Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-31-2002, 12:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, US
Posts: 30
Where did you purchase the sensor from?

Brian
__________________
Brian
92 400E
00 ML 430
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-31-2002, 02:32 AM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Brian,

I got the sensor from The Benz Bin

www.thebenzbin.com

However, by the sounds of your problem, this might not cure it. But its not expensive ($60) so its worth a shot. Have some small thick O-Rings on hand, your most likely going to rip the old one getting it off. Please dont hesitate with any question. You might want to check your codes before you order anything. see if anything comes out. If you dont know how, let me know, I can walk you thru the process. Its quite simple. Just make sure you have an analog volt meter.

good luck

-Andy
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-31-2002, 03:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, US
Posts: 30
Andy,

Searched thebenzbin site and couldn't find a trans overlaod sensor. Please specify part name.... I will purchase the analog volt meter ASAP.

What did you use to get the computer sides?

BTW, picked up my car from the delaer and it still starts with sputtering idle when cold and it ceases after 20 -30 minutes of higway driving. The technician stated that I have both a defective crankshaft position sensor and a cylinder misfire in engine position #4. What do you think would be the quickest fix? I would like to learn more about my 400E and do the repairs myself....... Can the above fixes be done in my garage or would you reccomend the dealer.

Again thanks for your time,

Brian
__________________
Brian
92 400E
00 ML 430
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-31-2002, 05:36 AM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Brian,

The sensor from the benz bin is as follows:

AT Protection Switch
J3065-106756 $60.72


From what you stated, do you mean that cylinder #4 is mis-firing, instead of position #4? I think thats what you meant. This could be cause by a number of this. It is most likely a bad wire. If thats the case, you just replace it. Not a hard job. It also could be a bad wiring harness. How is your wiring harness? Im sure your aware of that issue with these cars. Mine isnt in the best condition, but it works for now.

The crankshaft position sensor I dont believe to be bad. If it didnt work, the engine would not run. So I would rule that out, unless anyone has experienced intermittent issues with one??

How many miles are on your car? If I were you, what I would do is start from scratch. Clear out all the codes. Start it up, drive around the block, then recheck them. Chances are, something will tripped and it will spit out a code. These computers are very precise in narrowing down things. Once you get the codes we can go from there.

In the meantime, you might want to framiliarize yourself with the computer interface and the various computers. Here is a web page that I learned how to do it from. Its a great resource and a convenience and hats off to the maker of it. Its is...

http://pages.prodigy.net/jforgione/MB_S500.html

Those are for a 95 S500 but the majority is the same for our car. Your going to want to scroll through sections 2, 5, 6, 7,8. Print out the X11/4 Pin Map (round) in section 2. You will need that for reference when you pull the codes. We will only be using pin #'s 4, 6, 7, 8, and 17. Does your car have ASR? When you buy an analog volt meter...pick up a few short wires with alligator clips on them. They will make things alot easier in the future. And get something that will fit into those metal pinouts on the round connecter, like a metal pick or something small. I dont know if the volt meters ones will fit, they are usually too thick. Pull the cap off the computer box and check it out for yourself and you will see what im saying. They are quite small. In case you dont know where this port is, its where the battery is supposed to be, on the passenger side firewall. Its a big black box with a round plug on top that you can unsrew, kinda like a radiator cap.


Let me know when your ready and I can help ya. Good luck.

-Andy
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-31-2002, 12:26 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 809
Very Interesting

MCELROYB , AMG280,
I too have a 92 400E(188K mi) which exhibits a rough idle upon cold start up. Once the car warms it idle smoothly. I am NOT experiencing the problem exactly as AMG280 described(my acceleration at all speeds under all throttle positions is smooth albeit a bit stiffled) but the car continues to idle roughly despite having changed out the TBA , EGR, Plugs, Wires, Caps,(No Coils yet) Rotors,Most vacuum tubing and the Intake Manifold "O rings". It does not appear to have a vacuum leak but its really unnerving to see the car running so poorly. I'm hesitant to take it to the dealer for the reason you both mentioned...They put on a witch hunt to the tune of $85-$100 / Hr. Hell if i wanted an EXORCIST performed, I'd stop by the Church . Anyway, I read about the brake switch and the tranny neutral switch from the 500E board and am not sure they will help.
MCELROYB, your problem seems to be more like mine. Have you had any success??
AMG280 - I'm gonna go get a Analog Volt meter,read/print the article and hopefully hit paydirt soon
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-31-2002, 01:44 PM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Albert,

Does your car only idle bad when its cold? Apparently, this is a common phenomenon with 400E's that I read about. Mine sometimes idles rough too, even surges up and down for a few seconds, but smooths out eventually. It looks like you replaced everything that it could be. Alot of 400E owners just live with it. How bad is it?

As far as the Tranny switch and the brake lamp switch, they really have nothing to do with your idle. Does your 400 have ASR? Those parts are only under a microscope if you are having ASR problems, such as ASR light coming on and/or limp home mode. They dont affect idle smoothness.

I see that you went for the "hammer" look for your car , thats exactly what i want to do. Can you send me some pictures? Where did you get most of the parts, like the AMG skirt, headlights, etc.

-Andy
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-31-2002, 03:45 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 809
Yeah she misses pretty badly on start on

Pings too.
For pic's just click on my www . right below
AMG stuff was sourced from RennTech, but is available directly from the MB Dealer as of 1996 or so.
The Analog Volt meter. That just one with the long needle pointer that sweeps across the face like a speedometer needle right?
Where's the best place to source one? And will any ol' cheapie do?
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-31-2002, 04:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, US
Posts: 30
Albert,

I checked out your mods and they look great. Can I just drop my brilliant silver W124 off with some cash and pick it up in a couple of weeks ready to roll back to MD.

I am slowly trying to mod my car as to look more aerodynamic/lowered (500E). I would also like to know where you got your parts and what should I expect to spend for the tire/wheel package? Did you roll the fenders or what?

Andy/Albert,

I am leaving the office now to pick up an analog volt meter. After receiving my E-Class Bible a few moments ago I feel much better. Andy, I even considered drving up to Syracuse to drop by while visiting my parents. Perhaps you can give me a call later this week (410-590-0912) and just walk me through a couple of steps or I will call you, whenever you prefer. Nevertheless, the next time I'm in Syracuse I owe you lunch or dinner.

Thanks again,

Brian
__________________
Brian
92 400E
00 ML 430
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-31-2002, 04:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, US
Posts: 30
Albert,

I am going to Radio Shack to pick up my meter.

Brian
__________________
Brian
92 400E
00 ML 430
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-31-2002, 05:16 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 809
Wheels/Tires

The AMG AERO's I wear are out of Production/No longer available. I did see a set on EBAY a few month ago go for ~$1000. The tires in 235X45X17 run anywhere from $100(Kumho) to $270(Mich.Pilot Sport) ea, depending on the manufacturer.
As for all the 500E Parts, the Fenders,Hood,Headlights,Side valences,Fog lights, bumber cover etc. all came from the dealer(with MBCA discount of course). I did roll the fenders in the rear, but not necessary in the front due to their being 500E spec.
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-31-2002, 08:18 PM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Brian,

I think thats very cool that your slowly modding your 400E. Im doing the same, one part at a time. I priced some wheels via the tirerack. 17 x 7.5" AMG monoblock II (C36 style) with 215-45 Bridgestone pole position SO2's (best tire period) and it came out around $1,500 with shipping. Im sure you can find a used set cheaper, but ive had bad luck in the past with slightly bent rims. I dont want to take no chances, want her to cruise nice and smooth on the freeway.

I found an AMG replica body kit from a company called NRauto for 1300 or 1500 w/the factory bosch fogs. Its high strength plastic and not fiberglass like alot fo aftermarket kits. Im thinking about getting it. I dont think I would mold the ducktail lip on the rear end though.

Albert, when you installed your rear AMG valence, where you able to attach the factory chrome strip to it? I want to keep all my chrome in tact. I also am set on getting Eibach springs with Bilstein sports and maybe a #3 or #4 pad all around. I want it to be lowered, but not "slammed". My main goal for suspension mods is to make it handle alot better and dramtically reduce body roll in hard turns. I also want to purchase 500E Ecode Euro lights. They are priced at $475 from a place called Puma. Kinda pricey, but I do alot of night driving, and from what I hear, these things kick ass.

I got my meter at radio shack for 10 bucks, it was on sale. And yes, it is the kind with the sweeping needle.

Brian, I can call you later or in the week or you can call me, doesnt matter. When are you coming to Syracuse again?

-Andy
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-03-2002, 05:35 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 809
Volt meter

I borrowed my neighbors voltmeter. The schematic from the reference page mentions a yellow wire for accessing the plug 19.
how do you reference plug 19 using the V.meter.

NRAuto's fiberglass kit is fine I guess. The biggest drawback is that it WILL crack/break. NO auto manufacturer uses a fiberglass nose. The paint gets sandblasted off the glass as well because it doesn't adhere as well as it does to polyeurathane. Get the OE from the dealer or RENNTECH, you'll be much happier.
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-07-2002, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, US
Posts: 30
Andy,

Looks like I'll be in Syracuse for the holidays. I will try do drive my W124, unless it snows then it'll be the wife's Landcruiser.

I still haven't fixed my problem. However, I did purchase the meter and await your assistance.

From reading other posts, I have found that there are numerous areas that mat need addressing. Rpley with a time to call or send via e-mail.

Brian
__________________
Brian
92 400E
00 ML 430
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-07-2002, 08:55 PM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Brian,

Im trying to think of the best way to walk you through the process. After the first time you do it, you will be surprised at how simple it is. I see that you got your volt meter. Your gonna want another wire (probably 1 or 1.5 feet long. An alligator clip would be preferred, just would make it easier since u wont have to hold on to 10 things at once.

I take it you know where the connector is. Here is a picture of it and I highlighted the pins that you will be probing. Please note that the picture is reversed, because that is how we will be viewing it. The higher pins are on the windshield side and the lower number pins are towards the front of the car.



Now, I will tell you how to test. Set your analog volt meter to measure 12 volts (most likely 15VDC).

Before pullin codes, the key has to be in position 2 (dash lights on) and not running.

You have to ground the black plug on the meter, and then put the positive (red) plug from the meter into the appropriate pin your testing (see diagram above). I usually start with 4 and work up. You now need the extra wire. Have one end of it grounded (you can use the same place that you grounded for the meter). Place the red probing pin into the #4 socket in the car. If this doesnt fit, your going to have to get a large pin or bare wire and use it as an extension.

Once in the socket, the volt meter should read approx. 12 volts. (My #17 pin reads less, this maybe normal). Once u have a steady reading (steady hands), take the second ground wire, and touch it to the red probing pin thats in the socket. Hold it there for 3-4 seconds. Note: when you touch the pin, the volt meter should read zero. After you let go, watch the volt meter. IT should start to "sweep" or "pulse" as they call it. It is up to you to count the number of pulses. If it only pulses once, this is good. It indicates no faults. If you have an error code (anything over one), write it down. To find out if there are anymore error codes in that computer, redo the above procedure until the same code pulses. If the second time u do it, its the same as the first, then that is the only code.

To erase the code, take ur second wire and ground out the red pin while still in the socket (just like above), except hold it there for 6-8 seconds. After you do this, try to read the code (re-ground it for 3 sec.) and make sure it pulses 1, to indicate its cleared out. If you have multiple codes, you have to clear them out one by one.

I suggest, to make this process alot simpler, before you do it, get a piece of paper, and write down these:

PIN # ---------------- Web Link

4-----------------------------7
6----------------------------10
7-----------------------------9
8-----------------------------8
17---------------------------5

This will make it easier after the tests to reference your codes. When I say web link, im reffering to the internal links on the this page:

http://pages.prodigy.net/jforgione/MB_S500.html

You will reference your codes here.

I think I covered everything, but if you have any questions, please post them. Good luck and let me know what you find. Make sure you dont mess with any other pins in the connector. Follow the diagram.

-Andy
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page