Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2000, 07:26 PM
Ric
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Darn thing surges in spurts. Not all the time, and some days not at all. I have clean the linkage which was dry and dirty, but no significant change. I think there was another problem simular to this back some time, but I can't find the post.


The puppy has 221K + and runs pretty decent, but not like the old 76 450 sel from the old country.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2000, 07:38 PM
jeffsr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here is a paste of those posts.

My cruise control works intermittently. What I mean is that sometimes when I turn the car on, the cruise works, and works well, until I shut it off. Then the next time I start it up it may or may not work.
Seems like it is something simple, where should I start?
1987 300E
Benzmac
Moderator
Posts: 3670
From uluth, GA, USA
Registered: Mar 99
posted 08-08-2000 09:05 PM
--------------------------------------------
Most of the time (99%), if the switch is good, the cruise amp is faulty. The amp is the control unit. It is located under the driver's kick panel. It is a silver box. They do offer rebuilt units, but you will need a coding plug for the newer control unit.
------------------
Benzmac:
Donnie Drummonds
1991 GMC Syclone
ASE CERTIFIED MASTER AUTO TECHNICIAN
SERVICE MANAGER FOR 14 BAY FACILITY
MERCEDES SPECIALIST 8 YRS
PARTNER IN MERCEDESSHOP.COM

IP: Logged

P.E.Haiges
Senior Member
Posts: 46
FromA
Registered: Jan 2000
posted 08-09-2000 07:45 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have the same problem. What is a "coding plug"?
P E H
IP: Logged

Webmaster
Administrator
Posts: 756
From uluth, GA, USA
Registered: Mar 99
posted 08-10-2000 03:28 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There is now a universal cruise control amp but, you need a special coding plug to configure it for your specific car.
Another option is to get a rebuilt amp that is an exact replacement for your old amp.
We have both in PartsShop.
------------------
Bill Wood - Webmaster
MercedesShop.com, LLC

IP: Logged

barrie
Senior Member
Posts: 52
From:toronto, ontario, Canada
Registered: Jan 2000
posted 08-10-2000 07:15 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I used to have that problem with my Cruise Control as well – now it works perfectly, without a hitch! The solution was to resolder the CCA board. Many others have done this procedure with the same results.
The CCA seems to be another of those problem areas that everyone inevitably has to deal with after 10 or 15 years. Fortunately, like so many of the systems on this car, you can fix it yourself at minimal cost. In this case, 50 cents worth of solder and a couple of hours of your time.

When you pull the CCA and examine the board you’ll probably find that it looks ‘like new’, with no signs of burned components or broken traces. Nevertheless, what has likely happened is that one or more solder joints have loosened up due to deteriorative aging. The defect will Not be visible. You should systematically resolder each connection on the trace side of the board using the appropriate tools, solder and practices for electronic circuit boards. Then (using a magnifying glass) carefully inspect the board for solder bridges and remove them with desoldering braid.

I’ve done boards where I’ve also replaced the ICs, but this is usually to correct a total failure. Your symptoms suggest a deteriorated, intermittent solder joint. You could also replace your ICs (either 1 or 2) for about $1 while you’re at it.

After reinstalling the board in its case, you should also clean the external pins and apply a contact conditioner (available from computer and electronics shops).

Good luck, let me know if you have any questions.
Barrie


IP: Logged

Johnny
Senior Member
Posts: 34
From:Raleigh, N.C.
Registered: Jun 2000
posted 08-22-2000 11:09 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Is there a special tool to open control module to gain acess to the circuit board or will a screw driver and pliers do job? I have my module out of the car but I did not want to potentially damage module trying to get to board.
Spine Doc did you try Barrie's suggestion or buy a rebuilt? Johnny

IP: Logged

spinedoc
Senior Member
Posts: 84
From:North Grafton, MA USA
Registered: Nov 1999
posted 08-23-2000 10:26 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yes I actually did resolder the board. My Aunt works for Digital and makes motherboards and circuit boards for a living. After resoldering and checking all the diodes the cruise control works PERFECTLY! No intermittent, etc. Note that even with special magnifying glasses you will not see any breaks in the solder. My understanding from my Aunt is that there is not so much breaks in the solder, but the solder itself flexes and "unattaches" from the circuit board and the solder point itself. When you solder a bad solder you will see it "suck" the solder in, as my Aunt describes it.
I also resoldered my climate control unit fixing this, and saving me a couple hundred bucks.


Barrie---where do you buy the IC's? My Aunt said you could not test them since you would need a propietary diagnostic tool connected to the amp. And by the way there are a ton of IC's on these units. She also said the IC's were most likely programmed, so if you replaced you would just be replacing with blank IC's. Tell me if you know anything different.


IP: Logged

barrie
Senior Member
Posts: 52
From:toronto, ontario, Canada
Registered: Jan 2000
posted 08-23-2000 11:18 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Glad to hear the re-soldering fix was successful!
The last CCA in which I replaced the IC was for a model other than a 124. It contained only one IC (an LM2901, which is a readily available 'quad comparator' at 50 cents).
When I did the CCA on my 124 I only did a resolder job; since that fixed the problem I didn't even look at the ICs. If you let me know the part no. and number of pins for each IC, I'll try to source them for you.

Barrie

IP: Logged

barrie
Senior Member
Posts: 52
From:toronto, ontario, Canada
Registered: Jan 2000
posted 08-23-2000 11:25 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Johnny,
You don't need anything special. Screwdriver and pliers work fine to lift (and reset) the tabs. The case is soft aluminum.
IP: Logged

Johnny
Senior Member
Posts: 34
From:Raleigh, N.C.
Registered: Jun 2000
posted 08-26-2000 10:51 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey guys. Re-soldered CCA board and unit works fine now. Thanks for the assistance. Johnny
IP: Logged

Q
Senior Member
Posts: 31
From allas, TX, USA
Registered: Aug 2000
posted 08-26-2000 08:44 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am now going to replace my non-functioning Radio Shack soldering iron and do mine next weekend. Oh wait, going to meet with the Cobra club next weekend. I am really getting too addicted to cars. My wife is going to kill me. I am babbling again, aren't I?
[This message has been edited by Q (edited 08-26-2000).]

IP: Logged

DEPRIEST
Member
Posts: 28
From:Santa Cruz, CA USA
Registered: Nov 1999
posted 08-27-2000 08:44 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Cruise control pulses. I expect it just needs to be rebuilt like the ones you guys describe. I know I should just do it, but I wanted to post the question. Will I need any new circuits, or will a rebuild do the trick.
Thanks
------------------
Kyle De Priest
1986 3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2000, 07:38 PM
reg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Location of cruise control unit 1992 300D dtimmester Diesel Discussion 2 06-08-2004 01:39 PM
Surging Cruise Control on '85 300D lietuviai Diesel Discussion 4 09-24-2003 12:38 AM
82 300SD throttle linkage and cruise control waybomb Diesel Discussion 0 12-28-2002 06:52 PM
Cruise Control 1987 300D Turbo William Curling Tech Help 3 11-01-2001 10:04 AM
Aftermarket cruise control Mercedes Man Diesel Discussion 4 10-10-2001 10:02 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page