300E, 1997 E300D, 2005 C230K
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:41 AM
sptt's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 691
help! I screwed something up! I bought the exact same unit you show in the pictures. No problem getting power and having the module click on and off. Once I tried to get the lock and unlock hooked up (I have a W124 under the seat with one green, one blue, and two yellow wires) the module stopped functioning all together (pump and locks still work fine). Before I tried lock and unlock wires, it was clicking on and off with the blue light flashing then on one attempt it just stopped working. Should I have spliced all three top wires together or just one (which is what I did) and bottoms? Can the unit be reset? There is a button on it but no directions on how. Fuse did not blow so I'm thinking I shorted something out internally

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page