Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2003, 10:06 PM
Posts: n/a
Keyless entry / relay question

First off, sorry about the longwinded post. I successfully installed a keyless entry on my 300D months ago. Now I'm trying to put same into my mother's '82 300SD and for the life of me I can't get the actuator working. I finished the actuator install into the door today and for the past couple of hours pulling my hair out over the circuit. It's late and I've just about had it.

I first hooked up the relays as per the Crimestopper CS-845 manual and no luck. Alarm lock out to 85, alarm unlock to 85(other relay), +12v to 86,87(both relays), 30 to one wire on actuator, 30(other relay) to other wire on actuator.

I then tried "Thomaspin"'s circuit for the early 126 and again nothing. I don't know if my tired brain is the culprit ...... I mean, there's not too many ways the relays can be wired, right? I even tried another new relay thinking one of the relays was bad. Since this needs to show reverse polarity to the actuator, wouldn't there need to be a ground on either one or both of the relays? BTW, I'm using four-post SPST 30A relays from Radio Shack.... no 87a on them.

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 10:56 PM
jbaj007's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,053
Without an 87a pin on two relays, what is ground? The 87a provides the ground. I think you need the five pin automotive relays.
The Golden Rule

1984 300SD (bought new, sold it in 1988, bought it back 13 yrs. later)
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 11:00 PM
Posts: n/a
Thanks, jbaj007. I just came back to post a reply to my own message and I see you beat me to it. After getting some grub down my gullet and waking up a little my brain went into gear and you're right. I do need a SPDT relay. Doh! That's gotta be it. I'll post back after swapping the relays out. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 12:25 PM
Posts: n/a
I took a look at my setup this morning and I did use the same 4-contact relays that I'm trying now. However, the keyless unit is a different brand, a Rattler 100. This is the unit that I installed in my 300D. I found that you cannot disable the panic feature on this Crimestopper unit and there's 4 buttons on the remote, as opposed to the Rattler's 2. I'm going to get another Rattler for mom's car and install that. I'll give my brother this Crimestoppers unit so there isn't any big loss. Well, I'll post my findings with the Rattler when done.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page