Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2007, 06:41 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
1991 190 e 2.3 Temp sensor

Hello, I bought this car with bad engine,was able to rebuild using various manuals. The problem I am having is the temp gauge does not move. The sensor that was on the head was broken, it was red and 3 pronged. I ordered a replacement and they sent me a green one. I installed on the head but gauge doesn't move from 40 C. I grounded the single wire to the sensor(3 pronged) and the gauges goes all the way up. Can anyone help. Thanks Steve

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2007, 10:33 AM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,671
Does yours have a three-pronged sensor? The replacement shown from the webiste looks like a two-pronged version.
__________________
Prost!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2007, 04:48 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
I have both, the 2 pronged is blue, also new.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2007, 05:56 PM
Ta ra ra boom de ay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,915
Are you saying the wire you grounded was at the 'plug in to the sensor' end of the circut or at the 'gage' end?
__________________
-Marty

1986 300E 220,000 miles+ transmission impossible
(Now waiting under a bridge in order to become one)

Reading your M103 duty cycle:
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831799-post13.html
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831807-post14.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2007, 11:53 AM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
At the sensor, when grounded the gauge went up. Apparently the temp gauge sender in incorperated in this three pronged sensor. The sensor is new, but gauge doesn't pass 40 C.I am lost on this thing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2007, 04:21 PM
Ta ra ra boom de ay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,915
Is there more than one way to plug in the harness?
__________________
-Marty

1986 300E 220,000 miles+ transmission impossible
(Now waiting under a bridge in order to become one)

Reading your M103 duty cycle:
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831799-post13.html
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831807-post14.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2007, 04:55 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
Not that I know of, prongs are triangular, one alone two side by side.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2007, 04:58 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
Of the 2 that are together, one has power, will light test light. The other has no power, then there is the one by itself, that if you ground out, the gauge will move.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:31 PM
Ta ra ra boom de ay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,915
I'm not familiar with this particular sensor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSS0816 View Post
...then there is the one by itself, that if you ground out, the gauge will move.
I think that pin is the one you should be getting your coolant temp reading fron and the other two pins have another function.

Are you sure there is coolant in that passage under the sensor and you are getting good flow through it?

Here is a test for that one pin:

(black 1 pin = coolant temp to coolant temp gage)
test-
Courtesy ~Arthur Dalton
OHM 110 = 60C
67 = 80C
38 = 100C
__________________
-Marty

1986 300E 220,000 miles+ transmission impossible
(Now waiting under a bridge in order to become one)

Reading your M103 duty cycle:
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831799-post13.html
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831807-post14.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2007, 05:45 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
I agree, like I said earlier, the original sensor was red, where as this one is green. Could it have different voltage readings, and isn't moving the gauge much. I did notice when I started the engine and gave it gas, the needle moved a little to the top of the 4 in 40C on the gauge. No matter how long the car runs it won't go higher. I find it hard to believe the car runs at 40C( approx 107 F). As I stated I just rebuilt the engine and don't want to drive it with bad temp reading. And yes the sensor is in a passage with coolant in it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-27-2007, 07:43 PM
Ta ra ra boom de ay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,915
Why not pull a part # off it and call a mercedes dealer's parts dept or fast lane and just make sure it matches.
__________________
-Marty

1986 300E 220,000 miles+ transmission impossible
(Now waiting under a bridge in order to become one)

Reading your M103 duty cycle:
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831799-post13.html
http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/831807-post14.html
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-27-2007, 07:58 PM
GSS0816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chestertown MD
Posts: 12
Thanks Marty, I'll do that.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page