Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2014, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Topeka, KS 66604
Posts: 53
"Need A Lil Help Fellas"

Hey guys I have got a 93' 300e 3.2L gas Mercedes. I am having problems I thought were fuel filter related, so I put one on and that wasn't the problem. When it is in park I can rev it up to about 1400 rpm and it cuts out, once the rpm's drop back down it runs smooth as can be. In drive it cuts out about 10 mph and then runs smooth again once the rpm's drop. Any and all help will be appreciated. Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2014, 07:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Posts: 412
The only thing I noticed out of your description is that it gets better after 10 mph. The computer senses when the car goes over 10 mph and takes idle control away from the IAC.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2014, 08:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Topeka, KS 66604
Posts: 53
above 10 mph is better???

Actually I stated that it got better because the rpms drop, it does the same thing in park and neutral except it seems to happen at about 1400 rpm while not moving.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2014, 09:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Posts: 412
Hmm, maybe the opposite of what I was thinking. When the IAC is controlling idle it's OK. But when the computer is controlling everything it's hosed. Sounds like you have a lot of troubleshooting ahead of you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2014, 10:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 834
Carefully check your engine wiring harness. If you see any evidence of the insulation breaking down have it replaced tout suite.
A short circuit somewhere can eventually blow your ECU - (Ask me how I know)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2014, 07:38 AM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,640
Check the MAF.
__________________
Prost!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2014, 12:49 PM
oldsinner111's Avatar
love all animals
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol,tn
Posts: 5,359
My crank sensor plug in was loose,check fuel pressure if that does not fix it .
__________________
If I'm a butt,ignore,I have mood swings
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2014, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,527
This car doesn't have an IAC. Idle is controlled by the throttle actuator (it's drive by wire).

Build the code reader. The car doesn't have a check engine light; you have to pull codes to see if the ECU sees any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2014, 11:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Topeka, KS 66604
Posts: 53
How to Build the Code Reader ? ? ?

From what I have seen, most of these things suggested do not match up with my symptoms. When I slowly depress the accelerator, it runs great until it reaches 1400 rpm's. It then falls on its face. If I let off the gas, it drops below the 1400 mark and then runs as good as it did before it cut out. These circumstances haven't changed it does it every time that I push on gas. It does the same thing in drive, it just cuts out about 10 mph and also picks back up as the rpm's drop. How do I build the code reader I read about in one of your replies.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2014, 07:22 AM
JimFreeh's Avatar
Benz addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampton Roads, Virginia
Posts: 3,312
It sounds like your not getting enough fuel.

Jim
__________________
14 E250 BlueTEC black
94 E320 Cabriolet Emerald green
85 300TD 4 spd manual dark blue
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-26-2014, 08:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,527
I think you are in limp mode. The electronic drive by wire throttle is completely dead. There is a conventional cable as a backup that will open the throttle butterfly too, but the ECU limits the maximum speed/power of the engine to almost nothing.

Try this thread for the code reader: CEL reader for dummies. Or try googling up "code reader Arthur Dalton site:peachparts.com" and reading through the threads.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page