Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Mercedes-Benz Performance Paddock

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2017, 07:52 AM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Anyone Try a Chrysler TCM with a MB 722.6 Trans.

Has anyone tried a Chrysler TCM as a replacement for the stock Mercedes TCM (EGS in Mercedes speak). The reasons I ask is that there are performance versions of these module available from Mopar and the units can be programed using this tool:

http://www.autoanything.com/performance-chips/77A1907A6471620.aspx?kc=ffsku&k_clickid=b3482da8-c2b1-41b9-83d2-2318c0898e3c&adgroupid=9827&k_trackingid=274x&kpid=1907-6471620&DZID=PLA_g_730736107_35013377021_1907-6471620_c&utm_source=g&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=730736107&utm_content=35013377021&utm_product=1907-6471620&gclid=CjwKCAjw9O3NBRB3EiwAK6wPTxEglFyGLERzKiV5TQolkNAdajto3SQvUNC0Cx7cW4YMP8QZyyl4YRoCj_UQAvD_BwE

If a Chrysler TCM would plug and play with an MB power train that would open up a whole new ball cam for transmission modification for MB. Since the TCM's are available from Mopar in several stages of tune.

It would also be good to know if I could just use the tool above to reprogram the MB units. I need to change my gear ratio and that will do it on the Chrysler's but will it work on the MB's?
__________________
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2017, 09:47 AM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,166
The answer is no and no and no again. They made it just different enough that it will not work. And you cannot tune a Mercedes tcu with those tools as well because of a few different reasons.
And on top of that, if you are looking for your SL, you have an egs 51 tcu which no body seems to be able to tune and the CAN protocols are different that you cannot use a newer tcu in your car either.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2017, 09:48 AM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,166
By the way what are you looking for? firmer shifts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2017, 11:53 PM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipplem104 View Post
By the way what are you looking for? firmer shifts?
Mostly for changing gear ratios but a firmer shift would be pretty cool. Right now I'm thinking of trying a TCU from another 1996 vintage MB with 2.82 gears.
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2017, 09:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,148
There are two trans gear ratios so be sure to get what matches your trans. The 4 / low power 6 got deeper ratios than the high power 6 / 8 and 12.

The other issue is mixing early / late valve bodies and TCU so buy the ATRA manual and do some research as they have it all laid out. ( $30 , don't poach it as they put a lot of effort into this book )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2017, 11:08 AM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,166
Just and Fyi I can set you up full standalone tcu without much work these days. With an adapter harness to the factory harness.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2017, 11:14 AM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipplem104 View Post
Just and Fyi I can set you up full standalone tcu without much work these days. With an adapter harness to the factory harness.
I'm kind of reluctant with those at the moment but I did send you a customer. I'm considering it for my stock 107.
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2017, 11:18 AM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97 SL320 View Post
There are two trans gear ratios so be sure to get what matches your trans. The 4 / low power 6 got deeper ratios than the high power 6 / 8 and 12.

The other issue is mixing early / late valve bodies and TCU so buy the ATRA manual and do some research as they have it all laid out. ( $30 , don't poach it as they put a lot of effort into this book )
I have both the ATRA manual and video. Want to change my rear end from 2.65 to 2.82. I believe I can just swap out a MB unit from a car with the 2.82. Hoping to find one from a V8 of the same vintage. But having a programmable Chrysler unit did seem appealing.
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2017, 11:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,225
I have the TCM2000 and its pretty awesome. There is a bit of a learning curve, but you get out of it what you put into it. I have mine dialed in pretty damned well and from the driver's seat you'd be hard pressed to tell it wasn't an OE installation.
__________________
90 300TE 4-M

Turbo 103, T3/T04E 50 trim
T04B cover .60 AR
Stage 3 turbine .63 AR
A2W I/C, 40 LB/HR
MS2E, 60-2 Direct Coil Control
3" Exh, AEM W/B O2
Underdrive Alt. and P/S Pulleys,
Vented Rear Discs, .034 Booster.
3.07 diffs, 1st Gear Start

90 300CE 104.980
Milled & ported head, 10.3:1 compression
197 intake cam w/20 advancer
4 ignition advance
PCS TCM2000 running 722.6 trans, 600W PWM fan, water injection
Sportline sway bars
V8 rear subframe, Quaife ATB 3.06 diff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2017, 12:36 PM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by duxthe1 View Post
I have the TCM2000 and its pretty awesome. There is a bit of a learning curve, but you get out of it what you put into it. I have mine dialed in pretty damned well and from the driver's seat you'd be hard pressed to tell it wasn't an OE installation.
Yes but you were did a trans retrofit which I may also opt for in my stock 107. You had to plug and dial in. I just want to plug change gear ratio and play.
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-17-2017, 01:54 PM
Diseasel300's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 4,650
I'm not familiar with the electronic transmissions, but no computer will EVER change your gear ratio. That's a function of the way the gears are cut, no electronic device will have any affect on that. What you CAN change is the shift points if the software will allow it. If you want to change the actual gear ratio, you need to find a suitable transmission shop that can do the work and expect to shell out some big bucks for a custom job!
__________________
'11 Honda Accord EX - "The Daily" 64K
'83 500SL Euro - "The Money Pit" 116K
'91 350SD - "The Diseasel Jr." 168K
'86 300SDL - "The Diseasel" 189K (Totaled 1/31/19)
The Diseasel Thread - Everything You Didn't Know You Wanted To Know
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-17-2017, 03:33 PM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseasel300 View Post
I'm not familiar with the electronic transmissions, but no computer will EVER change your gear ratio. That's a function of the way the gears are cut, no electronic device will have any affect on that. What you CAN change is the shift points if the software will allow it. If you want to change the actual gear ratio, you need to find a suitable transmission shop that can do the work and expect to shell out some big bucks for a custom job!
No it will not change the gear ratio. But the 722.6 transmission will not run if the gear ratio is not what is supposed to be in the car. The MB TCU compares wheel speed and engine speed when the transmission is in 4th gear. If it is not correct for the gear ratio that is supposed to be in the car the transmission goes into limp home mode, and you will get a code that reads "Gang not Plausible". That translates to transmission is slipping in 4th gear. 4th is the only time the transmission runs as a locked up planetary assembly input = output. So the TCU looks to see if your wheels are running a RPM/2.65 in my case. MB did this to help us.

There is whole tale of woe on this in my cars build thread. More to the end of the thread. Search on "M120 into 560SL". In that case the car went into limp home mode because the TCU was expecting a 2.65 gear ratio but the 560SL came with a 2.47. Car worked great if I drove around in 3rd only. It could never get into 4th to make the check.
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2017, 04:33 PM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,166
What would it be worth to you to be able to put what ever ratio you want in? I might be able to put something together for you that would manipulate the CAN data to give the desired wheel speed for the tcu to not freak out.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2017, 07:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,148
What wheel speed sensors did you use for the M120 swap? ( RE did you use all 4 or just a few? ) Did you install the SL600 ABS / ASR box? What are you using for a speedometer?

If you are only using one wheel speed sensor and no ABS / ASR, the most direct route would be a box that alters the speed sensor signal. These boxes are readily available.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-17-2017, 11:05 PM
88Black560SL
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 2,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipplem104 View Post
What would it be worth to you to be able to put what ever ratio you want in? I might be able to put something together for you that would manipulate the CAN data to give the desired wheel speed for the tcu to not freak out.
That's something I considered back when I was developing the car. Just use two speed adjusters. Or possibly fab two toothed wheels at 51 teeth instead of 48 but its not exactly an integer conversion. I really would need a wheel that's 51.08 teeth .

Question is how much error will the TCU handle can I get away with 51 teeth. Or I could actually fab a 51.08 tooth wheel but would the TCU hiccup every revolution of the wheel when theirs a short tooth.

The only issue I have now is that I have all the hardware necessary to build a limited slip diff in either 2.65 or 2.82. So this thought bubble just happened to cross my mind. It looks so much like the one that's in my car now.

https://www.highhorseperformance.com/MOPAR_Performance_5_7L_TCM_p/p5153332.htm
__________________
To see my 129 parts for sale visit:
http://stores.ebay.com/The-Mercedes-SL-Store
John Roncallo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page