Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2007, 12:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
1994 c220 speedo not working

Hey Guys,

New to the forums here so I hope you can help me. We just purchased a super clean 1994 c220 and everything is working on the instrument panel except the speedo. The mileage is stuck and not moving either. Is there an easy fix for this or do you think something else may be wrong? I have read posts here about resyncing things, but honestly I am not sure.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2007, 10:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Here are some pics of the instrument cluster, is there supposed to be a speedo cable? I didn't see one anywhere.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2007, 02:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 196
On my car that's a dead OVP......

yeah doesn't sound like it does it? Put that gauge back in, drive around and look out for stalling instances.... if it's stalling then the OVP is dead. Look for other problems only if you don't see stalling at all for a few weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2007, 02:55 AM
LCN LCN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
If someone has taken that cluster apart to remove dials before selling the car and replace with stock, they might have put the dials in too hard and they are not moving, as sometimes these can be pushed in too hard and it can't move against the back plate. Be very careful if you are going to open this cluster up and have a look, do not place it on a metal surface as there are magnets inside the cluster.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2007, 03:02 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 196
his odometer is not rolling either, so that rules out in mechanical failure in the gauges itself.

It's some electronic component that's not giving the dash the speed reading it needs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2007, 08:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Hey Guys,

Thanks a TON for the input. HK2000, I have a question. When yours went bad, was the fuse on the top blown? Because mine is not. I do not have any testing equiptment and really don't have an extra 2grand to spend at the dealership, any input would be fantastic.

Now HK2000 when you stay stalling are you meaning complete shut off? Because mine idles aroun 600 and when I come to a stop it stumbles a bit but does not die.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2007, 01:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 196
nope my top fuse was not blown. Pull out and check if it is made in Austria. If it is made in Austria you owe it to yourself to replace it anyway.

oh yes that syndrome you describe is like mine before I replaced the OVP... it does that randomly and then out of nowhere in the most embarrassing situation (such as chaffeuring your wife-to-be) it'll shut off
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2007, 03:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Thanks hk2000,

I ordered the part from the shop here and had it shipped Saturday delivery so I will let you know if it works out.

Thanks again. If anyone else has ideas keep posting until I try this
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Well the one I pulled out was not made in Austria, but it says it was made in Hungary? Does that sound right and was that one of the bad ones?

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2007, 11:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 196
The only good ones are made in Germany, where your fine engineered automobile was made.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Well come to find out, they don't ship Saturday delivery to my area for some reason, but anyway I received it this morning and will put it in when I get home from work. So I will update you on if this fixes the problem or not, I sure hope it does
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2007, 07:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Thanks HK2000

It was in fact the OVP. Odometer, speedometer, nor cruise control would work. Replaced OVP from the shop here, ran like a charm, everything working now.

Thanks a million again,

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
was your abs light on as i have the same problem but my abs light is always on?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page