Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2003, 04:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milton MA
Posts: 336
Outside temp display problem on E500

Customer says: Outside temp display showing fluctuating temps reading that is sometimes accurate then display goes blank then comes back on reading a temp that is always about 20 degrees colder than actual outside temp. Had problem for past two years

MB Dealership Tech replaced Temp sensor wire from front License Plate assy area through Engine Compartment Wiring harnes back to Dashboard Display 55 dollar part and two hours labor at $91.00 PH - did not resolve problem.

Tech wants to replace Display unit next and see if that resolves.

Since I dont wanna finance the pluck&chuck-til-we-fix-it method, can anyone offer possible solutions.

TIA

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2003, 05:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,562
Greetings Tom-

you can check the EPC to see if there are more parts to this system...my feeling is that the LCD display is the only other major item to address

hope this helps and best regards
-fad

PS- I am using your wheels as my winter beater set...the car sits on them w P6000s in the winter to prevent the S-03's (on new wheels) from flatspotting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2003, 05:48 PM
G-Benz's Avatar
Razorback Soccer Dad
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth
Posts: 5,711
Tom -

Let me know how this goes. Lately, I noticed my W124 temp gauge reading approximately 20 degrees below actual as well.

I figured I'd pick up the $50 part from Fastlane and be done with it. Perhaps this isn't going to fix the problem as I previously thought?
__________________
2009 ML350 (106K) - Family vehicle
2001 CLK430 Cabriolet (80K) - Wife's car
2005 BMW 645CI (138K) - My daily driver
2016 Mustang (32K) - Daughter's car
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2003, 08:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milton MA
Posts: 336
Top 'A the Evenin to yah Fulgence!

Geez! If I'da known yous was gonna use my wheels for guard duty, I woulda made hose reels outa them.

So what sa "EPC"?

G-B This is what they replaced: 001-542-26-18
I Do not know the level of difficulty in removing the "Cluster Display" nor do I know the expense. I figured that it may be cheaper to replace the R/V Mirror with the following to solve multiple problems:

http://www.autosportcatalog.com/index.cfm?fa=p&pid=1178&addcar=1
Attached Thumbnails
Outside temp display problem on E500-p402550427.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2003, 11:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 645
$91.00 and two hours labor so you don't have to add 20 to the temperature? I tend to think that this is an excessive expense.

My 30OD does about the same thing. It is annoying.

I observe that one can buy an indoor/outdoor, battery driven thermometer for under $20 and install it with a piece of velcro. JC Whitney sells these.

I wonder if one might just take the sensor from a 12v non-MB thermometer and splice it into the line?

I may actually do this someday and if I do I will tell you the result.

I assume that there is a way of changing the thermometer to degrees Celsius. Germans don't do Fahrenheit. This could be the only complication, but it is also possible that the sensor sending unit is different for F than C.
__________________
Semibodacious Transmogrifications a Specialty

1990 300D 2.5 Turbo sedan 171K (Rudolf)
1985 300D Turbo TD Wagon 219K (Remuda)

"Time flies like and arrow, yet fruit flies like a banana"
---Marx (Groucho)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2003, 12:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,562
Greetings Tom-

Don't fret re: the wheels- its not like they are in an old dusty barn collecting spiders....just winter shoes

EPC= Electronic Parts Catalog- shows the system part for part....

best regards
-fad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2003, 12:58 PM
Jim's500E's Avatar
Large Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Manchester, Connecticut
Posts: 1,325
EPC shows the long wire (you have that Tom)...3 connectors inside the engine bay on another long wire and the display unit on the dash...

Its probably the display unit...I had to replace one on my 92' 190E; was doing the same thing. Its a DIYer IMO.
__________________
Jim

1992 500E
2007 CLK63
2003 Audi RS6
2001 Audi allroad
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2003, 01:04 PM
Jim's500E's Avatar
Large Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Manchester, Connecticut
Posts: 1,325
Tom, I can fax you the page showing it all if you so desire.
__________________
Jim

1992 500E
2007 CLK63
2003 Audi RS6
2001 Audi allroad
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2003, 01:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milton MA
Posts: 336
Hi Jim

Fax number is 617-723-8140

Do you know the part number or a resource to get it?

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2003, 02:29 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
i believe the display unit is about $200 and not much less at junkyards...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-05-2003, 03:08 PM
Jim's500E's Avatar
Large Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Manchester, Connecticut
Posts: 1,325
I send fax soon...I will double check the part number and put it on there. I'll arrange for you to get it close to wholesale from my parts man friend here in CT if you want. If I knew earlier, I could of got it and we could have met in Framingham tonite...I'm actually going up with some friends to see someone with a real deal Audi RS4.

...or, of course, you can also get the part here thru PartsShop.
__________________
Jim

1992 500E
2007 CLK63
2003 Audi RS6
2001 Audi allroad
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-05-2003, 03:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milton MA
Posts: 336
Jim! just got your fax - Thank You. Are special weird looking Warp Engine style fixing tools needed to remove and/or re-install Display unit? In the Diagram you sent, it appears that the wire has a connector at the halfway point in the Engine Compartment If you look at the part from the parts shop pic library, it appears to be one piece. I don't think the dealership would have had the brass ones to charge me two hours to put in just the first leg(14 on diagram) as I could have done that in 10 minutes with just a pen knife for a tool.

fad! You know I was just pulling your chain on the guard duty thing with my OEM rims Thanks for the edu on the EPC - is our car EPC available for viewing on line anywhere?

jsmith - thank you for the price estimates - if it is about the same new as used, I'll get it from the Parts shop here.

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-05-2003, 04:06 PM
Jim's500E's Avatar
Large Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Manchester, Connecticut
Posts: 1,325
No dude...you are correct in that it is pretty easy to install with simple tools...and yes, I'm not surprised at all that a dealership would have the nads to charge 2 hrs for something that takes 15-20 minutes to install...are you?

As I said...my EPC is for 1992 W124s...though I can't imagine that part being different between our years. Regardless, at least you see how it goes. Happy wrenching !!
__________________
Jim

1992 500E
2007 CLK63
2003 Audi RS6
2001 Audi allroad
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-05-2003, 06:00 PM
WANT '71 280SEL's Avatar
I'll Go Upside Your Head!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,378
To replace the sensor in the bumper, does the whole cord have to be replaced? If so, where is that long wire routed through, my dad's 300E just has a blank display.
Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-05-2003, 06:04 PM
Jim's500E's Avatar
Large Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Manchester, Connecticut
Posts: 1,325
Got FAX?

I have a copy of the EPC page ready to go. It is one piece, meaning you can't just switch out the tip....that would make too much sense, I think.
__________________
Jim

1992 500E
2007 CLK63
2003 Audi RS6
2001 Audi allroad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page