Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2004, 03:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 36
Can this be possible??

Hi All,

I was having some trouble for the last few days about the ABS light on and the Tacho not working. I am so suprised that, the problem has been resolved by me changing tires?!!! this does not make sense to me??

My 2 left tire where real bad, the metal was out!! it needed an alignment BIG time, anyways, I went ahead and got the tires changed and BOOM, the ABS light went off and the Tacho started working??? Any link??

Thanks
cifp48
1987 300 SDL 96k miles
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2004, 06:46 AM
wbain5280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Northern Va.
Posts: 3,386
The abs sensors were detecting different speeds on either side of the car and that was causing your ABS light to turn on. Can't comment on the tach.
__________________
Regards

Warren

Currently 1965 220Sb, 2002 FORD Crown Vic Police Interceptor

Had 1965 220SEb, 1967 230S, 280SE 4.5, 300SE (W126), 420SEL

ENTER > = (HP RPN)

Not part of the in-crowd since 1952.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 1,255
this is just a guess, if a particular light goes on and if it shares some pathways with a second light or gauge the resistance from the first light being on can cause the second light or gauge to light-up or act funny.

This can happen with the low windshield washer light and coolant light on the 202 C230
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 36
Thanks for your message

Makes sense!!

Now one last problem I have is that the A/C does not blow cold air, as a matter of fact, even when I put it on heater, it does not blow hot air? it just blows regualr air.

What I did this weekend was, I bought me some R12 to 134 retrofit conversion from Autozone, drained the R12 and when I came to put the new valves, they would not it?!!!

So, now I have a system with no freon at all, so I cant even check anything.

Any suggestions on the conversions kit or other comments??

Thanks alot
Mehdi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2004, 02:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 36
The problem has started again???

Someone suggested that I should clean the sensors?? this intermittant problem is usually caused by loose connection and most probably not good contact on the ABS sensors??

Any suggestions??

Thanks
Mehdi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page