Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2008, 10:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 217
CD-ROM manuals help - it used to work? - computer help

CD-rom manual wont run - never had a problem before

OK I have had the Mercedes cd-rom manuals for my w124 for about 4 years never had a problem opening or navigating (maybe it was painful to find what I was looking for but it worked).

Have not needed to refer to the manuals for about 6 months.

Now all of a sudden it won't run. Started by telling me I needed acrobat 5 (7 is now on the machine). Told it no - don't install get the opening screen then accept then a partial screen looking for a plug in (which it can't find). This was coming up automatically in Firefox which I have also not used in a while because of speed issue.

So uninstall Firefox - figure it will force it to IE

No dice - it never runs at all and asks to install acrobat 5 again

So I tried installing acrobat 5 - it installed but the CD still does not run. I click start and it still asks to install acrobat 5 and doesn't even get to the start window - nothing runs (well at least my real honest to god official Mercedes CD manual)???

Reinstall Firefox and create new profile - this seems to have fixed my Firefox speed issue.

However - I now go through the start window again, accept, and am back to a missing plug in that it can't find?

Anyone else have this problem or hints in how I can get back into the manuals? Works fine when I use it on my work computer??? Computer is running XP media version.

Thanks
Paul

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:07 PM
GSMITH's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 152
I long ago copied the CD to my hard drive to increase the speed and so I could stop searching for the CD. I am using IE7 and the latest Acrobat with no problem with my 107 manual. I just tell IE to find the the right .htm file and it works after I let IE use activeX. Try to bypass the CD autostart this way. The autostart only knows Acrobat5.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
I went to the lates version of acrobat, could not get to run, deleted it and installed 5 no problems...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page