Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2008, 08:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
190E i think stuck in limp mode?

I have a 1991 190E 2.6 Canada. After i had a waterpump fail a couple of months ago, i was on the way home and my car started overheating. Temperatures went over 120C and car became slow like in limp mode. After i fixed the water pump and got a new headgasket and all kinds of new stuff that i fixed, i started up my car the other day and i reved it in N and it sounds good and all but when i drive it in D, it feels like the tranny is not getting all the power it should or mayb it is still in limp mode???

Also i noticed my idle speed is off. should be 750 but its at 1000 ( doesn't matter if it warms up )

but when i put it in gear ( other than P or N ) , it goes to normal 750
??

mayb these 2 problems share the same root?

anybody can offer any help??

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
bumpety bump!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:47 AM
cdplayer's Avatar
Just my Jeep and my S500
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, Calif.
Posts: 581
Hot hot hot

The key here is you said the car overheated.
With a new water pump, did you put in a new thermostat? Recommended.
If so, did you put in enough coolant? You can not just fill the over flow bottle. The coolant has to be put directly into the radiator as much as you can. Then the plastic overflow.
Of course this has to be done on a cold engine. Top off as necessary.
__________________


Selling used Mercedes parts on Ebay...always changing...
cdplayer51 take a look!
____________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
thanks for your response. i did replace the thermo. My cooling system is perfect, it doesnt overheat anymore. Currently i have no power steering but i do not think that is why. Does anyone have any clues
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:48 AM
wbain5280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Northern Va.
Posts: 3,386
The serpentine belt must not be adjusted properly if the PS is not working. The adjuster is a real PITA POS.

There is no limp home mode on these cars. Check your OVP fuse(s).

As far as adding fluid, there is a bolt on the intake side of the head just above runner 1 that you can take out to vent the air when adding fluid. Add fluid to the expansion tank, let the air vent and put the bolt back in.
__________________
Regards

Warren

Currently 1965 220Sb, 2002 FORD Crown Vic Police Interceptor

Had 1965 220SEb, 1967 230S, 280SE 4.5, 300SE (W126), 420SEL

ENTER > = (HP RPN)

Not part of the in-crowd since 1952.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2008, 01:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbain5280 View Post
The serpentine belt must not be adjusted properly if the PS is not working. The adjuster is a real PITA POS.

There is no limp home mode on these cars. Check your OVP fuse(s).

As far as adding fluid, there is a bolt on the intake side of the head just above runner 1 that you can take out to vent the air when adding fluid. Add fluid to the expansion tank, let the air vent and put the bolt back in.

i have thought this could be a possibility but they say only if your idle speed is too low, will that effect the power steering pump. My idle speed seems to be almost normal and if the serpentine belt was loose, wouldn't my alternator also not work? and other things like water pump etc??

yea the adjuster for the belt sucks on these cars. In fact it doesnt even work on my car. I have to take out the whole adjuster ( not just loosen it ) and then turn it to a slant to adjust my tension.

any ideas?

oh and i haven't mentioned. The power steering pump is from a 300E i believe. I went to the junkyard to get a new pump because my 190E pump broke so i saw a 300E and the pump looked identical. It fit to my motor and i assumed it would work. Both inlet and outlet hoses fit in too. Mayb that is why it wont work? some incompatibility?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-2008, 06:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
still trying..

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page