Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2002, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yorkshire England
Posts: 70
Retrofitting Ext temp gauge

I've ordered from a breakers a kit of parts to retrofit an OTG to my 1994 E200 wagon. Should be to me in a couple of days.

The guy on the phone says that the kit of parts includes the display (of course) a loom and the sensor, which I know goes behind the front licence plate.
Does anyone have any advice about fitting this kit? I'm an electronics engineer, so the process doesn't bother me, I just wondered if the places to plug the "loom" into are obvious.
Or maybe it isn't as easy as I hope?
Thanks in anticipation


Barry

1994 E200 Wagon 110,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2002, 01:50 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
are you replacing a broken one? if not, you would have to figure out how to supply power to it, first of all. the wiring from the instrument cluster goes into the fuse box. that is where you situate the plug juncture between the probe cable and the instrument cluster wires. the probe cable then runs along th fender then goes underneath towards the license plate - i've never traced it all the way through. i am assuming it is a similar setup in Euro's although it might be different for UK cars with the cluster on the right. keep us posted - i'm struggling with debugging mine at the moment...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif

Last edited by jsmith; 08-15-2002 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2002, 05:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yorkshire England
Posts: 70
Joe

No, mine isn't broken, I never had one. It was an optional extra in the UK, certainly on "cheaper" 2 litre cars.
But obviously the space is there on the instrument panel.
So, from what you say, the sensor lives behind the licence plate area and the cable routes round to the fuse box area.
I haven't yet received the kit of used parts from the breaker, but time will tell.
I guess that there plainly has to be a 12v supply, and a ground return. I just wondered if the supply is picked up from the instrument panel - I couldn't see any spare terminals there, or the fuse box, which seems the logical place.

Cheers

Barry

E200 Wagon 1994 110,000 miles.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2002, 10:37 AM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
you might be right that the hookup has power connections. i haven't taken mine apart yet - that's the next step for me as i just verified that my problem is not the probe. a few weeks ago, i test drove a euro 200E and i noticed that it's display, though in centigrade, was bright and clear (which got me to tinkering with mine)...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2002, 01:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yorkshire England
Posts: 70
Joe

You say the connector goes by way of the fuse box, but isn't necessarily connected to it.

So is the connector sort of nestling under the fuse layer in the base of the box, as it were? Or does it pick up power here?

Cheer

Barry

E200 Wagon 1994 110,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2002, 02:05 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
there is just the mb style, two prong connector underneath the fuses. i had to open up the top part of the fuse box and lift up the fuses to find it. in the US cars the wires are green and brown. the only reason i could think of why it's in there is that the cluster cable might be part of a harness that winds up in the fusebox. you probably don't have to go to all that trouble, i don't see any reason why you can't leave the junction outside the fusebox.

cheers
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2002, 02:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yorkshire England
Posts: 70
Thanks a lot for your help.
When the parts arrive, next week now i guess, I'll post a resume of how it all went.

Cheers all

Barry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page