Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2003, 10:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 63
Fault code 13 - Lambda control at limit

Hello!

I had CE light come on in my 95 e320. Checked the code and it gave me code #3. So I proceeded to check HFM code and it came out to #13. From the chart, it indicates lambda control operating at limit.

Does anyone have exprience with this code? Do you know what it means? any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thanks
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2003, 03:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
If you have the original O2 sensor in that car ( 1995 ), it may be time for a new one.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2003, 03:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 63
Hi Manny,

Thanks for the suggestion. If O2 sensor is bad, wouldn't it trip other codes as well? For example Code 2 comes to mind. Car only has 60K miles.

Another question, does Chrysler 4 wire O2 sensor work ok in this car?

Thanks


Quote:
Originally posted by manny
If you have the original O2 sensor in that car ( 1995 ), it may be time for a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2003, 03:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
Most O2 sensors die a slow death. Think of it as a battery wearing out, i.e. voltage goes lower & lower.
As this begins to happen, the ECU will interpret this as having to add more fuel.
Once you reach the adaption limits, a CEL will come on.
I don't see why any 4-wire O2 should not work. Just match the wires correctly ( 1 signal wire, 1 power wire for the heater element, and 2 ground wires ).
You could also backprobe the signal wire & see what the voltage output is & how " lively " the sensor is.
These are generic suggestions applying to O2 sensors in principal.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2003, 04:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 63
Thanks Manny,

I'll try replacing the oxygen sensor since they are cheap.

Richard

Quote:
Originally posted by manny
Most O2 sensors die a slow death. Think of it as a battery wearing out, i.e. voltage goes lower & lower.
As this begins to happen, the ECU will interpret this as having to add more fuel.
Once you reach the adaption limits, a CEL will come on.
I don't see why any 4-wire O2 should not work. Just match the wires correctly ( 1 signal wire, 1 power wire for the heater element, and 2 ground wires ).
You could also backprobe the signal wire & see what the voltage output is & how " lively " the sensor is.
These are generic suggestions applying to O2 sensors in principal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2003, 05:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
When at Limit , the system can not adjust any further for correction..
This is usually caused by a vac leak allowing too much air or a bad pressure regulator ..
Look for vac leaks and test fuel pressure reg....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2003, 05:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 63
Hi Arthur,

Thanks for your comments. When you say vac leaks, where would it be? Also, where's the fuel pressure regulator located? I'm just an amatuer, so any help will be greatly apprecaited.

Thanks
Richard

Quote:
Originally posted by Arthur Dalton
When at Limit , the system can not adjust any further for correction..
This is usually caused by a vac leak allowing too much air or a bad pressure regulator ..
Look for vac leaks and test fuel pressure reg....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2003, 09:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
When the system can not correct due to it being at limit , it
is best diagnosed with diagnostic equipment ..
However, a DIYer look around of all vac hoses for breaks/disconnects is where you can start...the common 104 places are the hoses running in front of the engine to the switch-over-valves and AIR pump.
Best to go to Search feature to find these locations..
Same for the fuel pressure regulator... there are several threads on that..
It also has a vac hose . If you disconnect the hose and see dripping gas..it is faulty.
Again, these are just simple possibilities that you can look for , but after that, the proper Data/Tech diagnosis is recommended
if you do not have Meters/exper. etc....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 63
Thanks Arthur.

I will take a look for missing vacuum lines.

Do you think a slowly dying O2 sensor could be the problem as well?

Thanks for all the help. I'll keep you posted.

Quote:
Originally posted by Arthur Dalton
When the system can not correct due to it being at limit , it
is best diagnosed with diagnostic equipment ..
However, a DIYer look around of all vac hoses for breaks/disconnects is where you can start...the common 104 places are the hoses running in front of the engine to the switch-over-valves and AIR pump.
Best to go to Search feature to find these locations..
Same for the fuel pressure regulator... there are several threads on that..
It also has a vac hose . If you disconnect the hose and see dripping gas..it is faulty.
Again, these are just simple possibilities that you can look for , but after that, the proper Data/Tech diagnosis is recommended
if you do not have Meters/exper. etc....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
If the ECU is reaching its limit stops, then that indicates that
the sensors involved in lean/rich mix are sending signals , but the mix is so far off that the mapping can't compensate.... so I doubt
an 02 sensor prob...

With a vac leak, there is just too much air for the system to correct to... and with a bad regulator, [ w/high pressue reading], there would be too much fuel to correct to..
That's why injector duration times and fuel pressure, along with live stream data , are important to proper diagnosis..
Mixture is not just controlled by the 02 sensor...that is the final Tweak...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Arthur Dalton
[B]If the ECU is reaching its limit stops, then that indicates that
the sensors involved in lean/rich mix are sending signals , but the mix is so far off that the mapping can't compensate.... so I doubt
an 02 sensor prob...



And if your O2 signal is getting weak, and the cross-counts drop, you will also likely reach your adaption limits.
I am not trying to sell you an O2 sensor but, keep in mind, they are considered a part of a major tune-up.
Keep us informed what you find.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
Which you would then expect an 02 sens code ....as the DM counts cross counts as well as voltage variable..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 97
Just FYI, My O2 sensor needed replacement on my 95E320 early this year at 125kmiles. I got the fault code on the O2 heater (can't remember which one that is - 5?).
__________________
Tom Latos
2002 E320
1995 E320 Sold at 288kmiles
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-03-2003, 12:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
< >>

Code 12

I remember your problem w/heater...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-03-2003, 09:21 PM
JimF's Avatar
'94 S500: only 793 sold!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,925
Bosch rates their O2 . . .

sensor for 60K miles, so it may be its time! They only cost about $85 at discount. As Manny says, it should be considered during a major tuneup. Even if it's not bad (open/short or heater blown), it deteriotes with time and rich/lean response becomes slow (time wise).

Also, DTC 13 says ". . . rich or lean limits" so you need to measure Lamba with an AST Retreiver via its "live data" feature. Maybe you can 'borrow' one??
__________________
Regards . . . . JimF
-------------------
'94 S500 Cpe

Visit my Mercedes Web Page
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page