Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2006, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
1996 E300 remote synchronizing question

Hi,
My old transmitter was broken; I bought a used one on EBay. Got the transmitter today, replaced with my original key (by removed the little pin that locks the key).
However, I run in to two problems.
#1 I can not synchronizing the transmitter with my car. I did exactly as the manual described (aim transmitter eye at a receiver and briefly press transmit button twice. within 30 sec. insert key in steering lock and turn to position 2). What am I going wrong here?
#2 Even with my transmitter broken, I can not use the remote but I can still use the key OK, but now after replaced the key to my new transmitter, I can not start my car. Is there anything else do I have to do here.
NOTE: When I played with my broken remote, I noticed there is a little chip (kindda look like a ceramic chip) positioned loosely behind the key, is that thing suppose to transfer to my new remote too?
If so, is there a proper way to open this transmitter? Because when I popped out my old transmitter, does not seem it will go back together tightly.
Sorry for this lengthy post, and thank you for any feedback.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2006, 09:21 PM
forp's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 324
Hopefully I'm wrong on this but I think it is not possible to recode a used remote. Recoding is different from the resynchronizing described in the manual. Search the forum and you should be able to find out for sure.
Good Luck, Dan
__________________
2012 E350 Bluetech
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2006, 09:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA & 1,150 miles S of Key West
Posts: 4,874
I think you are out of luck with your eBay key.....read the below post and pay attention to what Gilly writes on page 1 & 2. The end of page 2 concerning how the key communicates is particularly interesting.

98 e320 key wont turn at all
__________________
Terry Allison
N. Calif. & Boca Chica, Panama

09' E320 Bluetec 77k (USA)
09' Hyundai Santa Fe Diesel 48k (S.A.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 118
I have read virtually all of the post on this forum concerning anyone being able to reprogram one of the Smartkeys. I have never read any post here where someone claims success. I have also searched thouroughly with google in the past and have never found anyone who could do it either. Kind of a good news/bad news thing. The good news is your car is more secure than most, I'm sure you can already guess the bad news...

Paul
1998 E300 (very good car)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2006, 08:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thank you all your responds,
I got my NEW remote working fine now. What I did was pop out the housing, transferred all the stuff from my old remote over and it works. So the little chip is the main component that enable your remote to works with your car (please refer attached picture for that chip, if you're interested).
However, I still have a problem with synchronizing my remote for doors to work.
What I did was aim the transmitter at the rear view mirror, BRIEFLY pressed twice, and inserted to steering lock turn to position 2. And itís still not working.
I mean what's the proper way to briefly press? Am I suppose to press twice fast, or am I suppose to press one time, and wait for the red light come on, and press a second one? Anyone who done this before, after you pressed your transmitter twice, do you see any light come on from your mirror, or any indications?
Thank you for all the feedbacks.
Best regards,
Tim
Attached Thumbnails
1996 E300 remote synchronizing question-remote.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2006, 09:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
I wasn't aware that any '96 had the transponder. I'm fairly certain that mine does not, but it is an early model which did not ship with DAS.

The IR remote may be incompatible with your remote locking computer. I don't recall how many codes they have. Eight or something like that. You're unlikely to find a used one that will work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2006, 11:11 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
If you have a transponder in the key for DAS, you will have a circular ring around the ignition, not like the old black rings, more of a pronounced "lip" around the ignition barrel, this is an antenna for receiving the transponder.
I think the locking/unlocking will be a lost cause, the radio codes are discreet, unique to each car. You did good by getting the guts swapped out so the DAS would enable a start, but thinking something is "left over" from the wrong key which won't match the adoptive car. I maight have info buried here somewhere on the resynchronizing process, I thought most MB's it involved inserting the key into the ignition first, then doing something on the outside with the lock/unlock feature. They had/have so many different versions it's not even funny, can't remember every version. BEST source, as I always say, is to check the owners manual. Too many used MB owners end up without one, really make an effort to get one from MB or eBay, prices from the dealer are OK on these, comperable to an eBay price, but seems MB is slow getting them shipped, come from a different dept than other MB parts ("Lit" order).
Also if anyone is interested I should be able to compile a list of what cars had which kind of DAS and ATA systems, up to 2000 model year or so anyways.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2006, 11:15 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Just looked at the above pic, yeah it sure seems like that should be it. Concentrate on getting the proper synch procedure. A search of this site or the web I think you'll find a list of the different procedure. REMEMBER (or hereby be notified) that they did change procedures (because of changing systems) during model runs, there were a couple different systems used in the 210s. I think this is a 210 anyways, what exact model and year is it again??
Gilly
EDIT went to original post (I couldn't see the heading for the post when replying) and see 96 E300, so 96 E Class Diesel correct??

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page