Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2003, 03:50 AM
Dee Dee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 7
Angry Help! C36 has no power or torque!

I am having problems with my 1995 C36 and could use some help. After replacing the water pump on my C36 the ASR light came on and put my car into limp mode.

I brought it into the dealer for a diagnosis and they said it was the throttle actuator. I had it replaced and it fixed the problem and no ASR light. But when I got the car back, I noticed it had a loss in power and torque during take off. It felt really weak and sluggish. Whenever I pushed the pedal to accelerate it felt weak and the throttle response was not there. The pedal doesnt feel the same either.

I brought it back to the dealer and the first thing they said was to replace the computer!!! I know this is the quick way to fix things at the dealer but I'm not ready to dish out $$$ for a new comuter. Before I do this, any ideas what can be causing this problem? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2003, 09:06 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
On your car, performance is determined by "air mass" & fuel pressure. From there it is up to the ECU to determine the amount of fuel to be injected.
We replace 100 air mass sensors to every computer!
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2003, 01:52 PM
Dee Dee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 7
Thanks for the reply Doc.

So, I should get the air mass checked out first? Do you think this is what's causing my problems? How do you determine if the MAS is dirty and needs replacement? Will any check engine lights come on? Reason is, I dont have any check engine lights on or anything. The car just doesnt have the torque it had when I bought the car. Do you happen to know the part number for the MAS for my 1995 C36?
Also, what are signs of a bad ECU? Would the car even run and would any check engine lights come on? Why do you think they are telling me to replace that?
Sorry for asking so many questions but this is my first Benz!!!
Thanks again for your help

Last edited by Dee; 02-25-2003 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2003, 06:32 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
The fuel computer provides a great deal of info beside check engine info. There is a "live data" stream that can provide info on the imputs from all of the sensors, that is where I would start.
You would need a MB scanner as ODB2 would not provide that info.
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2003, 09:14 PM
Dee Dee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 7
OK, I will start out there and get it checked out. When or how do you know when your MAS needs to be replaced? Check engines, stalls, etc...?????

Also, what are the visible signs when a new computer is needed? Or are there any? Is there any way a consumer can tell wihtout a diagnosis from the dealer?

Last edited by Dee; 02-28-2003 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2003, 08:39 PM
Dee Dee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 7
Angry

Doc,

Just got the call from the dealer. They said my MAS is bad and needs to be replaced and my ECU is also bad and is sending mixed signals and needs replacement. They said it will cost me 3k for everything to be fixed???? OOOUUUCCCHHHH!!!!!

How could this happen to the ECU??? Is this common or very rare? Please help!!!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2003, 07:36 AM
est est is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 16
How is your wiring harness for the ignition coils? I had a case when the ECU went bad because of it. Usually it is a problem with the motors up to 95. If you have a short circuit in harness your ECU will do some outrageous stuff, although it could be still i tact

Last edited by est; 03-08-2003 at 08:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page