Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2002, 06:51 PM
need2speed's Avatar
speedaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,253
Unhappy Installed Performance Chip - Car Won't Start

Help...my car won't start.

I've been running a Superchips performance chip on my M119 motor for a couple of years without problem.

A few weeks ago, I plugged the stock M-B chip back in and the car wouldn't start. Returned the Superchip and it ran fine.

Just today, I plugged in a PAD chip (no speed limiter) and, once again, the car wouldn't start.

Problem is, I broke a prong of the Superchip while taking it off Now what can I do? Is there some sort of engine reset procedure that I've missed?

WHAT's THE PROBLEM?

Yours in need,
__________________
Dean Albrecht
"Lead, follow, or better yet, get out of the way!"E500 owners motto
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2002, 09:49 PM
roas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Holy Moly!

Not sure why the stock chip and the PAD chip may not be working. Only thing I can think of is maybe there is some type of reset that you leading on about or maybe the chips may have accidentaly been damaged due to static electricty.

Hope it's the first one I mentioned. On the Superchip with the broken prong, you any good at soldiering??? You may be able to take the chip and prong to a electronic technician and have him soldier the prong back as long as there is still some metal material left to soldier to on the chip side, but he be better good. If it is repairable be had better use plenty of heat sinks so that the microchip inside is not damaged to heat from the soldier job. He should use a big iron with plenty of flus on both surfaces to ensure a fast clean soldier join.

Or maybe someone on this board that has access to the equipment necessary can reproduce a chip for you for a couple of bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2002, 11:04 PM
need2speed's Avatar
speedaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,253
Thanks for the ideas Ross. BTW, your mail server has bounced an email I tried sending you...something about exceeding disk space

Neil has been in touch also and given some other ideas. Seems I haven't been following antistatic procedures all those times I've pulled chips out of the module...may have done some permanent damage

So many things can go wrong....
__________________
Dean Albrecht
"Lead, follow, or better yet, get out of the way!"E500 owners motto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2002, 01:19 AM
ck42's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holly Springs, GA
Posts: 866
Dean,

Just call SuperChips up and tell them what happened. I suspect that they will, if anything, just charge you for the cost and shipping on a new EPROM ($10-$20?)....which isn't that expensive. What you're really paying all that money for is the coding that's burned into the chip. They may want you to show receipt of purchase or if you don't have it, send them the EPROM.

As far as repairing pins....forget it. Even if you solder back on, which IS possible depending on where it broke, once you put it back in the socket it will break off again either immediately OR at the most inopportune time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2002, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 146
Dean,

I have exactly the same problem. The chip that is in my car - bought from dealer with Starmark - is unidnetified (it is either the PAD or Renntech). When I tried to put the original MB chip back in for comparrison I too had no start. The dealer claimes there should be no differnce and that their is not a "reset". He blamed it on me and claims the MB chip was blown from static (I used a strap and was very careful so I do not agree). He also could not prove to me it was blown since he took no measurements and did not connect it to an anylzer.

Sorry for not helping, but I can "feel your pain".

Steve
__________________
94 E500 (Silver/Black)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2002, 12:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,562
Hi Dean-

On my last work order there was a description of performing an "engine/ motor adaptation" procedure or process after the installation of new caps and rotors...I'm not familar with what this means, but this "adaptation" may be what you need?

good luck and let us know what turns out

-fad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2002, 09:06 PM
need2speed's Avatar
speedaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,253
Well, Superchips will replace a damaged chip for $50 plus shipping, upon receipt of the old chip. That's one angle covered

Trying to find someone to diagnose the Bosch fuel management module itself is proving more difficult
__________________
Dean Albrecht
"Lead, follow, or better yet, get out of the way!"E500 owners motto
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2002, 12:53 AM
need2speed's Avatar
speedaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,253
Smile PROBLEM SOLVED

My replacement Superchips arrived and,when installed, the car started right away!

I wonder if years of having the car tuned with the Superchip have resulted in the ignition/fuel settings becoming "customized" to the Superchip? Why else would the stock chip or PAD chip not work on the car?

I am a happy guy now :p

Thanks to all who offered advice and help on the forum and privately. Thanks to Benzmac for sending a replacement LH fuel module. I don't need it now but what a great bunch of people here at Mercedesshop.com
__________________
Dean Albrecht
"Lead, follow, or better yet, get out of the way!"E500 owners motto
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2002, 10:03 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
Cool Good news

Now, go check out if the new chip has a limiter...

Hadn't occurred to you, right?
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2002, 08:55 PM
need2speed's Avatar
speedaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,253
Unfortunately, Superchips already told me it will be the same as before 'cause they haven't changed anything in the programing.

Oh well, 157mph @ 6000rpm will have to do

I am going to test out a few aerodynamic changes to try and squeak past 160mph
__________________
Dean Albrecht
"Lead, follow, or better yet, get out of the way!"E500 owners motto
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring an AMG Hammer Wagon, my story Part 1 Hammer Wagon Performance Paddock 19 09-06-2011 10:24 PM
SUPERCHIPS? - want good advice? Don't waste you time! abalto Performance Paddock 16 05-12-2005 03:11 AM
car died at light, ALL warning lights came on, no start david74mr Tech Help 10 12-11-2002 08:42 AM
93 190E 2.6 Performance Parts and entire Car for sale. 2.3-16v 5-speed tranny Chiragp Mercedes Used Parts For Sale & Wanted 3 06-09-2002 10:06 AM
Ack first really cold day and car doesnt start. Anthony Ryan Diesel Discussion 29 02-09-2002 08:43 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page