Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2003, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: evergreen co
Posts: 25
ac compressor-?switch on back

I am in the middle( 9am 10/18/03) of installing rebuilt 1015c on my 1987 300sdl. Three things are different from stock compressor- no bushing reliefs in mounting locations, switch on back of compressor not installed, pully diameter slightly smaller-~ 1/2 inch dia.. What does the switch do and can the old one be transferred to new comp? Seems to be epoxied on. Is the slightly smaller pully the current standard? It is NOT the size of a 10p17c ie much smaller. I am worried the belt will not tighten up ---run out of adjustment. Thanks for all replies
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2003, 06:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: around Charlotte NC
Posts: 573
switch can be transferred

John,

I just did this on my 87 SDL about 5 months ago. The rebuilt compressor had a bad switch on the back - speed indicator sensor I have been told. If I remember, it has a rubber cover, then is held in place with a cir-clip. The kind of clip that goes 80% or so around a circumference of the hole and has holes for special pliers on the ends. You pinch the ends together and it comes out of the slot it rides in. The switch then comes right out. My friend and I were able to transfer the one from my siezed compressor to the rebuild very easily. We held the compressor pulley down / switch up and did not loose any oil.

If the compressor bolts up ok I would say not having some of the flanges / bosses should be fine.

My pulley was slightly larger than the original. I bought a slightly longer belt.

Fingers crossed, it is still working just fine.


One later thought... The rebuilt compressor had the rubber switch cover in place but no wires showing - this may appear that the switch is missing. In fact it appears that the sensor provided in the rebuilt had been damaged and the wires were clipped off to prevent its use.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2003, 09:10 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
I imagine you are using a rebuilt. Real bad idea unless it is a MB, Denso, or maybe Behr. In the condition you have it you are obviously not using one of those three.

You may get away with it, as the rest are probably only 25% defective immediately. Not likely to stay sealed in another 25% in the first year.... still 50-50 not too bad odds.

But you really don't want to down size a Nippondenso as they are weaklings anyway. The 10p15c only does good on a 190, it is mediocre in a 300 and in a 126 car it will be lacking.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2003, 02:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: evergreen co
Posts: 25
ac compressor

If this one is too small for a 126 what do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2003, 09:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: around Charlotte NC
Posts: 573
10p15C is correct

John,

I believe the Nippondenso 10P15C is the correct compressor for your car ( it was the one on my 87 SDL and was identical to the one I replaced). I don't think there is an easy choice to replace it with another compressor. Any expert opinions on this? It would take some mounting and hose changes. Are there other compressors that would allow the speed sensor hookup? Or would replacing other control items be needed as well?

I agree with the statement above that it is by no means oversized. In traffic on a hot day it is marginal. At 30 mph and above it has done fine in my car in NC, using R134.

If I understand correctly the pulley size will effect rpms of the compressor. A smaller pulley will turn the compressor faster, a larger will turn it slower. My replacement was slightly larger, but still cools well. If your pulley is smaller I would expect it may cool better. Any opinions on this from those with more experience. Can you use too small a pulley and turn it too fast on an AC compressor?

Good luck.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2003, 08:37 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
It is possible that an 87 300SDL could have a 10p15c compressor. If so I would guess it to be the only 126 using a 15c. The 15 portion of the nippondenso number refers to its displacement or capacity.

From the original description of the part it didn't sound like the proper part. It still doesn't due to the pulley difference and the lack of speed sensor installed.

Because of the way the Nippondensos are mounted you are pretty much stuck with using what came on the car. The 17c compressors have a different bolt pattern.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page