Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-1999, 11:13 PM
kjcalhoun
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I have a challenging question for you. My 1984 300d with 264000 on the clock had the original engine replaced at 250,000 miles with a good used engine from a 1983 300d. On
my 1985 300cd there is a speed sensor on the
flywheel cover to signal the tach. However the 1983 got its tach signal from the diagnostic plug. Do you know of any practical
way for me to restore the operation of my
tachometer? By the way, I thoroughly enjoy the information that is available on this website!!

------------------
kjcalhoun
Bosch certified DFI Tech
20 years experience
MBCA Member, Southern Stars
1984 300D
1985 300CD
  #2  
Old 08-28-1999, 10:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 239
On a more serious note, I don't get it.
Am I missing something here ?
  #3  
Old 08-29-1999, 10:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
On the fender there is a diagnostic plug that processes the signal for the tach. IF it fails, the tach doesn't work. We have them in the PartsShop to the left of this screen.

------------------
Benzmac:
ASE CERTIFIED MASTER AUTO TECHNICIAN
SERVICE MANAGER FOR 14 BAY FACILITY
MERCEDES SPECIALIST 8 YRS
PARTNER IN MERCEDESSHOP.COM


  #4  
Old 08-30-1999, 07:26 PM
kjcalhoun
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

BENZMAC,

I am confused by your reply. According
to the 123 cd-rom, the 1984 and 1985 diesels
don't get the tach signal from the diagnostic plug, but rather from a speed sensor near the flywheel. I have seen the diagnostic plug mounted tach sending unit on pre 1984 diesels
but the 1984 and 1985 diesels just have a plastic cover. Since the replacement engine is from a 1983, it doesn't have the flywheel mounted speed sensor. Do you think that if I were to put a tach sending unit in the diagnostic plug, it would provide the necessary signal to my tach. It is too expensive a part to buy for nothing. Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated as I hate to have gages and indicator lights that do not work.
Many Thanks

------------------
kjcalhoun
Bosch certified DFI Tech
20 years experience
MBCA Member, Southern Stars
1984 300D
1985 300CD
  #5  
Old 08-30-1999, 11:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
Good question. I think I would put in the correct sensor and wire it as the 84-85. Sorry about the confusion, I did not look at the year. (brain fart)


------------------
Benzmac:
ASE CERTIFIED MASTER AUTO TECHNICIAN
SERVICE MANAGER FOR 14 BAY FACILITY
MERCEDES SPECIALIST 8 YRS
PARTNER IN MERCEDESSHOP.COM


Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to get a working tachometer? notlostmaybe Tech Help 2 08-02-2007 10:48 PM
NO AC and NO TACHOMETER? Norman123 Tech Help 5 01-19-2005 07:47 PM
Tachometer pickup? Maxwell Diesel Discussion 6 08-05-2003 01:18 AM
Tachometer RPM 300D yel_low Diesel Discussion 1 03-12-2003 05:31 PM
Is the Tachometer related to Engine controls (117)? Stevegman Tech Help 1 03-12-2001 09:54 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page