Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-21-2008, 12:58 AM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 809
Maybe you said that you already did this,
but I hadd a similair prob once, when I first connected teh ASR defeat on my 500E. I did not have the CAN completely seated. Seat/reseat them all and close the box completely. That was the only way that I got mine to restart
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:15 AM
PDXTECH's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 16
Thanks Albert, Yeah I tried that and no help...Also tried to see what would happen if I pulled FUSE 2 on the BM and check to see if there was any change in the symptoms.
The only change I would was the LED on the X11/22(?) went out when the ignition was on. Which makes sense since it cut all power to the Diag. Module.
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:58 AM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,120
You have no power to the ecu. If the check engine light does not come on then the Diagnostic module does not have any power either. Besides repl. the BM at this time you could get the wiring diagram and check power supply at these modules. There should be 12vlts circuit 30 and 12vlts circuit 15 with ign. on.
It sounds pretty likely from what you have described that the base module has been damaged. The one other thing that you should check before going after repl. parts is that sometimes the wiring connectors at the bottom of the box where the module plugs in get broken and when you try to plug you need to use a hook to hold up the plug. Seen this a bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:05 AM
PDXTECH's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 16
It runs

I just wanted to say that my 500E is now back and running.
I found 2 items that were causing problems.
1) for the "will crank but will not start" problem was the Base Module.
2) a rough idle, after I got it up and running again, was a broken Cam Sensor. I happen to find this when checking the connectors on the wiring harness.
I just didn't want to leave this thread hanging so I thought that I would state what the fix was. Thanks for everyones help
__________________
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page