Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2006, 05:45 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
1989 190E 2.6 Tune-up...now it will not run.

HELP!!!!
Ok, I am super desperate here. Here is what I have accomplished, besides killing my poor baby! I changed her wires, pluggies, her cap, her button, put everything back on like I had taken it off...
Cruel Irony: My mother had this car new and never gave it a tune up...I got the car, I give it a tune up upon hearing the "i-did-not-give-the-car-a-tune up-ever", now...she starts, but will not turn all the way over...it is as if she is misfiring
I checked my routing...1-5-3-6-2-4...got that right...stand in front of car chuck in wires...too easy. Ok..I go back to check the button and the rotor, looking for a reason to curse someone out...nothing...all matched (by the way, my mother did not lie...all the pieces I pulled out, even the plugs were OEM!!!) I took off the air filter house, got in the car to crank her, looked at that big beautiful butterly...catch flames and backfire every time I put my foot in her... (I know this is an automatic with fuel injection ports...but sometimes it feels good...)
So I figured it cold be an array of things...cat convert, c s valve, that relay that costs an arm and a leg, ovpr...which I have no earthly idea where it is located, and my car does NOT take atc's. Shoot, I would go insane enough to even say it's the timing chain...and that would suck because I do not know the time marks on the engine...
Can anyone help me...like before my husband gets home...why you ask, because I've been driving his 66Shelby...he ain't gonna be happy...

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2006, 06:12 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
How does it "start but not turn all the way over"

My guess is you've got a spark plug or two that doesn't have the plug wire properly attached.

What kind of plugs did you use by the way?
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:13 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Let's see...Bosch plats...gapped at .032. Bosch Wireset as well... Yeah, a Lady can gap 'em, lick 'em, and stick 'em right too Also, from being around wrench turners all my life and being in the military, I know that you must hear a 'pop' or a faint 'click' to ensure the wires are snug. No I did not cross thread the plugs...I would have burst the pluggie or no combustion would have occurred to complete the 'spark'...
Now for the start and will not turn all the way over...it will not stay 'lit.' (this is going to sound real bad but if you got your bottom bursted you'll get it) If you have ever had your behind beaten by your mom or pops till you catch your breath for dear life, then you know that the engine is cranking like the child is crying (engine starts), but is crying at such intensity that it can not get it out (will not turn over). Basically in a nutshell...I can not drive my car and if my husband checks the odometer on his 66 he is going to flip...by the by can you Mr. Shelby, and ask him to turn this odometer back for me...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:21 PM
Ta ra ra boom de ay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokemihirotsu
Let's see...Bosch plats...gapped at .032...
I think skiier3_9 wants to know if the plugs are "R" type resistor plugs and the "Bosch wires?" are also OEM Resistor wires... this has been known running problem for Benzes and If your plugs are "R" type then you should get them out and replace with (90 cent) Bosch copper non resistor D9 or DC9... D8, DC8, or D7, DC7 as per your manual, just on principal before you continue the diagnosis
__________________
-Marty

1986 300E 220,000 miles+ transmission impossible
(Now waiting under a bridge in order to become one)

Reading your M103 duty cycle:
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831799-post13.html
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831807-post14.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 474
Everybody will whine about the platinum plugs but I would check the firing order again first. Cylinder #1 is at the front of the engine. The firing order is written on the black plastic plug wire cover on the valve cover and should be 153624 with the number 1 wire being located at the 1 o'clock position on the distributor cap as viewed from the front of the vehicle. If the engine ran fine before you "serviced' it you must have cross wired the plugs. Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:43 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Uh-oh...I've got plats in there... I do not have the original book either...nothing super expensive, just basic gappable PLATINUM tipped pluggies...okay, I comprehend you both, and I actually did not know that, but when I read what Mr. Ski wrote, I figured I may need to try the new wires with the old spark plugs...same result...now I am thinking the sickest thing in the world...starting all over again from scratch...Lord, somebody in here please help me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:43 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
^^ I totally agree - I wouldn't go thinking of other reasons the car isn't running. Its obviously something you've done during the tune up - so double/triple check that the car is put together correctly.

I doubt having the R (resistor) plugs in there would cause it to run this badly - I know others have had problems, but not immediate and catestrophic problems like this.
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:55 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Tell you all what...I am going to do just that...I am going to flounce my feminine-happy-go-lucky-disgruntled-disabled-overly proud- 'back-boned' styled-Veteran of the finest Army in the World, back under her skirt, and take a real good look at the wires and plugs and put to good use all of your suggestions before I go begging for timing marks. Hopefully, when I get back I can tell you all how well I was 'snatching' gears and doing what I like to do best...Hunting Ponies...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:02 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
By the way...I have all OEM...everything (distro housing cover, yadda, yadda, yadda) I mean everything has original numbers on them...except the wires and the plugs...my luck...off to the pluggies!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:48 PM
Tokemihirotsu
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
NEW PROBLEM...NEW THREAD...THANK YOU FOR THE HELP

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page