Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:51 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Temp. Sensor

Does anyone know how or know where I can get some info, maybe a DIY, on how to install the ambient temperature sensor on a 95 e320?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:46 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
have you purchased a new one?

The ambient temp sensor is behind the licence place attached with one 8 or 10 mm retaining bolt. From there it snakes along the driver's fender to just under the fuse box (4 or 6 screws holding the fuse holders and assembly down). There is a connector under there that you'll have to disconnect and reconnect the new one.

On a side note, you have other options. The ambient temperature sensor is simply a 3300 ohm thermistor (resistor designed to maximize resistance changes with temperature) You can order these from www.mouser.com or www.digikey.com for less than $1 ea. Then you can simply snip the end of the OE temp sensor and attach the new thermistor. I drilled the reminants of the old thermistor out of the metal enclosure, soldered the new one onto the two wires, dumped some epoxy in the freshly cleaned out enclosure and stuck the new thermistor in that. Then bolted it back up under the license plate. Good as new.

Also, if you want to test to see if the temp sensor is really the fault, remove the fuse box (take the cover off, then take the ~6 screws out and lift it up) find the ambient temp sensor connector (following the wires from the sensor) and unplug the sensor. Use a 3.3k or 3k ohm resistor across the two pin connector and the gauge should read ~70F or so.

Good luck!
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:04 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
thanks a lot for the information! but what was everyone talking about that you needed to remove the instrument cluster and all that?

Last edited by Battlecat714; 04-19-2006 at 09:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2006, 11:10 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
I believe on some models - perhaps the w201 (190e) the temp sensor was attached directly to the display behind the insturment cluster.
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2006, 11:58 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiier3_9
I believe on some models - perhaps the w201 (190e) the temp sensor was attached directly to the display behind the insturment cluster.
Ok now I have a problem. The head of the temp. sensor is too big to go through the little channel it has underneath the fusebox...Do I cut the sensor in half and re-connect it? Or do I cut the hole a little bigger?

Last edited by Battlecat714; 04-20-2006 at 05:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battlecat714
Ok now I have a problem. The head of the temp. sensor is too big to go through the little channel it has underneath the fusebox...Do I cut the sensor in half and re-connect it? Or do I cut the hole a little bigger?
There's a third choice - find out what's going on. Wrong part, wrong installation method - that shouldn't be.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:58 AM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
I didn't end up removing mine, but I thought with the fuse box taken off that the connector/wires were easily removed. Take a pic if you can and post it here, that would help us know what you're referring to.

I agree with the above poster, I would disconnect it and test the display with a resistor to make sure that it was reading correctly. What were the symptoms that led you to decide the sensor was bad?
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:06 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiier3_9
I didn't end up removing mine, but I thought with the fuse box taken off that the connector/wires were easily removed. Take a pic if you can and post it here, that would help us know what you're referring to.

I agree with the above poster, I would disconnect it and test the display with a resistor to make sure that it was reading correctly. What were the symptoms that led you to decide the sensor was bad?
I took it to the dealer and they said the temp. sensor was bad. So last night, I removed the old sensor and connected the new (I didn't solder the wires to the heads), the temperature reading was still the same, still wrong. Now i'm thinking its the wire/connector that leads down into the cluster underneath all those wires. The sensor was brand new...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:27 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
What is the temperature reading? Just out of curiousity. If the sensor didn't fix the problem its likely caused by a bad display. I'd suggest eBay as a good source for this part.
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:55 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiier3_9
What is the temperature reading? Just out of curiousity. If the sensor didn't fix the problem its likely caused by a bad display. I'd suggest eBay as a good source for this part.
The temperature display reading is off by like 20 degress. i.e. It's like 80 outside and it reads 60...? Wait what if the sensor and the display were ok? what about that female connector/wire that leads down under all those wires in the fuse box and possibly to the cluster? Or could it be the cluster itself?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:12 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
I would definitely test it with a resistor. Go to radio shack or other electronics parts store and get a 3k or 3.3k ohm resistor. Unplug the sensor and put the resistor across the two leads. Turn the key to the on position and look at the gauge. It should read ~70F (25C) constantly (no fluctuations)

If it does, then the sensor is the problem. If it doesn't (and still reads +20 degrees) then its likely the display/electronics contained there.

BTW: The correc thermistor is:

negative temperature coefficient (NTC) thermistor of 3k at 25C
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:32 AM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Is this one good? http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062326&cp=&origkw=resistor&kw=resistor&parentPage=search
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-2006, 11:17 AM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
That would be a good one to test the display with. Yes.
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:17 PM
Battlecat714's Avatar
NEEZ FTW!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Ok, I tested it and it read 53 degrees fahrenheit...You said that it had to be around 70, which now tells me that the new temp. sensor is fine, and the problem must be the display in the cluster or that connector/wire that goes to the cluster.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-04-2008, 05:48 PM
mayr71's Avatar
95 E320 Wagon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 18
e320 95 temp sensor

I just tried finding that temperature sensor connnector so that I can test to see whether the temp sensor is bad.

I removed the 6 screws of the fuse box and tried to locate the temperature sensor connector. needless to say there are so many wires and I wasn't able to trace the sensor wire from the temp sensor the fuse box. Therefore couldn't locate the actual connector for the t-sensor. Any further guidance would be appreciated.

Is connector on the right or left of the fuse box. Side or underneath?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page