Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2002, 04:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 22
My 124 cruise is UNcontrolled

I've followed all the troubleshooting steps for the cruise control on my 1989 260e;

-checked voltages
-checked continuities
-checked current draw
-resoldered amplifier
-cleaned pins

But I didn't fix anything. Sometimes (10% of the time) it will accelerate when I lift the stalk upward and hold it there - but only from a cold start. And only once. After I stop accelerating - say for a school bus or a dog crossing the street - it will not do anything again on that trip.

However, last week I had the local MB dealer do a 4wheel alignment (I just put on new shocks, struts, tires). Driving home from the dealer, I went through my routine test of the cruise just to see if it will accelerate - and lo-and-behold - it held at 67mph perfectly! It accelrated a couple MPH with each tap upward and decelrated with each tap downward. I was tempted to keep on cruising down I-90 just to see how long it would hold, but I had to get home. I cancled the cruise and exited the highway. I tried setting it again on a straightaway at about 40mph. And it held. I tried accerating - and it died. And hasn't worked since.

Is it just coincidence that it worked immediatly after the alignment? I gotta' think that is the case. If not, it would still be working - right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2002, 06:25 PM
downsmith's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Oklahoma Sooners Alumnus
Posts: 116
Do a search on this topic. Mercedes of that era had a problem with the PC boards either cracking or solder joints breaking.

Open the box and test circuit continuity. Solder all broken connections and VIOLA!
__________________
R. Downs
1985 500SEL (260,000 miles) SOLD!
1974 280 SOLD!
1994 Volvo 850 Turbo Wagon (Yuppie Ice Sled)

"I know I have a Benz and they know it too." If you start bragging about it or shoving in people's face, you then become a Wally; especially to the girls.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2002, 05:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,006
Sounds like it needs a new cruise amp, or electronics repaired inside. The dealer has a CC testing that tests everything EXCEPT the computer. If it finds no faults, then by process of elimination it is the computer (amp). New amps are around $300, some offer rebuilts for $200.
__________________
Brian Toscano
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2002, 07:27 PM
bjcsc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 672
Did you check the switch? I recently went through the same thing, however I did not try the resolder as they won't accept the core for rebuilding if you do. If you checked the switch signal in addition to everything else, you probably need an amp. I sent my amp and actuator to GDL and it's on the way back as I type. My actuator was OK, but I sent it just to be sure because a faulty one will blow an amp. You may try a salvage yard as you just might get lucky. Look for low milegae cars. I couldn't find any 14 pin amps but I found a dozen 10 pin. That's my luck. Even if you find an amp that doesn't work, you could use it as a core for a rebuild. If you find one in a 'pull your own parts' kind of place, refer to it as a 'cruise control switch relay' - do not use the word computer or amp (save $$) And you never know, you might get lucky and find one that works.
__________________
1982 Mercedes-Benz 300CD
1982 Mercedes-Benz 240D - stick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2002, 02:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,006
Time kills these things more than miles. I'd focus on a rebuilt or new amp rather than finding a used one that works. you could use a used to to see if it changes the problem, though - if it does, its probably the amp and not the switch.
__________________
Brian Toscano
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2002, 10:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 22
I tested the switch and it checked out fine.

I'm hearing from all you folks that the CruiseAmp is the suspect. I guess it makes sense because the case of the one that I have now (the one I resoldered) was marked with a grease pencil indicating it came from a junk yard.

I like the idea of pulling one from a yard, seeing if it works, and if not, using it as a core for replacement.

I think I may double check mine and see if I can see any bad solder joints that I missed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page