Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-04-2002, 11:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 38
Question

Dave,
Gilly was very helpful and I would have made some mistakes without his assistance. I owe him another call on "the" phone just to prove I was successful!

If your phone doesn't power up at all, have you checked the obvious sources for that problem, such as a blown fuse? Or did you say you can make calls from the handset but not the overhead controller? If it is the overhead controller, I would pull the unit out and check the harness connections and all solder joints as well. Just some ideas.

If you want to go digital, I would take Gilly's advice.

Scotty
__________________
1997 S600 Coupe
2002 Lexus SC430
2004 Lexus RX330 (wife's car)
Owned:
1993 500 SEL
1994 E320 (wife's car)
1987 300 SDL
1978 450 SEL
1980 300 TD (wife's car)
1969 280 SL
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-04-2002, 03:55 PM
Ashman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 4,749
My father has a hadnsfree kit in his SL. it comnsists of antenna, handset, speaker, microphone,a nd slot for his phone.

The phone is a starttac with cingular wireless service but it is the sim card model which they dont make anymore.

He pops the phone into a slot in the center console, and can use the motorola handset, with speakerphone he had installed. I think it was only $200 for it. not sure though.

I'd look into handsfree kits form the cell phone manufacturer.

Though I use a nextel because it has built in speakerphone, so I just have a dash mount to hold it.

Alon
__________________
'92 300CE - Sold
2004 C240 - 744 - C7 Wheels - Android Radio
2002 C320 - 816 - Sport Wagon
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-04-2002, 11:27 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Hello Scotty, Happy New Year all.
I am interested in finding out what Michael at the "other" phone thread sends me, I have asked him for the photo of his phone. It is real tough to go back and try to re-engineer something that didn't exist (in the marketplace) 10 or so years ago, this is a classic example. MB didn't have a phone which could be removed from the car until the later part of the 1990's, the MicroTac. Michaels 92 would have definitely been a "fixed" install with the tranciever (Tx) in the trunk. So the whole thing is confusing. It would be neat if you could just get a Tx to replace the one in the trunk that would be Tri-band, dual mode and 800 and 1900 meg, and just interface to the original overhead controller and handset. Only drawback would be that it's still just a mobile phone, not portable "can't take it out of the car". The phone wiring would be esy to replace as it's all in the car, and no risk of "nuking" your brain with the 1900meg, which is why MB didn't want to do 1900meg right away. Still a concern I understand.
Pay attention to what Michael has to say about his phone, it may end up being the way to go. I'd email him and ask for the photo, I see now he does mention a Tx in the trunk a couple posts ago on this thread. Find out where he got it. I'd try to get tri-mode though.
Michael doesn't state the price, the conversions work pretty good I hear and can use about any phone then, get what you want including portability, and may be alot less money.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-05-2002, 12:19 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
I bought my phone from an independent shop about a year and a half ago. One of the shop's Techs actually had the thing installed in his Integra. Got it for the cost of a new hand-held phone I bought him (maybe $75US?).

They are very rare, and operate on 2 bands only. As I understand, most regions can support it so it's worthwhile. The only limitation I've experienced is that I can't get on a Nationwide rate plan, as that's a tri-mode only deal

I will initiate some inquiries, and will try hard to find another.
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-06-2002, 02:24 AM
daveb12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cell Phone Blues

Hi all,

Guess what? My phone works GREAT!

I figured out how to power up, nice strong signal. I tinkered with the 'overhead' controls.

I called 611 and Verizon picked up. I VRU'ed my way to a human. 4 jumps later and I got a guy who said go to a local outlet.

I called back, (I write down the #'s so I don't have to listen to the computer) and I get to a human in 30 sec. This time they flat out say,"We don't activate analog".

So, I read the book and it says press RCL #> to change to carrier 'B'. I now 611 AT&T's customer service. This is all right from my car, sitting in my driveway, on SPEAKER!

What a great rig.

Long story short; AT&T does not activate analog.

I go in the house, phone book, any hope?

AllTell....Alltell, who the H is AllTell? I call, "new accounts is closed, what did you need?" <MY STORY> "Ohhhhh, we don't active analog anymore.......is there anything else I can help you with today?" So much for AllTell.

How are you guys getting the analog activated?????

Please advise. They get a great signal, I just can't USE it!

I wonder if I can do 'pre-pay' and just use the analog side?

++db
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-06-2002, 11:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 38
Question Try Verizon

Dave,
As you discovered, Alltel doesn't service your area. Since you appear to be located in eastern PA, I would try Verizon. According to their web site they have both analog and digital services in your area. I think they used to be Bell Atlanta/NYNEX but that doesn't really matter. Their system seems to cover local, regional, and nationwide plans as all of those are offered. Here is their web site, check it out.
http://www.verizonwireless.com/
Hope this helps. As you say, the phone is really awesome.

Scotty
__________________
1997 S600 Coupe
2002 Lexus SC430
2004 Lexus RX330 (wife's car)
Owned:
1993 500 SEL
1994 E320 (wife's car)
1987 300 SDL
1978 450 SEL
1980 300 TD (wife's car)
1969 280 SL
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-06-2002, 11:41 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
From my understanding of cell phones (which is just about enough to get me in trouble) it shouldn't matter to the service provider that you have an analog phone. I think what the service provider people meant is that they don't have analog PLANS anymore. You may have to sign on to a digital plan, even though you have an analog only phone. The analog will still work as long as you have reception to an analog tower. I don't know how the towers work, if all towers should be capable of picking up all 3 types of signals or how that all works.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-06-2002, 12:46 PM
rockjockjh's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montana
Posts: 22
I don't know if you have Cellular ONE out where all of you guys live, but in Montana, they still offer analog plans, and the coverage is great. Might want to check them out.

http://www.cellone.com
__________________
1994 E420 (W124)
1968 250SE (4 speed manual)
http://www.users.qwest.net/~colhurd/signature.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-06-2002, 12:54 PM
joegolden's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 840
The minute you give them that ESN on that handset it is going to kick it out of their system as a non recognized ESN or "this esn is not recognized as a digital esn". It is very hard to find companies that will let you sign up with analog!

One has to still live in Montana like the guy that started this thread or Idaho,Dakotas, you get my drift. There is very little service out there with anyone. Probably 10% digital service.
I know we cover 0 towns in Montana!!!! 0. Hard to belive Sprint has no service there. That is common with many digital providers.
If you live on the east coast,west coast, southeast or Texas digital is the only way you can go! Florida has more than providers than Michigan has golf courses!

Unless you are on Farmers wireless in Jacksonville, Ala where they still use tin can. Preferably Campbells. You will be hard pressed to find analog.

PS- Alltel is dominated her in Ga and throut the Carolinas. They have bits and peices thruout the country. Email me at

rcgrjg@alltel.net

later
__________________
Current stable......
17' rogue SV 10k
16' golf sportwagen 20k
01' e320 203k

previous MB units..
01' e320 171k (regret sale)
91' 300d 2.5t 300k (sold to ecoofidaho)
79' 240d 177k (old yellow my avatar)
87' 300d 169k (junk but fast)
85' 300tdt 261k (RBM parts delivery)
85' 300dt 68k (one owner cream puff)
82' 240d 250k
84' 300dt 198k (sold to diesel don)
91' 190e 2.3 61k
88' 260e 140k
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-06-2002, 01:01 PM
joegolden's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 840
CellOne was big here in Dalton being the last to offer analog service out of the 6 providers we have in this area. They went Digital here like 2 hrs ago!

They are big out west.
__________________
Current stable......
17' rogue SV 10k
16' golf sportwagen 20k
01' e320 203k

previous MB units..
01' e320 171k (regret sale)
91' 300d 2.5t 300k (sold to ecoofidaho)
79' 240d 177k (old yellow my avatar)
87' 300d 169k (junk but fast)
85' 300tdt 261k (RBM parts delivery)
85' 300dt 68k (one owner cream puff)
82' 240d 250k
84' 300dt 198k (sold to diesel don)
91' 190e 2.3 61k
88' 260e 140k
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-06-2002, 01:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 38
Dave,
I have service with Alltel in North Carolina and it was set up less than one year ago in my '93 500 SEL's factory installed phone, which I am sure is an analog phone and is most likely the same as yours. In fact, I have three other phones on the account as well and one of them is the phone in my wife's E320 that Gilly helped me install. It is definitely analog, but the two portable phones may be digital. The Alltel rep who set that one up, and the others, recognized the set as an old Motorola unit, with Mercedes logo on it of course. The set was a factory unit someone bought from a dealer I believe as the components were identical to the pictures in the WI Gilly sent me.
Anyway, the cell providers may all be adding the digital service, but the other system of antennas does not disappear overnight, if ever.
I have also seen that digital coverage is not very complete across the country, so it is not a panacea for all cell service as yet. I work with people across the USA on a daily basis who have cell service from many companies. Just be careful that the provider you choose has the coverage you require, analog or digital.

Regardless, before I dumped a bunch of money into a new phone system, I would investigate the Verizon options in your area. Alltel does not service the NE part of the country to my knowledge, at least you cannot find that service above the NC border. Maybe Joe knows more about that part of the country since he is in the business, but you should talk to him to find that out.
It would be a real shame not to be able to use the phone already in your car!

Scotty
__________________
1997 S600 Coupe
2002 Lexus SC430
2004 Lexus RX330 (wife's car)
Owned:
1993 500 SEL
1994 E320 (wife's car)
1987 300 SDL
1978 450 SEL
1980 300 TD (wife's car)
1969 280 SL
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-15-2002, 02:17 AM
daveb12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool Found One!!!

With thanks to Michael for emailing me pics.

I have located a DIGITAL phone that should plug right in to the old analog slot.

PLEASE don't ask what I paid. (My wife would kill me!) :-)

I just have a very hard time drilling/marking/adding/changing ANYTHING on my new (to me) toy.

Should arrive and be installed by the weekend. I will keep you all posted.

Thanks again for all the help!

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-15-2002, 07:41 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
Congrats! Just remember that you need to change out the cradle, too-the one mine now uses employs 2 buttons to the sides of the handset that you must depress to release the handset from the cradle. Beyond that, I think the install involves 4 screws...2 to remove the center console, 1 that holds the handset cord, and one that holds down the transceiver in the trunk.

If you have any problems with the install, let me know.
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-21-2002, 11:04 PM
daveb12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Phone is here!

Hi all,

My phone arrived. As Michael points out, it seems I need to remove a screw all the way back in the console that holds the cord.

The handset 'fits' into my cradle, so I don't think I need to change it out.

Do you think I need to REMOVE it, though, to get at the plug?

It seems the plug should be right under the material to the left of the cradle?

I don't want to pull at the cover and rip it.

By the way, I never realized how FILTHY that area of this car was until I got my digital camera in there!

Any advice?

++db


Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-22-2002, 08:55 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
First off, pull the console box. It's held by 2 phillips screws at the bottom front, pointing forward. When they're out, tilt the box up at the front and unplug the handset.

Next, likely you'll need to remove the top of the console box-again, 2 screws. Good chance to clean the wood! This will improve access to the cord tie-down.

I'm surprised about the cradle-will it hang the phone up?

Keep us posted
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Phone now fitted in my M/B Mike Stone Tech Help 6 12-10-2003 05:23 AM
Time for a car pshibly Off-Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2002 12:14 PM
E500/500E with over 100K miles rpm8100 Mercedes-Benz Performance Paddock 9 12-30-2002 04:46 PM
my #$*%@$ car Snibble Off-Topic Discussion 16 06-03-2002 02:17 PM
1994 E420 car phone rockjockjh Car Audio and Multimedia 5 08-06-2001 08:20 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page