Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2009, 04:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Conroe, TX (Houston Area)
Posts: 18
P0170 on 2003 C230 1.8 Kompressor

Driving down the road, no symptoms, nothing wrong. The Check Engine light comes on. I take it to a local parts store and they read out code P0170. A local shop wants $100 just for a diagnostic, I haven't even asked the dealer yet.

The car runs fine, but I'm due for the state inspection this month and I can't pass with that light on.

Any likely causes for a "fuel trim" fault without any driveability problems?

David Bunin

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2009, 05:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,947
This is a good opportunity to learn about the powerful search feature of this site. If you search on that error, you will only find about 1,000,000 threads listing the cause (that is an estimate). It is the AMM. Aka MAF. Get a new one. Put it in. Problem solved.
__________________
1998 C230 330,000 miles (currently dead of second failed EIS, yours will fail too, turning you into the dealer's personal human cash machine)
1988 F150 144,000 miles (leaks all the colors of the rainbow)
Previous stars: 1981 Brava 210,000 miles, 1978 128 150,000 miles, 1977 B200 Van 175,000 miles, 1972 Vega (great, if rusty, car), 1972 Celica, 1986.5 Supra
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2009, 06:50 PM
slk230red's Avatar
WECO Installer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidBunin View Post
Driving down the road, no symptoms, nothing wrong. The Check Engine light comes on. I take it to a local parts store and they read out code P0170. A local shop wants $100 just for a diagnostic, I haven't even asked the dealer yet.

The car runs fine, but I'm due for the state inspection this month and I can't pass with that light on.

Any likely causes for a "fuel trim" fault without any driveability problems?

David Bunin
You can replace the MAF with new one, or go to NAPA and purchase some MAF cleaner and try it. I had the same problem on my '01 SLK230 a couple of years ago and cleaning it worked. No more CEL. Next time I might have to purchase a new MAF.

And yes....let the search feature be your friend.
__________________

1993 190E 2.3
2001 SLK230
1971 LS5 (454) Corvette Convertible
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2009, 09:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,947
You can search on the cleaner also. You will find (almost) everyone found it an exercise in futility (worked for a couple of hours or less). But you could try it if you have 7 bucks and you feel lucky.
__________________
1998 C230 330,000 miles (currently dead of second failed EIS, yours will fail too, turning you into the dealer's personal human cash machine)
1988 F150 144,000 miles (leaks all the colors of the rainbow)
Previous stars: 1981 Brava 210,000 miles, 1978 128 150,000 miles, 1977 B200 Van 175,000 miles, 1972 Vega (great, if rusty, car), 1972 Celica, 1986.5 Supra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
There is also a Service Campaign for replacement of broken cankcase vacuum lines.

A broken vacuum line can & will cause fuel trim issues.
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal, No. Orange county
Posts: 108
I go with Doc on this one. The cleaning of the air mass doesn't seem all that good an idea. I know the contacts at the plug for the air mass used to corrode and cleaning then and applying an electrical contact cement from VW would solve most issues. I believe if you do a r/r of the air mass the process removes contaminant from the plug.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Conroe, TX (Houston Area)
Posts: 18
I should have mentioned that I did use the search function and I did find a million posts for that code, but I had two problems. First was just general information overload and it seemed like anything and everything was suggested as a fix. The second was that it seemed like all of the posts listed the code associated with a driveability problem, and not the lack of any other symptom.

Our car has had the crankcase vacuum lines replaced already in accordance with the Service Campaign.

Where is the mass flow sensor located under the hood? I could spray the connector (not the sensor) with some contact cleaner. How much should I expect to pay for a replacement sensor? Is it something that I can replace using standard hand tools?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal, No. Orange county
Posts: 108
Air Mass

It's in the air intake tract, it's a tubular device with a flat electrical connector attached. Replacing it is simple and straight forward, two clamps. Do a google images search and you will see what it looks like. If you remove it note the arrow indicating air flow direction.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: DFW / Collin County Texas
Posts: 1,882
AMM will be about $450 from the dealer or about $250 from this site. I bought mine from here, to support the site. Don't bother with the cheap ($100 or less) ones on eBay, they are new and good quality, but are typically the wrong Bosch part number and will make your car behave weirdly (trust me, I tried it). You can get the correct one from eBay for $250, but why not support this site?
__________________
08 W251 R350
97 W210 E320
91 W124 300E
86 W126 560SEL
85 W126 380SE Silver
85 W126 380SE Cranberry
79 W123 250
78 W123 280E
75 W114 280
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2009, 01:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Conroe, TX (Houston Area)
Posts: 18
Quote:
It's in the air intake tract, it's a tubular device with a flat electrical connector attached.
I found pictures of the item online but I don't see where such a device could fit in my engine compartment. I am attaching a picture of my engine compartment. The intake (and the compressor) is on the driver's side of the engine.

Where's Waldo?
Attached Thumbnails
P0170 on 2003 C230 1.8 Kompressor-mercedes-engine.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-22-2009, 03:21 PM
slk230red's Avatar
WECO Installer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 819
Check your PM's. Go to the link, see post #3 and click on the pdf file for the instructions.
__________________

1993 190E 2.3
2001 SLK230
1971 LS5 (454) Corvette Convertible

Last edited by slk230red; 09-22-2009 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-22-2009, 05:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal, No. Orange county
Posts: 108
The mass air flow sensor is mounted in line behind the air filter box, it has a square electrical housing on the top . The harness connects at the top side of it. The removal requires a special clamp removal tool to release the clamps that hold it in place.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Conroe, TX (Houston Area)
Posts: 18
Thank you very much.

When I looked to buy the part, I saw that it was not the "tube like thing" that I saw when I did the Google image search. It is much flatter than that and I remembered seeing it from work I did previously.

Mercedes was nice enough to put the electrical connector right on top, so I've cleaned that now (without any other disassembly) but the Check Engine light is still on. If a dirty connector was the problem, how long before the light goes out?

The linked information indicates that the more common prolbem is oil in the harness going to the O2 sensor. I replaced my O2 sensor not too long ago, and I do remember there being some wetness in the connectors. Perhaps I should get back under there and spray some contact cleaner on that plug?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal, No. Orange county
Posts: 108
For that code it may need to be erased with a scanner.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2009, 02:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Conroe, TX (Houston Area)
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmercoleza View Post
AMM will be about $450 from the dealer or about $250 from this site. I bought mine from here, to support the site. You can get the correct one from eBay for $250, but why not support this site?
I searched this site and only found the part for $450. I'd like to support this site, I believe you guys are a big help. Can you link me to the $250 part?

In the meanwhile, I am going to try cleaning the AMM/MAF. Seems like a no-lose procedure. If it doesn't work, I'll be no worse off than I am today.

If I erase the code with a scanner, I presume I'll have to drive some number of miles still before I can go for my vehicle inspection?

David

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page