Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2001, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 45
Hello group,
Since I can't find anyone who knows why my alarm is wacky since I changed the radio I have concidered installing a new alarm with keyless entry..I read the article on the board how to do it in a 124, but are there similar directions on a 126? I see the 87 locking system is electrically controlled by switches in the vacuum device in both doors and the trunk that control the pump but I can't decipher the wiring diagram well enough to know what I need to hook up..I have had really good luck with code alarm..But this time I think I am gonna do it myself..The local "mothers window tint" is trying to sell me a top of the line "remote start" model..I told him it is a diesel (300SDL) and he is telling me it will work..I tried to explain to him it won't because the engine shut off is vacuum controlled...Figure I don't want these guys working on my car! Anway if anyone knows how or a link to do this I would greatly appriciate it..Thanks a million! John
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2001, 10:57 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 387
Keyless entry

I wrote the directions for the 124. I have corresponded with Tom Pindelski, who put one in his 560SEL (a 126, I believe). He had some wiring trouble and got help from Omega, the alarm maker. He sent me the PDF for wiring, and I can email it to you, just give me an email address ( Also, if you are going to Mothers, it sounds like you are in SA or Austin. If you would like some help, I'm on the north side of SA, and I'd be glad to help. Tom also managed to wire his lights and a horn to his for audio and visual, if anyone is interested in how he did that, just email me.

Good Luck,
Bill Streep
San Antonio
'57 190SL (toy)
'08 S5500 (mine)
'09 CLK550 (wife's)
'06 SLK350 (daughter's)
'11 GLK350 (daughter's)
'03 CLK310 (spare)
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2001, 11:01 AM
Posts: n/a
Hi John,
Getting away from the window tint guys was a good move. I'd bet they would get 90% finished butchering the wiring before it occurred to them that a remote start wouldn't work on a diesel without some serious modification. Over my own objections, I put a remote start system on a 560SEL 7 years ago. I spent about a day and a half to get it installed properly... no "Scotch Locks" or cut wires, soldered connections at terminals, routed the wires along existing harnesses, etc...I thought I'd done a fine job of turning "chicken excrement" into "chicken salad". The customer had an absolute "cow" over the bill! The moral of the story? To do it right usually exceeds the cost(or perceived benefit) of the aftermarket system.
I would stick with the factory alarm. It's easy enough for anyone familiar with it to diagnose and repair. Besides,if somebody really wants to get in your car...they will.
Randy D.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2001, 01:36 PM
96C220's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 367
When u swapped out the radio, did u ground the pigtail wire that went to the back of the radio with a clip? It clipped directly to the back of the radio chassis, not to any electrical connector. This is the wire that is designed to activate the factory alarm in case the radio is stolen. Back in the 80's radio theft was a huge problem, and it seems that MB went to all sorts of extravagant measures to protect the radio. Make sure that wire is properly grounded, all the ones I have seen have been black with what looks like a spade connector on the end of it, otherwise it will cause all sorts of intermittent problems with the alarm.

Best wishes and take care,
George Androulakis
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 10:31 AM
Thomaspin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 531
Check my website

Wiring, pictures, you name it, everything you need is on my web site - you should follow the late W126 version. I disabled my alarm in the 560SEL (two plugs in the passenger footwell) as I like the 'lock on start' feature but that sets the factory alarm off.

The early W126 has a different circuit, so make sure you look at the right pictorial. Your installation will be in the trunk where the vacuum/pump for locking/unlocking resides. It's in the right rear corner of the wheel well, where the spare is.

I go the whole hog here with horn honks and flashing lights - you don't have to do those, but they are nice to have.

Go to Cars - Technical - Chassis.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I did it! Keyless entry for your 124 made easy (and less than $100)! bstreep Tech Help 143 06-30-2008 12:19 PM
Aftermarket keyless entry john420 Tech Help 16 04-15-2003 05:24 PM
Can A Keyless Entry Be Added? Fintail Fan Tech Help 3 01-22-2003 11:30 PM
W126 keyless entry installation 420 Tech Help 38 04-17-2002 03:20 PM
Keyless Entry, '88TE and other Handicapped aids Ron Johnstone Tech Help 1 02-07-2001 08:09 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page