Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2002, 02:00 PM
Posts: n/a
You can make a "temp probe" with thermocouple wire. This is a pair of wires with one conductor being iron and the other being constantine (sp?) you simply tin the ends of each conductor and twist them together. Then put test lead connectors on the other end that fit the meter.

When I was in college I worked at an electronic component burnin house. We had thermocouples all over the place and it ran into an expense. We started doing the above and found no difference in reading from an expensive "thermocouple."

Good luck,
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 02:13 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 18,745

What's the temp range of that set-up? Do you have a table or formula to convert voltage to temp?

91 300SE
87 300SDL
83 300SD
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 07:36 PM
'82 300TD-T
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 276
picked up the 82139 multimeter today - it is definitely not on sale at the moment. however with a little sweet talking (read: pleading), the cashier honored the lowest price within the last 30 days, $19.99.

btw, it is one sweet little meter...
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 07:42 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 52
82139 is back in stock at

...and liked the 82139 meter so much from the first posts in this thread that when I found it out of stock at the Sears on-line store, I clicked the little box for "email me when its back in stock". I just got the "back in stock at" email notification yesterday, so I placed my order. I had a decent meter already, but it lacked the duty cycle feature I've heard I'll need if I ever mess about with my fuel injection.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 08:58 AM
Posts: n/a

I don't have the slightest idea of the relationship between the iron/constantine signal and its interpretation on the meter. I fully expect that it is nonlinear. The reason I think that is the fact that in the early seventies we had expensive, single purpose instruments that we used to get digital temperature readout. Had it been a simple, linear relationship, then the voltmeters of the time could have provided this with simple analog electronic conversion.

Now that a "computer" is available inside these meters, the sky is the limit as far as conversions and scaling. Since this thread is indicating that you can get a meter capable of thermal display for $19.95, it's pretty difficult to justify much messing around.

Best of luck,
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page