Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2007, 05:57 PM
acr acr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Camshaft position sensor location

I can't pass the emission test in GA. Diagnostics indicates to replace camshaft position sensor. I purchased one at Auto Zone, but can't find the sensor on the 1997 E320 benz. Is there a website that can show a picture of the location?

Also, the hood no longer latches. Do the hood latches go bad often?


Last edited by acr; 01-27-2007 at 05:58 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2007, 09:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 106
You probably are more likely to get help if you post which engine number do you have. 112.xx?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2007, 10:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
The engine is a 104. The camshaft position sensor is on the front of the engine, driver's side, up high enough that it could sense the camshaft. It's seems unlikely that that would be the problem. And BTW it's not really a good idea to buy parts at Autozone. See "Buy Parts" on the top of the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2007, 01:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 106
>>It's seems unlikely that that would be the problem.<<

At first I thought "acr" might have meant the common crankshaft sensor problem but from what I have read that doesn't usually give you a CEL. The same source said the camshaft sensor is likely to produce the CEL when it goes bad. In GA, nobody can pass the emissions test if a CEL light is on, so the problem may not be emissions related - just the general fact there is a CEL.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2007, 09:29 AM
acr acr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Camshaft position sensor/hood latches 97 e320

The diagnostic codes are:

PO 341: The camshaft position sensor signal is monitored for errors.

Possible solutions
- Cam sensor defective
- Check connector wiring to sensor
- Engine mechanical condition timing belt/chain out of time.

AND

PO 410: Air injection system is monitored for faults

Possible solutions
- Circuit relay defective or fuse open
- Check connector wiring
- Air pump defective or hoses blocked

I thought I'd try to replace the sensor first and see if the second problem disappeared. Still, I can't find the sensor. Is it visible without removing any other parts? And is it easier to see from looking down into the hood or from the ground looking up?

I will use this site for future parts purchases. It is cheaper, and, I am assuming, more reliable parts.

Can you comment on the hood latches?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2007, 10:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
< <<

Dean told you the location..
More directions to it ??
It is the square connector to the right of the thermostat housing, on the top of the engine.

http://catalog.eautopartscatalog.com/mercedesshop/sophio/wizard.jsp?partner=mercedesshop&clientid=catalog.mercedesshop&baseurl=http://catalog.peachparts.com/&cookieid=1W70PZW4N2050MB5Z5&year=1997&make=MB&model=E-320-002&category=A&part=Camshaft+Position+Sensor

Unplug it and clean the terminals and reconnect it.
Then clear the codes and retry before changing the part. The other codes could be triggered from a poor connection on the cam sensor .
If you chose to clear by bat disconnect , have radio code handy first.
ARCHIEVES search for code clear...

Last edited by Arthur Dalton; 01-28-2007 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:53 AM
acr acr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
I have the new sensor but I can not find anything that looks remotely like it....I'm wondering if the old sensor is actually missing? A picture would be great. And thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
Do you even see the thermo housing????
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:36 PM
acr acr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
yes
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by acr View Post
I have the new sensor but I can not find anything that looks remotely like it....I'm wondering if the old sensor is actually missing? A picture would be great. And thanks for your help.
I'm wondering if Autozone sold you the wrong part. Should look like this, click on the picture to blow it up:

http://catalog.eautopartscatalog.com/mercedesshop/sophio/wizard.jsp?partner=mercedesshop&clientid=catalog.mercedesshop&baseurl=http://catalog.peachparts.com/&cookieid=1W50YN0EQ2050QYCJY&year=1997&make=MB&model=E-320-002&category=A&part=Camshaft+Position+Sensor
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
It's #47 on the diagram.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf File0001.PDF (13.8 KB, 300 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:49 PM
acr acr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
I think Auto Zone sold me the wrong part. Your picture is not too detailed, but it is good enough for me to question that AZ got it right. I see the part on the engine that looks more closely like that of the picture.

Thanks, I'll return the part and order the new one online.

Good call - AZ did order the right part, according to their computer. However, the sensor in my E320 is actually from a 98 E320. AZ said that sometimes late model years actually get the next year's parts, even though I bought the car new in April, 1997. I reset the codes by disconnecting the battery, and will allow the car to cycle again. The connector was clean- but I'm hoping that maybe it was just a bad connection.

Do you know a good benz mechanic in the south Atlanta area who doesn't want a mortgage on your house to work on it?

Last edited by acr; 01-28-2007 at 03:00 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-28-2007, 01:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
I recommend you check the sensor change procedure, as there is a factory gap between the sensor nose and the camgear segment. This has to be .4-.6mm gap and is adjusted with shims behind the sensor mounting. The shims come from 0.1 thru 1mm , in 1/10mm graduations to adjust the proper CPS gap.
If you look at the pdf. file Dean posted , what looks to be a gasket [item # 62] is actually the mounting/gap shim piece.
You may luck out without checking this gap measure, but I would certainly not recommend doing this change without measuring/adjusting the gap w/new sensor. If the gap is too small, you can wipe out the new sensor.
If too large, running problems [ and CPS codes] can occure...
{ you may even want to measure the old one before removal]

Last edited by Arthur Dalton; 01-28-2007 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-28-2007, 04:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by acr View Post
Your picture is not too detailed, but it is good enough for me to question that AZ got it right.

Good call - AZ did order the right part, according to their computer. However, the sensor in my E320 is actually from a 98 E320. AZ said that sometimes late model years actually get the next year's parts, even though I bought the car new in April, 1997.

If you click on the link, then click on the picture you will get a nice big blowup of the part - very easy to see what it looks like.

This early 1998 theory sounds a bit fishy - 1998 was entirely different engine, a 112 V6, with an entirely different style sensor. In any case if you buy here you'll get the right part.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-28-2007, 04:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
<>


Is your engine an in-line 6 or a V/6 ??

This is the sensor for the V6 engine,
They started in the 1998 model. This sensor will not fit the 104 engine
[ in-line 6-1997 model]

http://catalog.eautopartscatalog.com/mercedesshop/sophio/wizard.jsp?partner=mercedesshop&clientid=catalog.mercedesshop&baseurl=http://catalog.peachparts.com/&cookieid=1W70PZW4N20510EN9K&year=1998&make=MB&model=E-320-005&category=A&part=Camshaft+Position+Sensor


Last edited by Arthur Dalton; 01-28-2007 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page