Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:47 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
can't get iMac on 802.11 network

I borrowed an iMac to transfer home videos to DVD.

Since it has AirPort, I'm trying to get on the internet with it. AirPort set-up can't find the SSID of my home wireless network. Is there something I have to set-up? How do I determine the MAC address?

How can such a seemingly modern iMac not have a scroll wheel?

Thanks,
Sixto
87 300SDL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:56 AM
iwrock's Avatar
roflmonster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hella NorCal
Posts: 3,312
On my ibook, it appeared instantly. Although, it had problems connecting to the network at where I work. However, I was running X, and i just set up the wireless to where I had to manually enter the SSID.

Just a thought.. Did you disable the SSID broadcast on the wireless router?
__________________
-Justin

01 Honda S2000 - dogs dd
07 MB ML320 CDI - dd
16 Lexus IS250 - wifes dd

it's automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:59 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
I forgot to mention that it has OS-X. It's of the vintage that OS-X came standard.

I figured out the AirPort ID/MAC address and now it's on the network.

I launched IE. It's trying to go to msn.com as it's default page and for a couple of minutes now I see a spinning rainbow wheel as the mouse cursor. It won't let me do anything.

This is intuitive and easy?

Sixto
87 300SDL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:07 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
Coming to you live on an iMac!

My first experience with a modern Mac and the first thing it does is freeze on me :/

On the plus side it boots really quickly.

Sixto
87 300SDL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:45 AM
Botnst's Avatar
What knockers!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: There castle.
Posts: 35,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixto
Coming to you live on an iMac!

My first experience with a modern Mac and the first thing it does is freeze on me :/

On the plus side it boots really quickly.

Sixto
87 300SDL
Where's MedMech? He's connected Macs to PCs.

Bot
__________________
'Government is like a baby:
An alimentary canal with a big appetite at one end and
no sense of responsibility at the other'
- Ronald Reagan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:55 AM
MedMech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I use my ibook everywhere, in fact I'm on a toilet at a hotel right now and it finds the network automaticly, make sure you have the Broadcast SSID set up on your router.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:57 AM
MedMech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Click on the little network thingy at the top of the screeen and make sure the Airport is on.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:00 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,793
I have to turn on AirPort whenever I turn on the iMac. I used some assistant just now that might have cleared it.

Thanks,
Sixto
87 300SDL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature monitoring network in my 300D Russo 85300tD Diesel Discussion 15 06-29-2012 01:43 AM
Wireless Network with FastAccess DSL Crowe Off-Topic Discussion 7 01-13-2005 08:54 PM
Nextel on Cingular Network 300SDL Off-Topic Discussion 9 11-17-2004 06:29 PM
CAN,Computer Area Network codes Detlev Tech Help 0 08-13-2003 01:29 AM
Question about XP 98 network? Benzman500 Off-Topic Discussion 2 11-20-2002 03:57 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page