Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
Installed Keyless entry but now alarm goes of?

Hi, I finally managed to install my keyless entry.. but now when i unlock the car and open a door.. the alarm goes off. The alarm does not go off when I lock.. only when I unlock

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:40 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,794
What car?

Most 80s models have alarm switches in the door lock mechanisms. You might have to link these switches to the remote unlock command so unlocking the car also disables the alarm. There's info in the archives on how to work around the alarm when installing RKE.

Sixto
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
Yea my keyless entry does not disarm the alarm... I searched the archives of the forums and could not find anything. My car is an 87 260e and it does not have the convenience control module like the car in the DIY u guys have on this site. How do I get my keyless unit to trigger a pulse to disarm the alarm when I use the remote?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:44 AM
carson356
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwayneseah
Yea my keyless entry does not disarm the alarm... I searched the archives of the forums and could not find anything. My car is an 87 260e and it does not have the convenience control module like the car in the DIY u guys have on this site. How do I get my keyless unit to trigger a pulse to disarm the alarm when I use the remote?
is your key less entry an actuator mounted in the drivers door? if so that is why the alarm is going off, it is the same as if some one smashes the window and reaches in and opens the door, what you need to do is install it in such a way that it activates the door locking pump and gives it a command to unlock the car.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:33 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,794
Try this -

Keyless entry w/ Vac door locks?

Sixto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:39 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,794
This is what you really want -

I did it! Keyless entry for your 124 made easy (and less than $100)!

http://www.peachparts.com/Wikka/W124Keyless

You can't bypass the relays!

Sixto
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
no my keyless entry is not an actuator.. it is a real system that is made for audis and mercedes.. it is also made for the w124. It hooks onto the vacuum pump and the remote controls it. I can lock and unlock through the vacuum pump using my remote. HOWEVER the locking pumps and alarms are different mechanisms... Unlocking the car with the pump does not disarm the alarm... the key however triggers both the mechanism.. it sends a pulse to the alarm to disarm it and also send a signal to the vacuum pump to unlock the car... as of right now i have only managed to hook up my remote entry into the vacuum pump... how do i make my keyless entry unit send a signal to disarm and arm the alarm?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
this is the kind of keyless entry i am using...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:35 PM
2phast's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 613
Actually, since I have already solved this issue, you want

http://500e.2phast.com

Follow my guide on how to enable/disable the factory alarm.
__________________
1993 500E
http://2phast.com/500e/500e-sig.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
my relays are inside the keyless entry unit.. so it is not as easy for me to follow ur guide, 2phast..
i only see the wires coming out of my keyless entry unit..
OKAY say.. i was able to find the alarm disarm and arm wires...
since i do not see my relays.. wat wires do i have to hook the arm and disarm wires to?

i cut my trunk wire and i am using that to trigger the lock and unlock.. my GREEN wire hooks up to the trunk wire going to the vacuum.. and i have a GREY wire hooked up to the other end of the trunk wire which goes to my trunk..

would i hook up the ARM wire to the my GREEN wire and the DISARM wire to my GREY to the disarm wire?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:29 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,794
The experts are involved now so I'll lay back. I think the point is that you need external relays even if your RKE unit has internal relays because internal relays cannot be easily configured to do what it takes to arm/disarm the alarm.

Sixto
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
first of all.. can someone tell me where the alarm is located in a 97 260e?
i can start by finding it and locating the arm/disarm wires.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:02 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,794
I believe the alarm controller is under the panel ahead of the passenger footwell. I'm pretty sure, though, that you don't have to get into that area to wire your RKE to work with the alarm. Check mb.braingears.com for a wiring diagram. This link might work -

http://mb.braingears.com/124_DISC1/Program/ETM/ETM.pdf

It's an 80MB file so be patient.

Sixto
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
looked through that pdf.. and i think i am now more confused haha
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:10 PM
2phast's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 613
Sixto is correct, even though the unit has relays, they are not configurable for the MB type of lock/unlock that you need. So you can configure the internals for a simple lock/unlock trigger and then wire up a couple of external relays according to my diagram. If you need to tap into your factory alarm, use my other relay diagram to acclomplish that.

__________________
1993 500E
http://2phast.com/500e/500e-sig.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page