Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2000, 05:10 PM
shoe's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA.
Posts: 583
What is the most common reason my tach will not work, and is there a procedure to diagnose it?

[This message has been edited by shoe (edited 06-13-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2000, 05:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New Bedford, MA USA
Posts: 1,583
It's broken... . Seriously, usually a bad connection in the cluster, either a ground or the lead for the tach or the multi connector plug. Did it quit suddenly or die a slow death?? I'm not 100% sure, but I think the tach picks up its signal from the ECU. The tach itself is nothing more that a fancy voltmeter. You can check it with a digital low voltage multimeter by checking the resistance across the two leads for the tach. Should not be zero or infinite.

------------------
Jeff Lawrence
1987 300e
1989 300e
1987 BMW 325

[This message has been edited by jeffsr (edited 06-13-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2000, 06:11 PM
shoe's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA.
Posts: 583
I've only had the car eight month's, it did not work when i bought it. It jumped and worked for about a minute but has been dead since. I put an ohm meter on the TDC sensor at the balancer and it showed a small amount of resistance so I assume it's ok.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2000, 06:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New Bedford, MA USA
Posts: 1,583
You'll need to check the resistance across the tach head itself.

------------------
Jeff Lawrence
1987 300e
1989 300e
1987 BMW 325
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2000, 09:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Near Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 359
[QUOTE]Originally posted by shoe:
[B]What is the most common reason my tach will not work, and is there a procedure to diagnose it?

The tach on my '83 300D has quit on me several times over the years. Each time I did no testing, just went out and purchased a new cap for the unit where you plug in to diagnose the engine. That two minute fix has always restored my tach. 2 yrs ago the cap was $80, this yr I paid about $120.

------------------
Robby Ackerman
Past President
Virginia Section MBCA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2000, 09:28 PM
shoe's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA.
Posts: 583
thank's for the info. I will check the tach. itself then get a new piece for under the hood
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
80 300d & 83 300d MicroRacer Diesel Discussion 2 12-30-2003 07:18 AM
Tach making AGGRAVATING noise! rwthomas1 Diesel Discussion 3 12-29-2003 10:59 PM
1980 300D into 1982 240D AND I NEED HELP! oilslick Diesel Discussion 21 12-06-2003 10:37 PM
New benz guy- where is the tach sensor and "amp" located surfblau Diesel Discussion 9 06-08-2002 11:25 AM
New 300 TD Tach Fix Andrew Fekete Diesel Discussion 10 04-15-2002 03:47 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page